We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nicely furnished rooms”
Review of Don Chan Palace

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Don Chan Palace
Ranked #25 of 93 Hotels in Vientiane
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Nicely furnished rooms”
Reviewed 16 September 2013

Spacious and sufficiently furnished rooms expected of a 5 star hotel overlooking the scenic Mekong river. Huge bright lobby with decent breakfast spread. Design and decor are a bit dated with heavy wood furniture and finishings everywhere but this is expected in this country. You need to walk a short distance from the hotel to get to the nearest eatery. Room lightings are a bit too dim though. Shower head holders and bathrobe hangers may not always work or missing. Small swimming pool and very old squeaking gym equipment

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RKTH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

169 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    28
    61
    52
    16
    12
See reviews for
11
27
16
45
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 September 2013

My GF and I came over for a visa hop last week and decided on something special. The hotel is on the Riverfront but far from the action. The rooms are large enough for most and I'm a big fella. Breakfast buffet had something to make us both smile. The staff didn't understand much English which surprised us but we managed. There's alot a new construction so plenty of trucks passing by. Nearby Q Bar was a good watering hole with a friendly owner.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dwyn66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok, Thailand
1 review
Reviewed 6 September 2013

very nice hotel for stay in Vientiane,the hotel was very clean and very comfortable room with very nice River View,breakfast was amazing,staff from hotel very helpful and so friendly,we still stay here again if we come to vientiane............

Room Tip: we stay with river view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ashley T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviewed 1 September 2013

Good hotel with amazing views from the rooms which overlook the Mekong. Staff were very helpful if a little shy of westerners. Our room was spacious with a good ensuite bathroom and was very clean and well appointed. Pool was great and it was overall very good value for money!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank annabel_cleo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florida City, Florida
1 review
Reviewed 26 July 2013

I recently produced a booking for this hotel since i wanted some pampering and based on what they advertised on a hotel booking sights. I was going to have a 5 star hotel with all the trimmings balcony, flat screen TV, Cable, pool etc. The pictures in the 2 hot tubs as well as the sauna also looked appealing.

what was the experience...not the luxury pampering you expect from a 5 star hotel i have just recieved far better at a lovely 3 star in Siem Reap. The first factor to be noted was the lack of Balcony. When i contacted reception they mentioned i had to pay extra. I pointed out the promoting on booking.com showed the room i booked as having a balcony, flat screen TV etc etc. I asked him to think about the internet site simply because i shouldn't must pay more. Exentually he rang back to say the site was a mistake and they would upgrade me (how its an upgrade when it's what you booked and paid for i dont know)
What i was by no means in a position to find was the hot tubs and also the sauna. each staff member i showed the images in the Don Chan Palace on booking.com said "no have". One more thing that they didn't have was a flat screen TV which i wouldnt have minded incredibly if only they had Fox movies. The lovely cabel aid within the room had some movies on FOX movies i wouldn't have minded watching at night...sadly the engineer who came on the room wanted me to watch FOX sport...I am not interested in the remotest in watching sport...so happy i booked Five star at the Don Chan Palace..Not.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank robiter T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 4 Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2013

I stayed 2 nights at the hotel for work. Definitely some works need to be done to the hotel. Service was okay, room has to be paid upfront during check-in. Big hotel but looks empty and old. Massage was okay, not the best, but quite a deal with 25% discount. Not a great location without transportation. Found a cockroach in the bathroom. The towels provided in the room were stained and old.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank megetaway_23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Vientiane hotels

Singapore, Singapore
Level 6 Contributor
124 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2013 via mobile

It's a nice hotel next to the meakong river with Some great views. However it's old and empty. The rooms are big and have everything that you would expect in a business class hotel but everything is old and shabby. Given the low occupancy the breakfast spread was surprisingly good. The hotel has only 1 restaurant and a bar. It's recently been taken over by a Chinese chain .

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bluessp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vientiane hotels
1.3 mi away
Landmark Mekong Riverside Hotel
1.1 mi away
Muong Thanh Luxury Vientiane
Muong Thanh Luxury Vientiane
#55 of 93 in Vientiane
7 reviews
0.4 mi away
Vientiane Plaza Hotel
Vientiane Plaza Hotel
#34 of 93 in Vientiane
51 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Rashmi's Plaza Hotel
Rashmi's Plaza Hotel
#26 of 93 in Vientiane
101 reviews
1.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Vientiane
Crowne Plaza Vientiane
#9 of 93 in Vientiane
56 reviews
0.7 mi away
Best Western Vientiane Hotel
Best Western Vientiane Hotel
#15 of 93 in Vientiane
223 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Don Chan Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Don Chan Palace

Property: Don Chan Palace
Address: Unit 6 Piawat Village, Sisattanak District, Vientiane, Laos
Region: Laos > Vientiane Province > Vientiane
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#10 Spa Hotel in Vientiane
#11 Luxury Hotel in Vientiane
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Don Chan Palace 4*
Number of rooms: 240
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, LateRooms, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Don Chan Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Don Chan Palace Hotel Vientiane
Don Chan Palace Vientiane

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing