We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient location” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mali Namphu Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Mali Namphu Guest House
Ranked #13 of 196 Vientiane B&B and Inns
Wales
Level Contributor
29 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Convenient location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2014

This was a nice place to stay within walking distance of many sights and places to eat. The courtyard was nice and breakfast was good, get there early if you want the delicious croissants! We had booked through booking.com, remember to bring a copy with you as they had a bit of trouble tracing us when we arrived. Wifi was good though so I was able to show them my booking on my phone straight away.

Room Tip: The ground floor is nice as the rooms open out onto the courtyard.
See more room tips
Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank alisonjane61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

244 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    27
    103
    76
    28
    10
See reviews for
16
84
50
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
148 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 February 2014

We stayed 4 nights - very convenient for the old town. We stayed in a superior room which opened onto the courtyard where the excellent breakfast was served. Rooms smallish, basic but clean and very quiet for a central location. Only let down by non availability of tea/coffee throughout the day. We had a blocked toilet but they dealt with this promptly.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 104 on the ground floor. No problems with noise from room above.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Poppyslane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
86 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 January 2014

Stayed only one night. The room we had was in a corner and smaller than most, and older decor and bathroom. The closet wouldn’t open and the desktops weren’t clean as they were covered with some sticky substance. The rest was clean enough so I think it was an oversight, instead of a standard cleaning job and my review reflects this. Gardens are very nice and breakfast was ok but a strange set up, as you have to get your ticket from the front desk and fill it out before you can order. Highlight was the front desk staff who were excellent and very helpful. Location was very good, close to night markets and the river as well as the palace and other places of interest but other accommodation options for a similar or better place at the same rates are available. If I go back I’ll likely stay someplace else in the same area.

Room Tip: If you stay here check the rooms before you pick one as there seems to be a lot of range between the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TamisCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 January 2014

This place was average. Real mosquito problem in our room - literally killed about 10 upon entering the room, suspect they were coming in from bathroom window (which had no net) so had to make sure we kept the door shut. Uncomfortable showering whilst looking out for Mosquitos - staff were pretty rude, and to top it off one of slats on the bed broke as my husband lay down - there were only 4 support slats when there should have been about 12 so pretty bad. We had to sleep top to tail because of it! Not good. Wouldn't recommend!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Becky D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2014 via mobile

Very convenient location and easy walk to get to restaurants. They have a nice garden to sit for breakfast or lunch.
Only complaint is that the shower water doesn't get hot enough but this seems to be a common problem with most accommodations in Laos.

Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank eeepc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 October 2013 via mobile

This hotel is in a good ish location some good cafe near, restaurants are a little walk and shop up the top of the room. The rooms were a little weird like flats, room was cleanish. Had a funny smell, showers are a little weird as u have to turn on three switches to get it on, fridge smelt bad and the tv had wirer hanging out, the door didn't feel safe and could easy be opened, breakfast was ok, average get two options. Staff were mostly ok, one was quiet rude to my friend.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tab459
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 September 2013

Pretty good hotel in a very convenient location in Vientiane. Rooms are clean, comfortable and fairly well equipped - if slightly small. The rooms are situated around a peaceful courtyard in which breakfast is served every morning. Breakfast - whilst included - is a little hit and miss. Staff are however lovely and very keen to help. Internet is available in the lobby for free (albeit via slightly ancient computers). Pleasant hotel for a short stay in Vientiane.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HKRach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vientiane hotels
0.3 mi away
Riverside Palace Hotel
Riverside Palace Hotel
#24 of 97 in Vientiane
3.5 of 5 bubbles 181 reviews
0.4 mi away
Vientiane Golden Sun Hotel
Vientiane Golden Sun Hotel
#3 of 97 in Vientiane
4.5 of 5 bubbles 373 reviews
0.6 mi away
Vientiane Garden Hotel
Vientiane Garden Hotel
#16 of 97 in Vientiane
3.5 of 5 bubbles 481 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Ibis Vientiane Nam Phu Hotel
0.4 mi away
Salana Boutique Hotel
Salana Boutique Hotel
#2 of 97 in Vientiane
4.5 of 5 bubbles 878 reviews
0.2 mi away
Dhavara Hotel
Dhavara Hotel
#4 of 97 in Vientiane
4.5 of 5 bubbles 246 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mali Namphu Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mali Namphu Guest House

Property: Mali Namphu Guest House
Address: 114 Pangkham Road, Vientiane, Laos
Region: Laos > Vientiane Province > Vientiane
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 196 B&Bs / Inns in Vientiane
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Mali Namphu Guest House 2.5*
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Mali Namphu Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mali Namphu Guest House Hotel Vientiane

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing