We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overpriced!!!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Mali Namphu Guest House
Ranked #14 of 197 Vientiane B&B and Inns
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Overpriced!!!!!”
Reviewed 7 August 2014

Way overpriced for what it is, and the staff charged us more than we expected (like the person said in the previous review!!!!) The room was nice, very basic, but didn't get cleaned 2 days in a row-we had to tell them. Breakfast was okay, very basic again. The location of it is good as it's very central.

Should be a lot cheaper for what they offered basically. I'm sure there's more guesthouses available that are the same standard but way cheaper!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jingle123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

246 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    27
    105
    76
    28
    10
See reviews for
16
85
51
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Kent
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 July 2014 via mobile

The room was fine. It had all we needed other than perhaps a safe. Room was clean, wifi was quite quick and the garden courtyard area is nice. Another plus has to be it's location! However this is really where the praise ends. The draw in the wardrobe had a massive whole where there had been no attempt to clean up the debris (not a huge problem just a bit slack). The staff we not welcoming or helpful. When we arrived the price of our room was more than we had expected. When we questioned this there was no real response but as it was not all that much more we left it. However when we came to check out the price once again had increased this time by around 100,000 kip. My boyfriend questioned this and only after several minutes and after showing our confirmation email with the price of the room did they then reduce the bill. I understand that people make mistakes but to us it seemed like they were actively trying to charge more. They did not apologise or make any effort to show they had been wrong. Another thing that irritated us was we had asked about a water park that we had seen advertised online they told us it was about 40 minutes away and told us how much a tuc tuc would be. Tuc tuc was too expensive so they suggested taking the bus. They directed us on to the bus station which was a good 20 minute walk. I want to just add we also asked several times whether the water park would be open as we couldn't find it here on trip advisor which was strange for a tourist attraction? When we got to the bus station no one knew where the water park was and eventually someone said it had closed a year ago. Very annoying!! Also their laundry service is very overpriced, can get it done for a third of the price elsewhere!! On the whole we felt that the place is a bit overpriced but is in a good location and the room is sufficient and clean so not a disaster. Just a shame the staff weren't more friendly!

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank KentFoodie_123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2014

Stayed just two nights in mid-June 2014. Needed a place at a budget price but had to include: wifi in the room, TV capable off getting the World Cup, hot water in a private bathroom and English speaking staff (to help find business appointments). I found all these at the Mali Namphlu - the staff were great (very helpful, excellent English skills), the wifi a little patchy but OK. The breakfast was modest but, for the money, perfectly OK. Sorry, forgot to take photos.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that overlooks the garden-courtyard - very quiet!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KeithHodgson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok
Level Contributor
184 reviews
106 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2014

This is a well-located smallish guesthouse near the Fountain in the centre of Vientiane. The bathroom was clean and hot water worked fine, as did the air-con which one needs during the hot season.

There is a very basic Western breakfast offered but for a slightly better range of options you can walk a short distance (50m) to the Scandinavian Bakery or 15m across the street there is a small cafe that serves good coffee and snacks. There are a wide range of Lao and international restaurants within walking distance for lunch and dinner.

Service was luke-warm and really it is just the convenience and basic essentials that appeal with this guesthouse.

Room Tip: All rooms are located off the street around a central courtyard
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tony L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok, Krung Thep, Thailand
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2014

I've been to Vientiane on for New Year 2014 countdown. I'm very impress to stay at Mali Namphu because of location. Just few working step to access to Namphu and Khop Chai Deu restaurant. The room is worth for the price, clean, comfort. If you're looking for a budget hotel with good location. I recommend to stay here.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chaiwat P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashland, Oregon
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 9 March 2014

The one night we stayed there we asked to have a ground floor room. The one we got was full of mosquitos – we swatted for a while then asked at the desk for the room they had originally planned to give us, after we rejected the option of spraying the room with something, hopefully not DDT. The other room was on the second floor, directly above, and it only had a few mosquitos, but we travel with a bed net so set that up. The room was cell-like in a corner of the building. One window looked out on a dark hallway. I suspect because we were only there one night, we didn’t get the best room available. The interior gardens are nice but we didn’t spend much time at the hotel.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RedwoodGirl709
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pattaya, Thailand
Level Contributor
35 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2014

Value for money, centrally located, the room was nice and clean. Weak wifi signal, you need to access wifi at lobby or the corridor. No elevators. The staffs are so friendly. The hotel is in Nampha Park Area but quite in the night.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NKCR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vientiane hotels
0.1 mi away
Ibis Vientiane Nam Phu Hotel
0.2 mi away
Dhavara Hotel
Dhavara Hotel
#4 of 93 in Vientiane
4.5 of 5 bubbles 261 reviews
1.5 mi away
S Park Design Hotel
S Park Design Hotel
#1 of 93 in Vientiane
4.5 of 5 bubbles 436 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Salana Boutique Hotel
Salana Boutique Hotel
#2 of 93 in Vientiane
4.5 of 5 bubbles 898 reviews
0.4 mi away
Vientiane Golden Sun Hotel
Vientiane Golden Sun Hotel
#3 of 93 in Vientiane
4.5 of 5 bubbles 390 reviews
0.2 mi away
Riverside Palace Hotel
Riverside Palace Hotel
#13 of 197 in Vientiane
3.5 of 5 bubbles 187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mali Namphu Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mali Namphu Guest House

Property: Mali Namphu Guest House
Address: 114 Pangkham Road, Vientiane, Laos
Region: Laos > Vientiane Province > Vientiane
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 197 B&Bs / Inns in Vientiane
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Mali Namphu Guest House 2.5*
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Mali Namphu Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mali Namphu Guest House Hotel Vientiane

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing