We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient and nice local touch”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Green Park Boutique Hotel
Ranked #7 of 93 Hotels in Vientiane
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
150 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
“Convenient and nice local touch”
Reviewed 6 January 2012

The breakfast on the terrace is worth the visit on his own. Very confortable and relax place where you don't feel being in town.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Courche
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

479 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    264
    168
    34
    10
    3
See reviews for
57
224
32
62
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
59 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2012

This is a haven from the madding throng. Just out of the main drag this is a great place. Tuk tuk is only two dollars away from the main restaurant district. Keep the windows closed as Mosquitos are everywhere. Staff are terrific but english is not spoken widely. Take the hotel car to airport as taxis are unreliable and the same price.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hercules77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
newbury, berkshire
Level Contributor
143 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2012

We loved the decor and arty touches; the staff; the gardens; the position (within 20 mins walk of "town"), the view over the wetlands from the restaurant balcony - where we saw more birds in one go than in the last six weeks in V.N. and Laos! We weren't quite so keen on the (relatively) high prices in the restaurant, nor on the alarm call that was 20 mins late and lead to a bit of a rushed start to the airport!

Room Tip: Block A is further from reception and the main road and overlooks the (lovely) swimming pool, Block...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank crookhamcommon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
277 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 December 2011

We spent a total of four nights at the hotel, which is like a little oasis in Vientiane. Yes, it is indeed away from the center and you need to use either a tuk tuk or the hotel’s shuttle as is difficult to walk on the road due to the continuous traffic. We were greeted at the airport by the hotel’s airport transfer service and received a warm welcome from the staff in the front desk. Our room was big enough on the second floor, with all the amenities, mosquito repellents and net around the bed. The bed’s mattress was extremely hard. The laundry service was reliable and fast. The bathroom was indeed interesting with the individual garden view but the faucet on the sink was leaking the last two days we were there. Breakfast was pretty standard, with fresh croissants and a good selection of fruits. I would agree with other reviewers about the staff in the breakfast area and their limited English but not in their willingness to serve in any way they can.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SophiaK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 December 2011

The reception area and layout of this hotel were really nice. We didn't get the warmest of welcomes but the staff were pleasant enough.

The room itself was a good size, but it was very plain. The bathroom had a funky window garden, but a terrible shower.

The area by the pool was very relaxing but the bar service was poor.

We ate in the restaurant one evening but found the food to be average. Also the indoor restaurant has more mosquitos in it than the outdoor one, so wear your repellent!

I had a facial in the spa and found it to be great value.

Overall this is an Ok hotel, it's missing the personal touch.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MrandMrsOBrien
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Terrigal, Australia
Level Contributor
156 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 December 2011

We were happy to reach this inviting looking hotel after a long road trip from Luang Prabang. It's out of town a little but they have a shuttle service and a tuk tuk is about $5 for 4 people. Our rooms were nice with a view of the pool and the facilities you would expect in the room for a four star hotel. The service is a let down here though. On arrival we headed for the pool but couldn't see anyone to order a drink or snack from. Eventually, I went in search of someone, no-one in the bar as you'd expect but discovered someone in the restaurant who gave me a menu and arrived shortly after to take our order. The food was fine when it came though very expensive for what is was. Also, they didn't clear the plates promptly which is annoying. There was no evening turndown service, not even to put the mosquito nets out which was surprising. There are lots of mosquitoes here due to the lagoon (swamp) adjacent to the hotel and the still water features inside the hotel. They provide spray and burn coils everywhere though. We were disappointed to discover that the fitness centre was closed for renovations as it was one reason for choosing this hotel. The front desk staff were very good, helpful and spoke good english.Breakfast was very nice but again the service was unenthusiastic. The Hotel is opposite the COPE visitor centre which is well worth a visit. I would recommend this hotel but not if you want great service.

Room Tip: Ask for a view of the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank elsie18a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cologne
Level Contributor
22 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 November 2011

You won't make a mistake by staking at the Green Park - but it's unlikely you'll be excited.

We had hoped for a very personal place with a decent standard. The facilities are indeed good - but the place has potential for better management and a more personal atmosphere.

INFRASTRUCTURE: good 4 star standard. Charming rooms. All amenities. Mattresses are pretty firm (in case you are not used to this). Few extras though (e.g. no flowers, fruits). Small and calm pool. Well equipped gym. Nice gardens. Free bikes and internet. The builders did everything right.

LOCATION: in a green area, close to two important Wats. The main restaurant/shopping areas are a 10 mins bus ride away. Vientianne is very small. But you are not in the twon center (it always surprises me when people book a more remote hotel and then complain about city proximity). If you like quiet, this place is great. And the hotel bike takes you into town in no time.

FOOD: we can only judge the breakfast which is decent; but nothing special. Standard hotel fare. Some Lao touches would make the experience nicer .

SERVICE: All bascis work - but variance is high. One day, 2 people serve you, the next day it's hard to get a coffee for breakfast as nobody seems in charge. The pool has towels one day - not the next day. Greeting guests is not common. Smiles are rare. It appears the majority of staff have never received any training and are not being looked after. They improvise as best as they can. A pity as Lao staff are generally very charming, enthusiatsic and friendly.

On the other hand, the hotel imposes small charges on things like airline re-confirmation (1$) etc. Overall, it feels as if The Green Park is run like an investment object (side note: the hotels web page describes the facilities at lengths but does not mention service - fair enough...).

In the pice category, there are now several better hotels in Vientiane (this may explain the deep discounts vs. rack rate). With growing competition, the amount of forgiving trekkers will dry up and reviews may get tougher. So I hope the owners will take a fresh look at managing the place, focusing on guests and helping the nice staff to develop their potential. Then, Green Park will thrive.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TomCologne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vientiane hotels
1.3 mi away
Salana Boutique Hotel
Salana Boutique Hotel
#2 of 93 in Vientiane
4.5 of 5 bubbles 899 reviews
1.2 mi away
Ansara Hotel
Ansara Hotel
#5 of 93 in Vientiane
4.5 of 5 bubbles 442 reviews
2.5 mi away
S Park Design Hotel
S Park Design Hotel
#1 of 93 in Vientiane
4.5 of 5 bubbles 438 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Dhavara Hotel
Dhavara Hotel
#4 of 93 in Vientiane
4.5 of 5 bubbles 261 reviews
1.0 mi away
Settha Palace Hotel
Settha Palace Hotel
#9 of 93 in Vientiane
4.0 of 5 bubbles 416 reviews
1.1 mi away
Vientiane Golden Sun Hotel
Vientiane Golden Sun Hotel
#3 of 93 in Vientiane
4.5 of 5 bubbles 390 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Green Park Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Green Park Boutique Hotel

Property: Green Park Boutique Hotel
Address: 12 Khouvieng Road, Ban. Nongchanch P.O. Box 9698, Vientiane 9698, Laos
Region: Laos > Vientiane Province > Vientiane
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Vientiane
#2 Family Hotel in Vientiane
#2 Romantic Hotel in Vientiane
#3 Spa Hotel in Vientiane
#5 Luxury Hotel in Vientiane
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Green Park Boutique Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Green Park Boutique Hotel is capturing a Lao style orientation with a finest contemporary architecture of Laos. The elegance of the interiors, both historic and contemporary, and glorious settings are combined to create the most distinguished collection of stylish and luxury hotel in Vientiane.Green Park Boutique Hotel is perfectly located in the central business and embassy district, with a walking distance to Morning Marketing Shopping mall (Talat Sao Market) and tourist attractions. The hotel provides free of charge scheduled shuttle bus to city center as well as complimentary bicycles use to explore most of the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Green Park Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Green Park Boutique Vientiane
Hotel Green Park Boutique

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing