We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Green Park Boutique Hotel
Ranked #6 of 93 Hotels in Vientiane
Certificate of Excellence
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 6 Contributor
312 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
“Lovely stay”
Reviewed 15 April 2013

Altogether we spent 3 nights at this lovely hotel. Located a little away from the hustle and bustle of central Vientiane, it is never the less a lovely place to stay. Our room was located on the ground floor, facing the pool and it had a lovely terrace. The bathroom was quite large BUT because the bath tub was a bit elevated, it had step to access it and thus rendering it somewhat dangerous and slippery. The sink console did not provide much space to put our toiletries and also it lacked hooks to hang hand towels and other towels.
The garden and pool area of the hotel are lovely and people are friendly, polite and helpful.

There is a free shuttle bus to take you downtown every hour and you just have to book with the reception the time when you wish to return to the hotel…useful if you do not wish to take the local transportation (taxis, tuk tuk or even bikes). The hotel has bikes for rental as well.

The breakfast spread was quite good and the place is spotless. We did not have lunch or dinner at the hotel so we cannot comment on the quality of food but they did have functions when we arrived the first night and the spread of finger foods at the bar for that particular event, looked very enticing!

Room Tip: rooms on ground floor facing the pool are lovely...do not know whether all rooms are supplied with b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maitheng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

479 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    263
    169
    34
    10
    3
See reviews for
57
225
32
61
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
preston,uk
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2013 via mobile

Lovely hotel less than 10 mins from the centre by tuk tuk.
Pool and gardens gorgeous. Love the oil lamps all around in the evening.
Lovely room, great bath and shower with garden window, bit strange but very nice.
Step up to and into bath and shower might cause a problem for some.
Bed is one of the comfiest I have ever slept in.
Excellent breakfast and really attentive service.
Gorgeous gorgeous!
Quite a few Mosquitos around tho so spray needed. Big mall being built next door too, didn't disturb in any way but may change the vibe of Vientiane in general.
Would stay here over the more central hotels just for the pool and excellent rooms.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChinaGed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nuremberg
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2013 via mobile

This place is overrated.. Reception area, lounge bar and garden with pool look nice, but it feels strange to stay here. Staff looks quite demotivated except a few.. You have no feeling to be in a award winning boutique hotel but rather packed away more or less nicely outside of town.
For 160 dollar per night, you can do better..
Rooms are noisy and wrongly setup. If you sit on the sofa you cant watch tv.
Rooms are not decorated nicely and you you look at a white plain wall from bed.
Only plus: moskitonet.
Aircon terribly noisy.
Electricity goes off when you leave the room, so you cant recharge properly. Very badly positioned plugs. Cant find much positive things in here.
Chairs on balcony very uncomfortable, matrass too hard and cheap.
Restaurant offer very disappointing, food horrible and wine by glass boring. Breakfast ok but food is not protected from flies.. And in the evening, small insects would try to shre the table and plate with you.
View from the restaurant is showing clearly that nothing will be in walking distance.

Too far outside town, you need to take a shuttle bus.
Very low service level, no service at the pool, you need to find your drinks yourselve..
Towels too small, no shower at the pool.
I am happy to check out after one night, this is not at all a happy place to be.

Stayed March 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
2 Thank tante_rini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2013

When booking the hotel I sent the hotel manager an email to enquire about a pickup from the airport on our arrival, which remained unanswered. A week later I sent a follow up request and unfortunately again no response. I then had to resort to asking our hotel in Luang Prabang to call ahead to make arrangements for our arrival (US$10).

The setting of the hotel is nice (although a distance from the centre of town [10 minute tuk tuk journey costing +/- 50,000kip one way]) with lots of citronella candles around the fountain which gives it a tranquil feel in the evening. Good idea considering the amount of still standing water and mosquitos. The pool is unfortunately slightly green with leaves in the bottom.

When we stayed, repairs to the surrounding water feature was ongoing which made the hotel feel a little like a construction site. I am understanding of repairs that needs to be done from time to time but was irritated by the work commencing at 8am in the morning right outside our bedroom.

Asking for a late check-out (4pm where normal check-out is 2pm) we were quoted US$60 and said we will think about it. When we went to confirm the late check-out charge the following day, we were quoted US$80. We complained and the reception staff agreed to the US$60. I did not realise it was a negotiation!

Staff overall are friendly enough but some reception staff does not speak english particularly well which makes arrangements (tuk-tuk into town, restaurant bookings, etc.) a little bit tricky.

On our last day, I requested to speak to the manager to raise some of my irritations about the hotel (not responding to emails, construction starting too early and negotiations on late check-out costs) I was told there is no manager on site and that he is in Bangkok on business. I would suggest to him to try and manage his hotel better first before looking for new business.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ET197
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2013 via mobile

Pleasant grounds and nicely appointed rooms made the Green Park a perfectly pleasant place to stay. Mosquitos are clearly a challenge here (probably not helped by the water features that seem to operate very infrequently) but spray and nets were provided so weren't a problem. Beautiful citronella lamps everywhere in the evenings. Service varied from anxious to please to seemingly indifferent. Breakfast was consistent and good.

It's a bit of a yomp into town so be prepared to wait for the hourly shuttle bus or flag down tuk-tuks (which were the most expensive I've experienced to date) though this did lead to some good opportunities to engage with the locals

Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Maxnuttall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Weybridge, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
211 reviews
114 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 210 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2013

I stayed at the Green Park boutique hotel with my wife and two teenage children for one night. The hotel is beautifully designed and has a very calm feel about itself with the rooms set around a courtyard of decorative ponds and the swimming pool. It has a very zen feel about it.

The 'green park' that the hotel is named after is an area of undeveloped land that is beginning to be encroached upon by new developments, however it does mean that breakfast can be peacefully enjoyed on the verandah overlooking the 'park'.

We had two adjacent rooms as there are no interconnecting rooms. The rooms were of a good size with very comfortable beds and decent size bathrooms with good showers. The air-conditioning was efficient and quiet. The bedrooms are stylish, but due to the design of the hotel the rooms are not overly light and bright.

The restaurant is approached using an outdoor set of steps - in the traditional Laos style. Whilst dinner was more expensive than you would expect to pay for in a Vientiane restaurant it was not excessively so and the food was good.

The breakfast is a typical Asian hotel buffet with a mix of Western and Asian dishes. Sitting on the wooden verandah looking towards Vientiane it was a very enjoyable meal.

There is a small but well-equipped gym near the swimming pool.

Free wifi is available throughout the hotel.

There is an hourly shuttle bus that runs between the hotel and the fountain in the centre of the city taking no more than ten minutes. Equally you could walk from the hotel to the central market in around 15-20 minutes or take a tuk-tuk.

The hotel will arrange hotel pick up and drop off at no charge.

I would certainly recommend the Green Park Boutique Hotel for a stay in Vientiane.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sayer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2013

Overall this is a good property but there are some small details that keep it from being a great property. We had a very large room--two bedrooms and two bathrooms with a living room and dining area. While all the furniture was lovely, it was not particularly comfortable. The shuttle bus service is convenient to get into town but the schedule is quite limited. While the garden outside the tub/shower in the bathroom is lovely to look at, there were broken slats on the fence surrounding it. To their credit, the minute we mentioned it, it was fixed. While the pool is lovely, there is no beverage or food service at the pool. A sign on the back of the door to the room advised something to the effect that bringing prostitutes or teens to the room for sex is discouraged--a bit disconcerting to see this and to have to explain it to the children. All in all the room was comfortable and we were satisfied, but they should probably pay a bit more attention to details. The food for breakfast was excellent and plentiful. We did not feel that there was a problems with mosquitos, and in fact did not use the mosquito netting at night.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelpsychologist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vientiane hotels
1.3 mi away
Salana Boutique Hotel
Salana Boutique Hotel
#2 of 93 in Vientiane
905 reviews
1.2 mi away
Ansara Hotel
Ansara Hotel
#5 of 93 in Vientiane
448 reviews
2.5 mi away
S Park Design Hotel
S Park Design Hotel
#1 of 93 in Vientiane
468 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Dhavara Hotel
Dhavara Hotel
#4 of 93 in Vientiane
266 reviews
1.0 mi away
Settha Palace Hotel
Settha Palace Hotel
#10 of 93 in Vientiane
419 reviews
1.1 mi away
Vientiane Golden Sun Hotel
Vientiane Golden Sun Hotel
#3 of 93 in Vientiane
401 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Green Park Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Green Park Boutique Hotel

Property: Green Park Boutique Hotel
Address: 12 Khouvieng Road, Ban. Nongchanch P.O. Box 9698, Vientiane 9698, Laos
Region: Laos > Vientiane Province > Vientiane
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Vientiane
#2 Romantic Hotel in Vientiane
#2 Family Hotel in Vientiane
#3 Spa Hotel in Vientiane
#5 Luxury Hotel in Vientiane
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Green Park Boutique Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Green Park Boutique Hotel is capturing a Lao style orientation with a finest contemporary architecture of Laos. The elegance of the interiors, both historic and contemporary, and glorious settings are combined to create the most distinguished collection of stylish and luxury hotel in Vientiane.Green Park Boutique Hotel is perfectly located in the central business and embassy district, with a walking distance to Morning Marketing Shopping mall (Talat Sao Market) and tourist attractions. The hotel provides free of charge scheduled shuttle bus to city center as well as complimentary bicycles use to explore most of the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Ctrip TA, Southall Travel, Odigeo, Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Green Park Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Green Park Boutique Vientiane
Hotel Green Park Boutique

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing