We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First class but a little remote”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Green Park Boutique Hotel
Ranked #6 of 93 Hotels in Vientiane
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 July 2008

We stayed here for three nights on a private tour of Laos. After a glitch in the pick up arrangements at the airport, we were pleasantly surprised at the quality and excellence of the hotel grounds and room.

It is located a little out of town, but within walking distance and there are always inexpensive taxis available.

The rooms overlook a central garden and pool area, well designed and well maintained. A good restaurant and bar complex completes the quadrangle. Prices there were a little higher than 'downtown', but acceptable.

We would stay there again, but it is hard to see why we would want to go back to Vientiane - the locals were surprised that we had allocated three nights for it, and so were we.

  • Stayed: February 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nicholas_from_Oz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (485)
There are newer reviews for Green Park Boutique Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

321 - 327 of 485 reviews

Reviewed 30 March 2008

After initial difficulties booking with the hotel direct, they finally rung us in England to confirm. The rooms are stylish, with all the facilities that you would expect for a 4 star hotel for tourists or business people. Just about near enough to walk, 20 minutes into the centre, passed all the Government buildings in French colonial style.
Breakfasts were good, but dinners were average in a lovely restaurant on the first floor with balcony overlooking the garden and pool area.
We were not disappointed - this is Laos !

  • Stayed: January 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank 2Turners
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2008

hotel and room style & design: nice / personal / good internet access / pool: little
location: near to the center but you need a tuc tuc / beside of the hotel is a smelly laguna wich should prepare serious mosquito problems during the summer period
staff: friendly but mostly unqualyfied (no wonder, some of them get 50 $ per month and have zero training)
food: western: not good / asian: ok / breakfast: average
check in: ok

  • Stayed: February 2008
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank polpor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2008

We arrived at Vientiane in the evening, fairly whacked after flying in from London,and were collected from the airport by the Hotel transport and driven through the deserted streets to Green Park.

It looked lovely, all lit up for the festive season and we were made very welcome and, after a complimentary drink, show to our room. The sign of a good hotel is how they respond to problems and the front office performed admirably.

The beds are firm but they provided extra under blankets within 5 mins. The water in the bathroom went off (it is pumped) and they fixed it, again within 5 mins, and they phoned to check everything was OK.

The rooms are well furnished with TV.Air Con. (not needed at night in the winter) safe, great bathroom with massive tub and a balcony overlooking the central pond area or pool.

The pool area has 10 loungers and is popular from mid afternoon when guests return from town. The hotel grounds are full of tropical trees and plants

The Spa is very good with Lao massage at $15. The first floor dining room with outside deck area serves excellent breakfasts with a wide choice and good lao coffee.

At lunch there is a snack menu, again with a wide choice - the tuna sandwich with fries is as good as it gets.

Dinner menu is a mix of Asian,Lao and Western dishes - highly recommend the sweet and sour fish and the peppered steak , also the goat cheese salad. The service is "relaxed", this is Laos after all! The wine list is pretty good and the house white (by the glass) in fine but steer away from the Portugese house red -grim!

New Years Gala Dinner at US$35 (including unlimited wine) was great vale and enormous fun with live band and Lao dancing. Many of the tables were taken by non resident expats which made it a really good mix and a fun atmosphere.

Whilst it a little way out of town it is only 10 mins walk to Talet Sao indoor market - one of the best, and cheapest in SE Asia. You can see its' roof from the dining room balcony.

Tuktuks wait outside the hotel and cost $3 for a down town trip, Vientiane is so different to the rest of Asia with the French influence of pavement cafes, wide roads on a grid pattern but the big thing you notice is the calmness of the traffic - all very sedate.

We used the hotel car ($10 an hour for driver and English speaking member of staff) for our own tour - try to get to the Kaysone's old house (behind his Memorial) situated in what was the CIA's "Six Klick City" compound - a real time warp.

One of the great things about the Green Park is the smiling and helpful staff, inspite of their limited English (and French). We had originally tried to get into the Setta Palace but having visited it we are glad it was full as we much prefer Green Park.

In summary - good place to stay, good food, nice position and smiling staff - what else do you want?

  • Stayed: January 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Silverswimmer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2007

Due to a late flight, we did not arrive at the hotel until dark, so the next morning when we went out for breakfast we were surprised to see the very lovely grounds and pool area. This is a relatively new hotel and service, food and staff were all well above average. Seems to cater somewhat to the businessman but stlll meets all the needs of the vacation traveler.

  • Stayed: December 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank traveler0ne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 December 2007

Stayed one nights at the Green Park Boutique Hotel.
I must say this is a Western class standard Hotel in Vientiane.
The rooms where amazing, beautiful timber, tradional look.
Wonderful service, could not fault it, nice court yard gardens & pool, with all the rooms facing the pool court yard.
the restraunt was upstairs, with indoor outdoor deck set up, very nice, though the view was nothing special, being of the town itself.
this property is a definate must if you want just something a little bit more special if you are in Vientiane.
I would not hesitate to stay agian, just be aware though that Hotels are cheap in Laos, comparing with Thailand, but you do not have the same amount of properties, so i think this pushes the prices up in Laos.
Thailand being more established for the tourist dollar, so you have far more oppotunity to find a good bargin there, this property is not cheap, (approx $140 US) there are many other cheaper hotels in town, but not to this quality I'm sure.

  • Stayed: November 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank rickyb62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 December 2007

Stayed here 2 nights in early Nov 07 as part of an Indochina tour. Owing to so little time and so much to see elsewhere in town, did little else other than wash, sleep and eat breakfast - without complaint. Would have liked to check out the attractive pool. Despite previous comments, found the breakfast to be all we expected - but agree the juices are not the best feature. The staff are very courteous and willing but clearly have not had the opportunity to receive the standard of training a large, multinational organisation can offer. But their smiles, politeness and attentiveness make up for a lot.. Very much liked the style of the place. Despite being out of the centre of the city, rooms on the road side of the hotel can be a little noisy early in the morning from the trucks heading from out of town towards all the main markets which are not that far from the hotel, so try and get a room away from the road if you wish a lie in. While the location is not the best feature of the hotel, somewhere a little more central might have been preferred, we were able to walk easily in daylight into the more buzzy part of town - everything is relative! - past the market and major colonial buildings such as the post office. Don't do it after dark unless you have a torch/flashlight as there are too many opportunities to twist an ankle. And, you'd miss the fun of negotiating a tuk-tuk driver down to $1 per person for a thrilling ride. Did not try the restaurant as it was much more fun to eat down by the Mekong each night.

  • Stayed: November 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SussexWorldtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vientiane hotels
1.3 mi away
Salana Boutique Hotel
Salana Boutique Hotel
#2 of 93 in Vientiane
917 reviews
2.5 mi away
S Park Design Hotel
S Park Design Hotel
#1 of 93 in Vientiane
498 reviews
1.2 mi away
Ansara Hotel
Ansara Hotel
#5 of 93 in Vientiane
455 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Dhavara Hotel
Dhavara Hotel
#4 of 93 in Vientiane
268 reviews
1.8 mi away
Crowne Plaza Vientiane
Crowne Plaza Vientiane
#9 of 93 in Vientiane
71 reviews
1.0 mi away
Settha Palace Hotel
Settha Palace Hotel
#11 of 93 in Vientiane
424 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Green Park Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Green Park Boutique Hotel

Address: 12 Khouvieng Road, Ban. Nongchanch P.O. Box 9698, Vientiane 9698, Laos
Region: Laos > Vientiane Prefecture > Vientiane
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Vientiane
#2 Family Hotel in Vientiane
#2 Romantic Hotel in Vientiane
#3 Spa Hotel in Vientiane
#5 Luxury Hotel in Vientiane
Price Range: £68 - £130 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Green Park Boutique Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Green Park Boutique Hotel is capturing a Lao style orientation with a finest contemporary architecture of Laos. The elegance of the interiors, both historic and contemporary, and glorious settings are combined to create the most distinguished collection of stylish and luxury hotel in Vientiane.Green Park Boutique Hotel is perfectly located in the central business and embassy district, with a walking distance to Morning Marketing Shopping mall (Talat Sao Market) and tourist attractions. The hotel provides free of charge scheduled shuttle bus to city center as well as complimentary bicycles use to explore most of the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Southall Travel, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Green Park Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Green Park Boutique Vientiane
Hotel Green Park Boutique

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing