We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overall a very satisfactory stay.”
Review of Lao Orchid Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Lao Orchid Hotel
Ranked #11 of 93 Hotels in Vientiane
Certificate of Excellence
Oslo, Norway
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Overall a very satisfactory stay.”
Reviewed 4 February 2014

There are a huge number of similar hotels in and around Vientiane. Some priced a little higher and some a little lower. Overall we felt that the value for money offered was good. The location is right in the heart of the action and its possible to walk everywhere but not at all noisy. I normally have an aversion to noise in hotels but i slept like a baby at the Lao Orchid. The room was basic but perfectly nice. The only major gripe was the number of mosquitoes in the room even with windows and doors closed - the seal around the balcony door could be improved on as i woke the next morning with 5-6 itchy bites. The breakfast was fine and in a nice street side setting. The service was excellent and of the highest quality. All our needs were met. I would certainly stay here again on my next visit to Vientiane.

Room Tip: We had a view from our balcony of the Mekong river and a temple across the road. Stunning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SFayers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

387 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    145
    194
    32
    10
    6
See reviews for
44
177
66
44
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Australia
Level 6 Contributor
228 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 January 2014

This was our first hotel in Laos and we were very satisfied with the quality of accommodation and breakfast. After travelling in Laos for a month we stayed here again. Having been to many hotels in the meantime this hotel seemed a bit overpriced, but overall I would recommend it. The location is great, a few steps away from the Mekong river (great for people watching, in particular the groups performing aerobics to loud music), the night markets, and many cafes and restaurants. Unlike others, I found the receptionists very helpful. The booked our buses without additional charge.

Room Tip: If you are not a light sleeper get a room in the front, so you have a balcony facing the wat and a g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susana61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Accrington, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
111 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 January 2014

Decent location and good sized room. Large shower compartment but nose had to nearly touch tiles to get under trickle of water. Just cold water tap on washbasin and no plug. No drawers to put clothes in. Reception staff had limited English. lighting in room left a lot to be desired and we had to search for plug to charge iPad, phone etc. Breakfast was OK, but geared towards Chinese style

Room Tip: Choose a room at the front as you get a better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paynterman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 January 2014

The hotel was overpriced for what you got. Very basic accommodation for the price. Over 20 USD a night, we found better places for half the price. Be wary of the staff who will come up to your room to ask you to pay. Either give correct change, or go downstairs. We lost all our change because the guy said he would go downstairs and bring the change back up. When I went down to see him he claimed he had already given me the change. I heard of this happening to another guest also. All in all, not the best place to stay, I would look in the nearby streets which have many nicer guesthouses for half the price.

Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Bree J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 January 2014 via mobile

We stayed 3 nights and had a great time. 2 minute walk to Mekong, night market, and good restaurants. Very good traditional and Chinese breakfast options. The open air breakfast balcony was pleasant and had views of a local temple. The day front desk clerk was very helpful and spoke English.
Our 4th floor room in the back was spacious and had distant views of the Mekong over several other rooftops. We had a small refrigerator and a small balcony without any furniture to sit. The walls are thin and we could hear hallway noise, but the hotel was not too busy. Internet in the room was very weak, but stronger in the lobby areas. We used their transport to/from the hotel which was very convenient.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Maura S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EDINBURGH
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2014 via mobile

We stayed here one night. Room was comfortable although a little noisy in the morning with other guests getting up early. Breakfast was the best we had all trip. The steamed wantons and dumplings were delicious! The location is also great. Close to the riverside and opposite one of te cities many wats.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Coldyfish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
89 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2014

We stayed 3 nights in mid-December at the end of 5 weeks in Cambodia and Laos and we loved it, even though it was the most expensive place we stayed - but this could just be Vientiane. The hotel has a nice ambience and is conveniently located very close to the Mekong River esplanade and all that happens along here, including the night market, and it is walkable to many of the temples and other city features. Our room on the back was quiet and still had a view to the river, very clean and comfortable with plenty of amenities (fridge, kettle, safe, TV, WiFi, bottled water). Reception staff were very courteous, and the buffet breakfast in their lovely open air bar and dining area on the first floor with its leafy temple outlook was excellent. We booked by email with no problems and the airport transport service when we left was smooth and easy.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BonniesGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vientiane hotels
1.2 mi away
S Park Design Hotel
S Park Design Hotel
#1 of 93 in Vientiane
468 reviews
0.1 mi away
Salana Boutique Hotel
Salana Boutique Hotel
#2 of 93 in Vientiane
905 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ibis Vientiane Nam Phu Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Dhavara Hotel
Dhavara Hotel
#4 of 93 in Vientiane
266 reviews
0.7 mi away
Vientiane Golden Sun Hotel
Vientiane Golden Sun Hotel
#3 of 93 in Vientiane
401 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ansara Hotel
Ansara Hotel
#5 of 93 in Vientiane
448 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lao Orchid Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lao Orchid Hotel

Property: Lao Orchid Hotel
Address: Chao Anou Rd., Vat Chanh, Vientiane 0100, Laos
Region: Laos > Vientiane Province > Vientiane
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Vientiane
#7 Best Value Hotel in Vientiane
#8 Business Hotel in Vientiane
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Lao Orchid Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 33
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Lao Orchid Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Lao Orchid
Lao Orchid Vientiane

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing