We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location, lovely hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lao Orchid Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Lao Orchid Hotel
Ranked #10 of 97 Hotels in Vientiane
Certificate of Excellence
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
64 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Great location, lovely hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 March 2014

A bit sparse and Scandinavian on first appearance, but this hotel proved to be a great place to stay. The location is minutes from the river and immaculately clean with wonderfully comfortable beds and plenty of pillows, pleasant staff and good breakfasts. The room is well equipped and our balcony overlooked the Mekong. Good value for money - what more can you ask for?

Room Tip: It seems that most rooms have some views of the Mekong and we didn't notice that the a/c units w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank twooldies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

375 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    143
    185
    31
    10
    6
See reviews for
44
171
63
42
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Columbus, Ohio, USA
Level Contributor
615 reviews
119 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 218 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 March 2014

This hotel was part of our tour package so we don't know exactly what we paid but we thought the hotel was nice. Our room was fine with a balcony that overlooked the street. Our friends' room, however, had an odd odor and they couldn't change because there was no availability. Breakfast offered a lot of choices and the restaurant had a lovely ambience. We played bridge on the tables in the restaurant when our city tour was over. We walked across the street to the night market which gives all sorts of people watching and entertainment to the tourist. We would stay there again but I don't think our friends would.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank teachers55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexandria, Virginia
Level Contributor
105 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 February 2014

Right on the Mekong River and the night market. We just stayed at the Lao Orchid for 3 nights and our double room with balcony on the 4th floor faced the Wat across the street. Our large double room was clean and nicely furnished. The bath was very large and up to date. Breakfast was more than adequate on the 2 nd story verandah. The front desk helped us to purchase our VIP bus tickets to Luang Prabang (which cost 170000 Kip per person with free lunch, 8 hr trip in minivan). Wifi in room was weak. I would gladly stay here again and highly recommend this hotel. In the adjoining streets there are many nice restaurants, boutiques, massage places which were very good. Great value!

Room Tip: Try getting a room on the 4th or 5th floors for better views and better sleep quality.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank travelwise07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lund
Level Contributor
147 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2014

Neat and clean modern hotel with a good location.Their is good wi-fi signal in the rooms, which are of standard size and equipped with standard facilities. For a good view choose the upper floors towards the street and the temple.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank swede02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
69 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2014

Stayed 3 nights at this hotel which is located within walking distance of small shops, bars and eateries. Our room was located on the 3rd floor which was actually the 4th floor due to the layout of the hotel. The hotel room was large, clean and bright with a small balcony. The floors were hardwood which gave the room a warm and inviting feeling. The decor was simple with furniture made from teak or mahogany and the bed was very comfortable. There was a mini bar and a safe in the room as well as a desk but no bureau to put clothes in. The thriving night market was less than 5 minutes away as was the boardwalk along the Mekong river.
Complimentary breakfast was served in the open air restaurant on the 2nd floor and had a variety of fresh bread, fruit, cereal, bacon and eggs for Western palates as well as the standard Asian dishes.
The front desk staff spoke English and were very accommodating, arranging taxis, providing maps and directions etc. Wifi was available however access was sometimes difficult.
The only downside was the bathroom which was small and had limited counter space. There was no hot water in the sink.Toiletries were not replenished daily and the shower was a handheld device with a wall mounted heater which provided little hot water.
Aside from the shower the room was adequate and we would consider staying again.

Room Tip: Upper rooms on the main street overlook a small temple which provides good photos ops at sunrise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FrankCovey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
109 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 February 2014

There are a huge number of similar hotels in and around Vientiane. Some priced a little higher and some a little lower. Overall we felt that the value for money offered was good. The location is right in the heart of the action and its possible to walk everywhere but not at all noisy. I normally have an aversion to noise in hotels but i slept like a baby at the Lao Orchid. The room was basic but perfectly nice. The only major gripe was the number of mosquitoes in the room even with windows and doors closed - the seal around the balcony door could be improved on as i woke the next morning with 5-6 itchy bites. The breakfast was fine and in a nice street side setting. The service was excellent and of the highest quality. All our needs were met. I would certainly stay here again on my next visit to Vientiane.

Room Tip: We had a view from our balcony of the Mekong river and a temple across the road. Stunning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SFayers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level Contributor
225 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 January 2014

This was our first hotel in Laos and we were very satisfied with the quality of accommodation and breakfast. After travelling in Laos for a month we stayed here again. Having been to many hotels in the meantime this hotel seemed a bit overpriced, but overall I would recommend it. The location is great, a few steps away from the Mekong river (great for people watching, in particular the groups performing aerobics to loud music), the night markets, and many cafes and restaurants. Unlike others, I found the receptionists very helpful. The booked our buses without additional charge.

Room Tip: If you are not a light sleeper get a room in the front, so you have a balcony facing the wat and a g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Susana61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vientiane hotels
0.1 mi away
Salana Boutique Hotel
Salana Boutique Hotel
#2 of 97 in Vientiane
4.5 of 5 bubbles 881 reviews
1.2 mi away
S Park Design Hotel
S Park Design Hotel
#1 of 97 in Vientiane
4.5 of 5 bubbles 408 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ansara Hotel
Ansara Hotel
#5 of 97 in Vientiane
4.5 of 5 bubbles 432 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Ibis Vientiane Nam Phu Hotel
0.2 mi away
Dhavara Hotel
Dhavara Hotel
#4 of 97 in Vientiane
4.5 of 5 bubbles 250 reviews
0.7 mi away
Vientiane Golden Sun Hotel
Vientiane Golden Sun Hotel
#3 of 97 in Vientiane
4.5 of 5 bubbles 376 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lao Orchid Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lao Orchid Hotel

Property: Lao Orchid Hotel
Address: Chao Anou Rd., Vat Chanh, Vientiane 0100, Laos
Region: Laos > Vientiane Province > Vientiane
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Vientiane
#8 Business Hotel in Vientiane
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Lao Orchid Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 33
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Lao Orchid Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Lao Orchid
Lao Orchid Vientiane

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing