We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“You get more from what you pay!”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Lao Orchid Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Lao Orchid Hotel
Ranked #10 of 94 Hotels in Vientiane
Certificate of Excellence
Bangkok
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“You get more from what you pay!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2009

My business trip in Vientiane was very impress about this hotel. Before you step in to the hotel your feeling like you are waking in to the home spa, then you will meet staff at the front desk which is more impress myself about service minds and truely smiling from the heart of Laos people. When you get in to the room is so clean, facing to Mae Khong River.
Breakfast is very good value from money, especially Fried Rice. Location is near street shopping. You can bargain with good price. Street foods are various type, you must try them all....TRUST ME!
While check out, you will never forget what you have recieved from receptionist staff with a BIG smile, and sound like inviting you to visit again.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BKKman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

380 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    144
    189
    31
    10
    6
See reviews for
44
175
63
42
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2009

I stayed at this hotel for 13 days. Arrange for airport transfer by the hotel for us$6. The room is clean but the mattress is rather hard. Toilet is clean too but do bring your own toiletries. Ask for room facing the Mekong River. The view of the river is just great. Since the hotel is just opposite of Vat Chan, you will hear the bells from the vat everyday at 5am.

The hotel does have a wireless internet connection. If you do need to connect to internet, request for rooms at the second floor. I stayed at the fourth floor and the connection is bad. At times I have to go to the lobby area to get connected.

I paid US$40 per night. If you use visa, you will need to pay an additional 2-4%. The hotel provides a buffet breakfast, which is just bearable. The staff are friendly and helpful.

Usually I will go Vientiane twice a year, and I will definitely stay at this place due to its central location and value for money.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pixiee0809
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, UK
Level Contributor
29 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2009

Hotel is pretty nice, good size room, very nice staff, good location, quiet and ok value.

It's not like a super lux hotel, and the price reflects this.

Negatives - breakfast was not so good.
- safe didn't work

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hannahhanj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bowral, Australia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2009

There is much going for this hotel - it's location close to the river and restaurants is good, the rooms are basic but clean and reasonably comfortable, the cost of a room is acceptable, they provide free internet - and yet I found it hard to warm to the place. Perhaps it was the lack of service or feeling that the provision of service was discouraged by the hotel (there was no directory of services in my room, no instruction on how to use the safe, which I promptly locked - empty, fortunately), perhaps it was the awful breakfast, perhaps the incredible hardness of the bed, the single bedside light (good thing I'm a solo traveller), perhaps it's me being too picky?

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bowralman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paisley, Scotland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2009

I stayed at the Lao Orchid Hotel from 13th to 15th June and i reallt enjoyed it! After being picked up at the airport in the hotel's mini-bus, I arrived to a second floor room with a great little balcony looking down to the street below, and an ok view of the Mekong to the right. The room itself was very comfortable with a tv, fridge, safe, telephone, air-con and a very clean bathroom with excellent shower. The buffet breakfast was excellent, and i found the staff to be very polite and helpful, they also helped with getting me a seat on the bus to Vang Vieng when i left.. There was also internet access next to the reception area which is always handy :-) The location was excellent, close to the banks of the Mekong and the main resteraunt/bar area. If i return to Vientiane i will definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank scofo76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
india
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2009

we had a very pleasant experience at lao orchid - car pick up was right on time, the rooms are excellent - spotless, air con works well, wi fi works well and theres plenty of hot water. Breakfast was ample - mix of western and local , the fresh juices are a must try. At usd $45 for a double (with balcony and mekong view) plus breakfast and internet, we thought this was very good value.
Location is at the edge of centre, but well within walking distance to the main destinations, there is a mini mart right opposite for regular purchases and wine .. which we enjoyed at our balcony over looking the river.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yuppie_traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UAE
Level Contributor
35 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2009

We stayed at this hotel for two days in early June. I had booked a twin room in April and had received a prompt confirmation. At their request I reconfirmed the reservation about one week before arrival. We arrived in Vientiane by bus from Luang Prabang. On the morning of our departure from Luang Prabang I emailed the hotel to tell them we would arrive late in the evening. They emailed back to say that would be fine. So imagine our surprise on arriving at the hotel at 11.30 pm to be told that our room had been given to someone else. Instead we were offered a larger double room on the top floor at $65. After much discussion the hotel agreed to let us have the room for the same rate as a normal room, $45. The next day we moved to a twin room. It was inconvenient unpacking items and a few hours later packing them up and moving. It would be much easier if the hotel just takes the cost of one night's accommodation by credit card.

The buffet breakfast was very nice. Both our rooms had cups, tea and coffee but no kettle. I'm not sure how we were supposed to get hot water. We had a very pleasant transfer for $6 to the airport on leaving.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Longton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vientiane hotels
0.1 mi away
Salana Boutique Hotel
Salana Boutique Hotel
#2 of 94 in Vientiane
4.5 of 5 bubbles 893 reviews
1.2 mi away
S Park Design Hotel
S Park Design Hotel
#1 of 94 in Vientiane
4.5 of 5 bubbles 426 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ansara Hotel
Ansara Hotel
#6 of 94 in Vientiane
4.5 of 5 bubbles 436 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Ibis Vientiane Nam Phu Hotel
0.2 mi away
Dhavara Hotel
Dhavara Hotel
#4 of 94 in Vientiane
4.5 of 5 bubbles 258 reviews
0.7 mi away
Vientiane Golden Sun Hotel
Vientiane Golden Sun Hotel
#3 of 94 in Vientiane
4.5 of 5 bubbles 387 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lao Orchid Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lao Orchid Hotel

Property: Lao Orchid Hotel
Address: Chao Anou Rd., Vat Chanh, Vientiane 0100, Laos
Region: Laos > Vientiane Province > Vientiane
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Vientiane
#8 Business Hotel in Vientiane
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Lao Orchid Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 33
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Agoda, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotels.com, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Lao Orchid Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Lao Orchid
Lao Orchid Vientiane

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing