We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely place for a short stay in Vientiane”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Beau Rivage Mekong Hotel
Ranked #14 of 93 Hotels in Vientiane
Certificate of Excellence
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Lovely place for a short stay in Vientiane”
Reviewed 28 February 2013

Stayed for 2 nights at BRMH during our stay in Vientiane, hotel is lovely with spacious rooms and really charming decor and furnishings, and very clean. Taxi was waiting for us at the airport, even though we were last out through taking a while getting visas, we thought they might have left but he was still waiting for us! No problem with taxi on way back either, arrived before the time we'd asked for.

Staff at reception really helpful, we arrived pretty early (10.30am-ish) so our room wasn't ready, but they said it would be about an hour and directed us to the bar to wait - and came to get us once it was ready which was under an hour later, was really impressed the effort they went to to get our room ready for us quickly, even though check-in wasn't until the afternoon. Staff were also happy to point out where various things were in Vientiane, and give advice on the best way to get around.

Only a couple of cons about this hotel (hence the very good rating rather than excellent)... firstly as other reviews have said, there are roadworks going on outside the hotel so it is rather dusty and we got woken up at 6.30am on our first morning by very loud drilling, although second morning was fine. I'm sure this will only be temporary though. Secondly it is a bit of a walk from the centre of town, and given how hot it gets (especially in the afternoon) it's not a very pleasant walk with very little shade - I would recommend getting a tuk tuk in the daytime!

All in all though would certainly recommend this hotel and would stay again if we were ever back in Vientiane!

Room Tip: Our room was on the third floor, river facing - I expect these rooms suffer most from the roadworks...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

348 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    141
    159
    40
    8
    0
See reviews for
25
179
52
21
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Asia
Level 6 Contributor
179 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 150 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2013

Just came back from one night stay in this nice and cosy place.
Room was clean nicely arranged with many little details for the pleasure of our eyes, overlooking the Mekong and Thailand on the opposite side.
Staff is friendly and helpful as well the manager/owner Gordon who is willing if you take two minutes or more of your time to discuss with him to give you many info about sleeping Vientiane who is not really anymore.
The Spiritual House, just near by is a great place, bit trendy for a meal as well a drink. they have a great happy hours with plenty of cocktails.
Internet is working fast as well plenty of TV channels.
Only little point to make it better is the breakfast, no buffet only a la carte and two choices included in your room rate to choose from their menu...
Our room was pink and it was just great!

Room Tip: Luang Prabang is great room if you like pink....
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Chrisinasia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Hampshire
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2013

The pink exterior is quite distinctive!
We stayed only 2 nights but it was totally satisfactory and extremely clean. The decor was charming and the furnishings well chosen.
The location is good, on the Mekong river and still near enough to reach the town.
Bicycles are available and having the restaurant next door is a real bonus as the food is good.
I would recommend this hotel to anyone who wanted a reasonably priced stay.

Room Tip: As there is no elevator , guests in upper rooms use an "open stair " flight of steps. Perh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RAGGEDNewHampshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2013

Rooms were beautifully decorated (and were a Nice change from the typical Lao style) and the beds were great. The free bikes made sightseeing in Vientiane with our 3 kids very easy and fun, and most importantly, the owner and his staff were very friendly and helpfull. As we forgot our passports in the hotel, the HRBM team went out of their way to make sure the passports were delivered to us in our next destination. Excellent (after sales) service!
Thank you Gordon and team!
Maybe also good to mention: we have stayed for four nights and experienced no early morning roadwork sounds/ dust, even when sleeping with open Windows.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Maddepan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level 6 Contributor
304 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 171 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 February 2013 via mobile

This charming boutique hotel is conveniently located on the riverfront, within walking distance from town via the night markets.
The pink decor is cute and the well designed rooms equally well appointed with large shower/ baths and enough space to feel comfortable.
Towels were immaculate white and nice and thick.
Breakfast was good quality, next door in Spirit house restaurant- also a great place for cocktails while watching the sunset over the river.
Staff very friendly, organized and helpful. The hotel also hires bikes for free which is a great way to roam the town.
As with many Asian hotels, a no shoe policy at the foyer helps keep the floors clean and tiles spotless.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank NataliePatricia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 February 2013

Stayed for three nights at this hotel and found it to be excellent. The room was immaculate and the staff were kind and helpful. Great location, on a road overlooking the Mekong and about a 15 minute walk from the center of Vientianne. Next door is the Spirit House, which was also nice and very convenient. I would recommend this hotel without hesitation.

Room Tip: I suggest one of the second or third floor rooms facing the street and river
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ThreePutt72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 January 2013

Overall this was an average hotel.. but the hotel restaurant was really good.

The Pros:
1. The hotel offers free bicycles for you to ride around the city
2. There is a rooftop bar that is walking distance away where you can watch the amazing sunset over the Mekong while sipping on a cold Beer Lao
3. The restaurant serves really great Lao food, so you dont actually have to look for other restaurants in Vientiane!
4. there is a little reading garden in the back of the hotel that you can sit quietly and read in. It's really nice to sit back there.

The Cons:

1. Our aircon didnt work properly and was quite loud
2. There is road work being done all along the Mekong so its very very dusty and gravelly along the walk way in front of the hotel, so it's not a nice walk along the front of the hotel
3. Road work starts at 6.30 AM, so it wakes you up. If you are a light sleeper and like to sleep past 6.30 AM on holiday, you might want to find another place to stay.
4. The front desk assistance was average - because whenever I asked for help with various different things, I didnt get the helpful response that I normally would expect from a cozy B n B. Just be expect average front desk service and average help with things you ask for.
5. Our airport taxi arrived 10 minutes late BOTH times we ordered an airport taxi. So that was a little stressful for us. Please book your taxi 10 mins before you actually want it to come for safety. Taxi lateness seems to be a normal thing in Laos.

Room Tip: Choose a room on the 2nd floor. The rooms on the 1st floor have electrical wires hanging in the view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TheLydster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vientiane hotels
1.0 mi away
S Park Design Hotel
S Park Design Hotel
#1 of 93 in Vientiane
482 reviews
0.2 mi away
Salana Boutique Hotel
Salana Boutique Hotel
#2 of 93 in Vientiane
910 reviews
0.2 mi away
Lao Orchid Hotel
Lao Orchid Hotel
#11 of 93 in Vientiane
390 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Ansara Hotel
Ansara Hotel
#5 of 93 in Vientiane
452 reviews
0.6 mi away
Ibis Vientiane Nam Phu Hotel
0.2 mi away
Vientiane Garden Hotel
Vientiane Garden Hotel
#18 of 93 in Vientiane
508 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beau Rivage Mekong Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beau Rivage Mekong Hotel

Property: Beau Rivage Mekong Hotel
Address: Fa Ngum Road | Ban Seetarn Neua, Vientiane 54120, Laos
Region: Laos > Vientiane Province > Vientiane
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Vientiane
#4 Business Hotel in Vientiane
#4 Romantic Hotel in Vientiane
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Beau Rivage Mekong Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Also Known As:
Beau Rivage Mekong Vientiane
Hotel Beau Rivage Mekong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing