We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“get what you pay for:cheap”
Review of Mixay Guesthouse

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Mixay Guesthouse
Ranked #77 of 93 Hotels in Vientiane
Reviewed 24 February 2012

This was the cheapest place in Vientiane that I found and I have been there about 10 times. Its very basic. If you dont get into town early its hard to get a room at all. You can come in after curfew.

Room Tip: rooms on the top floor are hot, as always
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Trav B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (212)
There are newer reviews for Mixay Guesthouse
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

134 - 140 of 212 reviews

Reviewed 23 February 2012

Our room was very basic. There was a bed and a fan but that was pretty much it… The bathroom was a tipical example of Loa construction, the shower was one side, the drain at the other side but we could see the humour of it. But what bothered us most was the staff. There weren’t helpfull or friendly at all. So when we were looking for some information about transfers they just sort of ignored us. They just want your money… We aren’t spoiled travelers, we stayed in a lot of hostals in Laos in the same price catagory and they were much better than Mixay Guesthouse. So, We definitely don’t recommend this guesthouse. There are a lot of alternatives so pick one of those…

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Martijn32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2012

I paid 50,000 a night for a dorm room on the roof level. There were 4 flights of stairs and a shared bathroom. Despite the non-luxuries, the location of the guesthouse was 20 seconds from the river and right in the centre in the midst of the action. The staff were very helpful and the wifi in the foyer made for a good social setting. I was hoping for a cheaper price by staying in a dorm but in the end I was pleased.

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JaimeTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2012

We asked the staff who have visa-service to arrange Cambodiavisas for us. On return it turned out they took 15 US dollar per person for the service. That is too much for such an easy service.
Making money too easily seems to be their tendency.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Thank robin k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2012

I had a bed in a 3-bed mixed dorm. Basic but comfortable with 3 individual ceiling fans. Bathroom facilities shared with whole floor but I never at any point had to wait for a toilet or shower. The location is great and there's some good cafes and restaurants nearby. The staff were really cheerful and helpful. Overall, great value for money.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pagatha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2012

Another example of a hotel that gets a good review then decides it doesn't have to do any work from then on. We had a water heater in our room that they didn't fix even though we asked several times. Had to use the shower in the hall but of course there is no discount for the having a shower in my room (even if it doesn't work). We also wanted to get our money back for a breakfast coupon after we saw the pitiful excuse for breakfast, "no refund!".
I recommend moving on to another guest house that really cares still, these guys don't!

Room Tip: Try the shower before committing. Don't get the breakfast.
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank katherine_b20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2012

Room was a nice size and fairly clean although the trash hadn't been emptied in the bathroom and the drain was clogged. Not a big issue as it's not a four star place!

Staff were friendly enough and helpful, we asked for directions and booked tickets with them.

Wifi is not the best but you can get it around town easily enough.

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank annarpo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vientiane hotels
0.0 mi away
Douang Deuane Hotel
Douang Deuane Hotel
#34 of 93 in Vientiane
120 reviews
0.3 mi away
Avalon Hotel
Avalon Hotel
#39 of 93 in Vientiane
170 reviews
0.1 mi away
Phasouk Residence
Phasouk Residence
#33 of 93 in Vientiane
119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Vayakorn Inn
Vayakorn Inn
#27 of 93 in Vientiane
163 reviews
0.1 mi away
New Lao Silk Hotel
New Lao Silk Hotel
#41 of 93 in Vientiane
105 reviews
0.3 mi away
New Lao Paris Hotel
New Lao Paris Hotel
#53 of 93 in Vientiane
103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mixay Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mixay Guesthouse

Address: Unit 506 Norkeokumman Road, Mixay village, Chanthabouly district, Vientiane 0100, Laos
Region: Laos > Vientiane Prefecture > Vientiane
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #77 of 93 Hotels in Vientiane
Price Range: £7 - £9 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Mixay Guesthouse 2*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Mixay Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mixay Guesthouse Hotel Vientiane

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing