We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great place to stay in Vientiane”
Review of Mixay Guesthouse

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Mixay Guesthouse
Ranked #76 of 93 Hotels in Vientiane
Kota Kinabalu, Malaysia
Level 6 Contributor
155 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
“A great place to stay in Vientiane”
Reviewed 27 August 2013

Compared to the other two hotels we stayed for five nights, this hotel stood out as the best. Of course there are probably many better ones out there. The room is equipped with drinking water, clean bed sheets, and clean towels. We paid for the room with breakfast served.

Breakfast is simple. Either a choice of fried rice or toast and egg. For the price we paid, it was a fair deal though. The hotel offers airport transfer service for 17,000kip for 3 persons. We believe it is a fair rate.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bambooKK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

211 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    20
    57
    70
    35
    29
See reviews for
7
69
67
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Vang Vieng, null, Laos
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2013 via mobile

Fair price on rooms fresh towels and drinking water everyday. Wifi ok, bathrooms cleaned regularly. Close to riverside and night market. Would stay again although not a lot to do in Vientiane besides visa runs from Thailand.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alistair C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2013

We arrived early and at 12 were given the key to check in but the room hadn't been made up so we had to wait a bit longer. The bathroom was really bad - the sink nearly collapsed on me so if you stay check the bathroom so you are safe! The free water is a nice touch.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank KiWi27_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tromso, Norway
Level 6 Contributor
119 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2013

The rooms are not really clean, it's noisy and the staff is quite indifferent. The shared bathrooms were disgusting. For the same price, you can find much better in the area. It's quite overpriced for the value. We only stayed one night and that was enough for us.

Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank AFreviews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Vientiane hotels

Chiang Mai, Thailand
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2013 via mobile

This place is worth staying in for the soft beds alone. After sleeping on springy and hard mattresses all over SE Asia, these beds were amazing. It was mostly clean, the staff were helpful and the wifi worked most of the time. It was 35,000 for a dorm bed, much more if you want a private en suite room. Near some good bakeries, the river and night market.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AjarnHayley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamburg, Germany
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2013

The rooms are quite spacious and the prices were ok. It was very clean and the mattresses were comfy. They also had good wifi. Breakfast is lousy. You get two pieces of untoasted toast and a tea bag or coffee powder When I treid to get some tea, the water was cold, but I didnt want to wait half an hour. There are nice breakfast options in town, so it didnt really matter.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hamburgunterwegs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2013 via mobile

Not enough bathroom / toilet como's so waited 30 mins one morning for a shower. Seemed over priced. The daily water provided is boiling hot as its left in the hot rooms. You get two slices of bread in the morning which isn't worth it. The service wasn't great. You could find better.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ENWO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vientiane hotels
0.0 mi away
Douang Deuane Hotel
Douang Deuane Hotel
#35 of 93 in Vientiane
120 reviews
0.1 mi away
New Lao Silk Hotel
New Lao Silk Hotel
#39 of 93 in Vientiane
102 reviews
0.3 mi away
Avalon Hotel
Avalon Hotel
#38 of 93 in Vientiane
169 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
New Lao Paris Hotel
New Lao Paris Hotel
#52 of 93 in Vientiane
102 reviews
0.1 mi away
Phasouk Residence
Phasouk Residence
#31 of 93 in Vientiane
119 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sengphachanh Hotel 2
Sengphachanh Hotel 2
#75 of 93 in Vientiane
4 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mixay Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mixay Guesthouse

Property: Mixay Guesthouse
Address: Unit 506 Norkeokumman Road, Mixay village, Chanthabouly district, Vientiane 0100, Laos
Region: Laos > Vientiane Province > Vientiane
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #76 of 93 Hotels in Vientiane
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Mixay Guesthouse 2*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Mixay Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mixay Guesthouse Hotel Vientiane

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing