We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Could Be Better”
Review of Mixay Guesthouse

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Mixay Guesthouse
Ranked #79 of 95 Hotels in Vientiane
Reviewed 1 November 2013

One of our biggest beefs with this guesthouse was that there was wifi signal in the rooms but they only gave out the password for the one in the lobby. When it was busy there was nowhere to sit. Also when we checked in there was dirty toilet paper in the bin from the last guests. could find better for the price or 10K more. The location was good.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LJ_Can
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (218)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

93 - 99 of 218 reviews

Reviewed 27 September 2013

In all honesty, this isn't an awful place to stay. In fact it would have probably been one of the best places we've stayed in on our travels except for the timing.
Good stuff:
Very clean bathrooms
Western toilets
Very comfortable beds (best we've slept in)
Incredibly friendly staff
Nice touch with free coffee & water every day
Laos is expensive but the dorm rooms didn't break our budget
Bad staff:
Whilst we were there they had building work on. They told us about it on the first day saying it would finish at 5 pm. It finished at 6:30pm and then started up again the next day... And the next day. It's great they are improving the place but a discount due to the noise would have been appreciated. The wifi wasn't working on the last day nor the next morning either... Backpackers are usually looking for that when they stay somewhere... Again no compensation.

Id recommend but we were let down a little by the above.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Megan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2013

Very impressed by the cost and the extras in Mixay. It was wonderful to be given free coffee every morning and a free bottle of water, its just a small touch but its a money saver. (35000 kip per person for dorm room)

Cheap dorms and shared rooms, Western toilets, cheapish laundrey, friendly staff. The only thing that may restrict you is that the door closes at 11.30pm/midnightish with no way to get back in after that but this is the same as a lot of places in Laos. Worth staying if you are on a budget!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jamie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2013

nice staff, nice room, shared bathroom but it's clean. 10 000 kip/kg for laundry.
free 1 water bottle, cup of coffee or tea per day. You can rent a motorbike at the GH with 70 000 kip/day, quality of motorbike is quite good.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HuynhTrinh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2013

Compared to the other two hotels we stayed for five nights, this hotel stood out as the best. Of course there are probably many better ones out there. The room is equipped with drinking water, clean bed sheets, and clean towels. We paid for the room with breakfast served.

Breakfast is simple. Either a choice of fried rice or toast and egg. For the price we paid, it was a fair deal though. The hotel offers airport transfer service for 17,000kip for 3 persons. We believe it is a fair rate.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bambooKK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2013 via mobile

Fair price on rooms fresh towels and drinking water everyday. Wifi ok, bathrooms cleaned regularly. Close to riverside and night market. Would stay again although not a lot to do in Vientiane besides visa runs from Thailand.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Alistair C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2013

We arrived early and at 12 were given the key to check in but the room hadn't been made up so we had to wait a bit longer. The bathroom was really bad - the sink nearly collapsed on me so if you stay check the bathroom so you are safe! The free water is a nice touch.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank KiWi27_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vientiane hotels
0.3 mi away
New Lao Paris Hotel
New Lao Paris Hotel
#53 of 95 in Vientiane
106 reviews
0 mi away
Sengphachanh Hotel 2
Sengphachanh Hotel 2
#77 of 95 in Vientiane
4 reviews
0.4 mi away
New Usouk Boutique Hotel
New Usouk Boutique Hotel
#17 of 95 in Vientiane
65 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Avalon Hotel
Avalon Hotel
#46 of 95 in Vientiane
171 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sinnakhone Hotel
Sinnakhone Hotel
#32 of 95 in Vientiane
96 reviews
0.1 mi away
New Lao Silk Hotel
New Lao Silk Hotel
#47 of 95 in Vientiane
108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mixay Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mixay Guesthouse

Address: Unit 506 Norkeokumman Road, Mixay village, Chanthabouly district, Vientiane 0100, Laos
Region: Laos > Vientiane Prefecture > Vientiane
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #79 of 95 Hotels in Vientiane
Price Range: £7 - £9 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Mixay Guesthouse 2*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and Expedia so you can book your Mixay Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mixay Guesthouse Hotel Vientiane

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing