We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great hostel for backpacker scene” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mixay Guesthouse

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Mixay Guesthouse
Ranked #79 of 97 Hotels in Vientiane
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
23 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great hostel for backpacker scene”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2014 via mobile

Backpacker scene here is in full force... Small but clean rooms, basic hostel style, not too modern, not overly clean, but has a great communal vibe. Don't rent motorbikes from them, not in great condition. Helpful staff!

Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank JGoldy145
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

204 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    20
    54
    69
    34
    27
See reviews for
7
65
67
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Kathmandu, Nepal
Level Contributor
30 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2014

The place is very popular. Specially by very young people. So if you have the need to make new connections i may recommend this place. Location is very central. But i think the main point to say is that you get simply BETTER for the same money, in town !
The rooms are clean, but rather very small and basic.
It's certainly not the quietest place to find a sleep!
It's a place to try out for 24 hrs before moving on to a better one...

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Claude R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 May 2014

I arrived in Vientiane without having a pre-booked room so I set out in the midday heat to find a room. I first stopped at a popular hostel to checkout their prices but they were a bit exorbitant and I wasn't going to stay in a 16 bed room. Just as I was about to give up on looking for places I stumbled into Mixay. My options for that night were a single fan room with shared bathrooms or a 4 bed dorm room with Aircon. I went for the dorm room and it was a really good option for 40,000 kip a night. The room was clean and aircon was definitely needed in VTE. The staff was really helpful and provided a free bottle of water each day. My complaints about Mixay are that they turn off the water at midnight and the lock for room 305 is barely functional.

Room Tip: Get a room with aircon or you might faint
See more room tips
Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
2 Thank charbabyz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2014 via mobile

The rooms are not the type at you would want to spend all day in, but they are clean and well ventilated. The bathrooms are also clean. Everything is rather basic and compact. It wasn't my favourite place, and the staff diet leave any lasting impression, good or bad. It's not offensive, and it's in a good location.

Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank conniefsmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chiang Rai, Thailand
Level Contributor
56 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 December 2013

After three years, they still don't have WIFI throughout the hotel. I was able to get it in my room on the 2nd floor though by connecting in the lobby and then moving to my room. Paid only 220 baht for a 'single' room, though morning breakfast is no longer part of the 'package'. A bit more run down then my last visit and could do w a major 'spruce up'. Staff tries very hard to keep the place clean and comfortable. Outstanding value in a major city that is not so cheap anymore, Great location right across the street from the river.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank GVAN_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vang Vieng, Laos
Level Contributor
56 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 December 2013

I stayed here the first time I got to Vientiane. I was traveling with a friend and we shared a double room, which was a really good price. Rooms are very basic but clean, so are the showers and toilets. There is a small lobby and outside area where you can meet other backpackers. The staff are nice and helpful. Location is really good.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alex H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 November 2013

We stayed in a dorm, which to our surprise only comprised three beds so we really didn't have to sacrifice much privacy. The rooms are very simple but they do the job and the beds were INCREDIBLY COMFORTABLE!!! Other places in Laos we had beds that appeared to be trying to stab us to death so this was a wonderful change! The staff was warm and helpful, offering to help us call a good taxi company when it came time to go to the airport. Towels and floors in our room were cleaned daily, bathrooms appeared to be cleaned more than that (which amazed me as we have stayed in more expensive places in Laos that didn't provide such cleanliness).

A couple of minuscule beefs are that there is only one key for the three guests of the room, (while it is requested that guests leave the key at the front desk when they leave for the day, one of our roommates did not, locking us out...) And on a couple of occasions the staff gave us the wrong key, making me question the security of the place... and how many people they may have accidentally given our key to. But the intelligent traveller doesn't leave valuables in their room anyway, no? Another thing that was mildly bothersome was that the common area downstairs appeared to be occupied by locals (friends of the owner/staff perhaps?) for most of the day. It would have been nice to give priority for use of those spaces to those who are paying to stay there, but when you're in a city as interesting as Vientiane, it is a shame to spend too much time in your hostel anyway.

All in all a great clean hostel, perfect location, and excellent value for money!!

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the street, as many others have indoor windows, and always be sweet and kind...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kelcie Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vientiane hotels
0.3 mi away
New Lao Paris Hotel
New Lao Paris Hotel
#53 of 97 in Vientiane
3.0 of 5 bubbles 99 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sengphachanh Hotel 2
Sengphachanh Hotel 2
#63 of 97 in Vientiane
3.0 of 5 bubbles 3 reviews
0.0 mi away
Douang Deuane Hotel
Douang Deuane Hotel
#34 of 97 in Vientiane
3.5 of 5 bubbles 119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Lao Silk Hotel
Lao Silk Hotel
#43 of 97 in Vientiane
3.0 of 5 bubbles 96 reviews
0.3 mi away
Avalon Hotel
Avalon Hotel
#37 of 97 in Vientiane
3.5 of 5 bubbles 163 reviews
0.0 mi away
Riverside Palace Hotel
Riverside Palace Hotel
#23 of 97 in Vientiane
3.5 of 5 bubbles 182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mixay Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mixay Guesthouse

Property: Mixay Guesthouse
Address: Unit 506 Norkeokumman Road, Mixay village, Chanthabouly district, Vientiane 0100, Laos
Region: Laos > Vientiane Province > Vientiane
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #79 of 97 Hotels in Vientiane
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Mixay Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mixay Guesthouse Hotel Vientiane

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing