We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice, big rooms, friendly service, great location.”
Review of Seng Lao Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Vientiane
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Seng Lao Hotel
Ranked #50 of 93 Hotels in Vientiane
Reviewed 19 February 2013

We really enjoyed our stay here. The place is relaxing - very friendly staff, good internet connection, great location for the market on the river, cultural sites, local restaurants and onward travel outlets.
Clean, very comfortable bed and good deal if booked on the internet.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sean M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (14)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

6 - 12 of 14 reviews

Reviewed 22 January 2013

Seng Lao hotel offers budget accommodation in an excellent location. Just 5 minutes walk from the riverside evening market stalls and the popular Bor Pen Nyang bar, 2-3 minutes from the Taj Mahal Indian restaurant and a similar distance from Sam Lo bar. There is no lift! getting to the top (fourth) floor is a hike and would not be suitable for some visitors. Our room was large and very clean with refrigerator, air-con, cable TV but no coffee/tea making facility. Bathroom was equipped with a "western" toilet and had a heated shower that sprays out around the whole room, as also often found in lower cost hotels in Thailand. Staff are friendly and speak English well. Hotel was quiet at night and afforded a relaxing nights sleep. Will be returning again in a couple of months.

Room Tip: There is no lift, be aware that all rooms require guests to use stairs to all four floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank autohire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2012

I would definately recommend this place. The room was very clean, the receptionist spoke English well and had some great tips, and the location is quiet but still central. WiFi is available only in the lobby, but it is comfortable and quiet there. The bed was clean and comfortable.

Room Tip: If you don't mind the stair, rooms on the 4th floor are the most quiet ones.
See more room tips
Stayed: December 2012, travelled solo
Thank Kat C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2012

I did like Seng Lao, it was convenient to restaurants, shopping, nightlife, the river, etc. It was kind of what I expected at that budget level. Not an upscale, fancy place, just down to earth and you get what you pay for....even though the bathroom was bigger than mine at home. Aircon worked very well. The staff was very friendly and the owner is delightful. She speaks excellent English and helped me prepare for the New Year's celebrations! They also own the DVD shop next door. I was traveling for work, so used to a bit higher standard, but had a friend who stayed here and recommended it when I could not get in to my normal place because of the holiday. Not a snob, just not traveling on a budget. So, I was absolutely fine with the return for the money paid.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank mowgli415
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2011

The location of this hotel is central and is quite affordable. This newly built building is simple but looks neat. My room was simple, but clean and comfortable. It had air conditioning, a television, and nice beds. The bathroom is decent and has shower in it. The staff are charming and helpful. There are many restaurants in the vicinity of Seng Lao and so I tried a lot of them. They are good. My room was in the ground floor, so I had no problem of climbing stairs. But those who had rooms upstairs were grumbling about it as there were no stairs. I think this is the only demerit of this hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Evascarellee551
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2011

this is great hotel, nice room and clean

thank all

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank david_moir960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2008

The Seng Lao was just what we were looking for as we had decided to check out of the Lane Xang (see review). It was closer to the centre of things, in an interesting building (an ex-cinema) and had a board out the front saying "Opening Specials". It turns out it has been open nearly a year but the special price is still only US$23 a night for a room with a/c, cable TV, a decent shower and good beds.

The lady who runs the place (whose name I regret not getting) is very cheery and helpful and has excellent English. Our room was on the third floor and there is no lift or bellboy so it may not appeal to everyone but the room was clean and comfortable.

There's nothing else included - no breakfast, no phone etc but that doesn't matter. There's about 10 good places to eat within 100m of the front door and your mobile phone will work fine (at least if you're Australian).

  • Stayed: January 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank hzbloke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vientiane hotels
0.0 mi away
S Park Design Hotel
S Park Design Hotel
#1 of 93 in Vientiane
527 reviews
0.0 mi away
Salana Boutique Hotel
Salana Boutique Hotel
#2 of 93 in Vientiane
944 reviews
0.0 mi away
Chaleunehoung Hotel
Chaleunehoung Hotel
#104 of 202 in Vientiane
17 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Vientiane Garden Hotel
Vientiane Garden Hotel
#19 of 93 in Vientiane
516 reviews
0.0 mi away
Ibis Vientiane Nam Phu Hotel
0.0 mi away
Green Park Boutique Hotel
Green Park Boutique Hotel
#8 of 93 in Vientiane
490 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Seng Lao Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seng Lao Hotel

Address: 47/1 Unit 12 Chao Anou Road, Vientiane 0100, Laos
Region: Laos > Vientiane Prefecture > Vientiane
Hotel Style:
Ranked #50 of 93 Hotels in Vientiane
Number of rooms: 201

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing