We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“welcoming, friendly and helpful staff / nice, clean, spacious room”
Review of Seng Lao Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Vientiane
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Seng Lao Hotel
Ranked #49 of 93 Hotels in Vientiane
zürich
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“welcoming, friendly and helpful staff / nice, clean, spacious room”
Reviewed 11 March 2013

I spent 5 relaxing days in the Seng Lao Hotel and liked it a lot. My room was spacious, had a balcony and fridge and was cleaned daily. My room was facing the road and therefore a bit noisy. They also have deposit boxes down in the lobby, which I found very handy. The staff were very friendly and helpful. All in all a really nice hotel!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank faraway926
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

14 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1
    8
    5
    0
    0
See reviews for
2
4
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2013

We really enjoyed our stay here. The place is relaxing - very friendly staff, good internet connection, great location for the market on the river, cultural sites, local restaurants and onward travel outlets.
Clean, very comfortable bed and good deal if booked on the internet.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sean M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Khon Kaen
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 January 2013

Seng Lao hotel offers budget accommodation in an excellent location. Just 5 minutes walk from the riverside evening market stalls and the popular Bor Pen Nyang bar, 2-3 minutes from the Taj Mahal Indian restaurant and a similar distance from Sam Lo bar. There is no lift! getting to the top (fourth) floor is a hike and would not be suitable for some visitors. Our room was large and very clean with refrigerator, air-con, cable TV but no coffee/tea making facility. Bathroom was equipped with a "western" toilet and had a heated shower that sprays out around the whole room, as also often found in lower cost hotels in Thailand. Staff are friendly and speak English well. Hotel was quiet at night and afforded a relaxing nights sleep. Will be returning again in a couple of months.

Room Tip: There is no lift, be aware that all rooms require guests to use stairs to all four floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank autohire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hanoi
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 December 2012

I would definately recommend this place. The room was very clean, the receptionist spoke English well and had some great tips, and the location is quiet but still central. WiFi is available only in the lobby, but it is comfortable and quiet there. The bed was clean and comfortable.

Room Tip: If you don't mind the stair, rooms on the 4th floor are the most quiet ones.
See more room tips
Stayed December 2012, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank Kat C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2012

I did like Seng Lao, it was convenient to restaurants, shopping, nightlife, the river, etc. It was kind of what I expected at that budget level. Not an upscale, fancy place, just down to earth and you get what you pay for....even though the bathroom was bigger than mine at home. Aircon worked very well. The staff was very friendly and the owner is delightful. She speaks excellent English and helped me prepare for the New Year's celebrations! They also own the DVD shop next door. I was traveling for work, so used to a bit higher standard, but had a friend who stayed here and recommended it when I could not get in to my normal place because of the holiday. Not a snob, just not traveling on a budget. So, I was absolutely fine with the return for the money paid.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank mowgli415
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lille, France
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2011

The location of this hotel is central and is quite affordable. This newly built building is simple but looks neat. My room was simple, but clean and comfortable. It had air conditioning, a television, and nice beds. The bathroom is decent and has shower in it. The staff are charming and helpful. There are many restaurants in the vicinity of Seng Lao and so I tried a lot of them. They are good. My room was in the ground floor, so I had no problem of climbing stairs. But those who had rooms upstairs were grumbling about it as there were no stairs. I think this is the only demerit of this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Evascarellee551
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 January 2011

this is great hotel, nice room and clean

thank all

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank david_moir960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vientiane hotels
1.3 mi away
S Park Design Hotel
S Park Design Hotel
#1 of 93 in Vientiane
468 reviews
0.5 mi away
Salana Boutique Hotel
Salana Boutique Hotel
#2 of 93 in Vientiane
905 reviews
0.3 mi away
Vientiane Golden Sun Hotel
Vientiane Golden Sun Hotel
#3 of 93 in Vientiane
401 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Vientiane Garden Hotel
Vientiane Garden Hotel
#18 of 93 in Vientiane
502 reviews
0.5 mi away
Mali Namphu Hotel
Mali Namphu Hotel
#7 of 197 in Vientiane
270 reviews
0.6 mi away
Ibis Vientiane Nam Phu Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Seng Lao Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seng Lao Hotel

Property: Seng Lao Hotel
Address: 47/1 Unit 12 Chao Anou Road, Vientiane 0100, Laos
Region: Laos > Vientiane Province > Vientiane
Hotel Style:
Ranked #49 of 93 Hotels in Vientiane
Number of rooms: 201

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing