We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average Hotel”
Review of Mika Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Mika Hotel
Ranked #35 of 84 Ulaanbaatar B&B and Inns
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
194 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Average Hotel”
Reviewed 26 August 2013

The hotel is acceptable for the price that you pay. Bed was comfortable, wifi was good, hot water was available in the bathroom. The room floor, though, was apparently never vacuumed, and I could see strains of hair all over the place. No air-conditioning, so depended on outside air to cool down the room, which also let in the bugs. Breakfast was simple: bread, tea/coffee, eggs, sausages, porridge, etc. Dinner's availability depends on the cook. One evening the restaurant was closed because the cook was sick.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RLmEC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

16 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1
    5
    9
    1
    0
See reviews for
2
Couples
0
4
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
272 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2013

I stayed in three different rooms for 6 nights on two separate visits over a two week period in July, 2013. Seeing some complaints about the water temperature, I would assert that this largely depends on which room you get. Two of the three rooms had sufficient hot water while the other had none.

The best reason for selecting this hotel is its location and relatively low price. Just a short walk to Peace Avenue, it's centrally located to many of the Ulaanbaatar's historic and notable sites. It's also very close to numerous decent restaurants, supermarkets, and shops.

Free Wi-Fi service was very good, which is a considerable bonus in Mongolia.

The breakfast is more than adequate. The ladies serving are exceptionally friendly and will fry eggs for you and bring other items that may not be on the buffet table.

Room Tip: Check to see if the room has hot water.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank moviegeekjn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami
Level Contributor
62 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2013

This hotel has seen its better days. Stayed here 5 nights on 3 occasions in 2 weeks. Water was Luke warm at best and only for 5 minutes. The staff are nice, breakfast is boring, but the wireless is good, as it works in your room. There are probably so many better options now wit so many new hotels for you to stay at. Good location, near the square, and not noisy!

Room Tip: Get room on shady side of hotel, room 304 is good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank maltravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2012

5 min walk to peace avenue, great front desk service here, good rooms here, didn't see a lift but stairs pretty easy, simple clean breakfast, we thought this was a pretty good deal in a city of full and overpriced hotels. Free wireless in rooms and a free razor to shave away your trekking ruggedness. Bbc/50 odd channels tv, fridge, coffee in rooms, fan but no air con in ours but it was hot outside and we still didn't need it.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Conksy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gold Coast
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2012

Arriving at the Mika Hotel after a long flight we were met by smiling, very helpful staff, especially the reception staff. Our rooms were clean comfortable and nice and quiet. $50 per night including a great, hot breakfast was very good value compared to the other hotels. Excellent location and close to everything. Nothing was a problem for the entire staff and as we were also travelling with a 2 year old, we were made feel very comfortable and always little extras were done to make our stay one to remember. We will be returning to Ulaanbaatar next year and definitely staying at the Mika!

Room Tip: Room 204 is a great room, plenty of space and a groovy shower/bath!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank elvispresley_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 November 2011

I stayed in this hotel for three nights.
The problem with hotels in Ulaanbaatar in general is that they are very expensive considering the average salary in mongolia. Still I found Mika Hotel to be reasonably priced- 50$ for a twin room, all single room (for the same price) were occupied during my stay there.
The food at the restaurant was reasonable as well, and the hotel is conveniently located in central Ulaanbaatar (within short walking distance to Peace Avenue).
The only problem I could detect was that the free wired internet was rather patchy at times.
Wirelees internet (also free) was only available in the lobby.
I must also mention Gana the receptionist, who was especially helpful with taxis, directions etc.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nenta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level Contributor
80 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 158 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2010

I arrived at the hotel at 7am, my deluxe room was not ready. Girl at the front desk gave give a regular room to take shower and rest, also asked to me have free breakfast.
At 10am, my deluxe room was ready. It is very spacious, clean, well heated.

Free breakfast was adequate.
Hotel has four floors, no lift. Bellhop will carry your luggage.
About 10 minutes walking distance to Sukhbataar square. Hotel is located behind the Japanese embassy, directly in front of Czech embassy. Staffs were quite helpful. On the last day, they kept my luggage till 10pm for free.

I found the UB hotels are overpriced for the facility and service they provide. Mika hotel was reasonable; they gave me USD10 discount, so I paid USD50/night for deluxe room, single occupancy with free breakfast.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank zux123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ulaanbaatar hotels
0.0 mi away
Kempinski Hotel Khan Palace
Kempinski Hotel Khan Palace
#1 of 59 in Ulaanbaatar
474 reviews
0.0 mi away
Chandmani Hotel & Tour
Chandmani Hotel & Tour
#12 of 84 in Ulaanbaatar
1 reviews
0.0 mi away
Steppe Nomads Eco Camp
Steppe Nomads Eco Camp
#7 of 96 in Ulaanbaatar
76 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel, Ulaanbaatar
Shangri-La Hotel, Ulaanbaatar
#2 of 59 in Ulaanbaatar
224 reviews
0.0 mi away
Blue Sky Hotel & Tower
Blue Sky Hotel & Tower
#5 of 59 in Ulaanbaatar
291 reviews
0.0 mi away
Best Western Premier Tuushin Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mika Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mika Hotel

Property: Mika Hotel
Address: Foreign Embassy's St | 1st khoroo Sukhbaatar District, Ulaanbaatar 11000, Mongolia
Region: Mongolia > Ulaanbaatar
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 84 B&Bs / Inns in Ulaanbaatar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Mika Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Property Location With a stay at Mika Hotel in the heart of the city, you'll be centrally located in Ulaanbaatar City, walking distance from Peace avenue. This family-friendly hotel is within close proximity of the government building and located on the foreign embassy street. Rooms Make yourself at home in one of the 17 rooms featuring refrigerators with mini bars. Complimentary wireless Internet access keeps you connected, and cable programming is available for your entertainment. Bathrooms have complimentary toiletries. Conveniences include desks and irons/ironing boards, and housekeeping is provided daily. Rec, Spa, Premium Amenities Be sure to enjoy recreational amenities, including a seasonal outdoor pub. Dining For your convenience, a complimentary breakfast is served daily. Business, Other Amenities Featured amenities include a 24-hour front desk, a safe deposit box at the front desk. Free self parking is available onsite. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Mika Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing