We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just the job”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Mongolian Steppe Guest House
Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Just the job”
Reviewed 19 June 2014

Location couldn't be better : central and near the State Department Store.
The owner is extremely helpful and concerned and always available by phone when not actually there.
Nice to have access to fridge, kitchen and good wifi.
Access to the shower wasn't a problem when I was there - and the guesthouse was full throughout my stay. People tend to stagger what time they have their showers.
Nice, friendly atmosphere.
Thoroughly recommended and will be my first choice if I go back to Ulaan Bataar.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TashCheung
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    8
    14
    1
    1
    2
See reviews for
2
8
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Woodcliff Lake, New Jersey
Level Contributor
109 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2014 via mobile

If you are looking for an inexpensive, clean place, with helpful staff, this is a good place to stay.

The woman who runs the guesthouse is super helpful and fluent in English. She did an amazing job arranging reliable transportation for us.

The hotel is clean and located a block from the state department store. There are numerous restaurants right around the corner.

I did not like Ulanbatar, and I'm not sure who does? We stayed there while waiting for a flight to Outer Mongolia.

On the downside, our room was located on the third floor with no elevator. But on the positive side, it was clean, we had wifi a small kitchen and entry of hot water.

If you decide to visit Ulanbatar, or if you're passing through, I highly recommend this place.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jon G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2014

so, first off, i'll admit i didn't have the greatest impression of this hostel for a while. i hadn't taken down all of the information online on how to get to the hostel, and eiggy hadn't responded to my email on how to get from the train station to the hostel (in my opinion now, just walk, seriously), so i ended up spending an hour wandering around, taking various buses and still having no clue where i was or where the hostel was. this was mostly my own fault, as the hostel has plenty of good instructions online. but when i got there eiggy wasn't there (as often happens) and i couldn't find the phone in the hostel to call her and basically really didn't want to like the place at all.

but, in the end, my opinion changed. the location really is quite nice, and eiggy is very easily accessible by phone. she speaks english very well and isn't pushy in the least. if she's not around, there are currently 2 longstay guests who can help you get into the guesthouse and find stuff to do around the city: dave has been in UB for years, and knows all of the restaurants and bars.

took a trip through eiggy for 4d/3n into the countryside, which was laid back with an awesome non-english-speaking driver which was a total experience. it was a little expensive, but i split some of the costs with another person in the hostel and it's really hard to get out into the countryside without paying a few hundred USD for a driver and jeep. then i went to terelj, where she helped me take a bus (instead of pushing the tour she offered) and called ahead to book a fantastic homestay which was the highlight of my trip.

in terms of the actual hostel, the apartment that i stayed in (there are 2, and i didn't see the other one) was small but serviceable. was frustrating that the dorm room is the main room when a guy came by looking for a room at 5am (ugh), but otherwise fine. bring earplugs or an eyemask if you're a sensitive sleeper. bathroom is split into 2 half-baths, though i wish the one with the toilet had a mirror as well. plenty of hot water. room was almost too warm, which was great. kitchen had all the necessary equipment. beds are comfortable and equipped with lights and plugs (always awesome). the tv and rows of movies went unused by me, but are a nice touch - unfortunately, since there isn't a common room, using the tv means everyone in the hostel gets to watch with you.

all in all, great for the price, and eiggy is awesome.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lindsey B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco
Level Contributor
436 reviews
132 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 432 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2013

Ulaanbaatar is hell. "Minegolia" is a country where you come to spend quite a bit of money to experience how life was BEFORE and immediately after industrial revolution. We spent two nights in UB at the beginning of our trip and after getting sick and tired of our crook driver we had to return from our all over Mongolia driving travel 5 days before we originally intended to. Both times we rented an apartment from Mongolian Steppe Guest House which is basically run by this beautiful and energetic and honest young woman named Eiggy. I can not say enough positive things about Eiggy. She is simply amazing. We got picked up at the airport by a nice driver and after two hours of driving to travel a few km from the airport to MSGH we realized that we have no Mongolian money because all the banks were closed at the airport. Eiggy told the driver over phone to give us some money so that we can eat dinner. She advised us not to take a translator with us which saved us quite a bit of money. Instead she had given a cell phone where to call her was free. I called her from all sorts of places and she had solved our problem every single time. Both apartments were relatively clean, everything worked including internet although at extremely slow speed where you can not really use it for anything but to send and receive e-mails. These apartments are in a Soviet block apartment building where via the air ducts come all sorts of particles and odor specially tobacco smoke. Nothing can be done. UB is the only place in the word where Toto toilets can not work because the plumbing does not work. I have asthma. Going out in UB was hazardous for me and my husband started getting sick with the air pollution as well. Staying in the apartment was equally difficult but you really can not do any better than this in UB. The cost is $50 a night. For UB it is a good deal. The location is perfect, being next to the State Department Store.

Here comes the ALERT!!!!! If you rent a car and a driver from anyone in UB, do NOT give any advance money to purchase gasoline. On the first day of your travel, go to the gas station and pay for filling up both tanks of the car and go from there on. Outside UB gasoline is not that expensive at all. Do NOT believe what the UB people tell you. It is also readily available EVERYWHERE in the country. We paid $400 to this crook named Aalga who has a Russian Van (i.e. old Russian emergency vehicle). This car can not hold $400 worth of gasoline in any shape or form. Aalga basically stole $400 from us. This kind of cars take 12 liters for every 100 km of travel, and he told Eiggy and us that it takes 20 lit for 100 km. You can Google the car you are renting and get all the data before paying any money for renting any car from anyone. Also, do not pay any advance for driver's food. Pay as you go. Be smart. UB is filled with people who are simply drunk with new money.

Once again, we were very happy with the guest house apartments and specially Eiggy.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Purobi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2013 via mobile

Tha place is conveniently located almost in front of the state department store. The owner does speak english fluently so she can handle all your inquiries and help you to organize trips. The rooms are OK, not the fanciest or biggest rooms I've been but enough for a quiet stay. The appartment has kitchen so you can cook if you want. They also have a safe room to store your luggage.

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Gabriel C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sainte Agathe des Monts, Canada
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2013 via mobile

I am writing this review from a restaurant in UU. It is now 22:00hrs and we just managed to find a place to sleep.

We showed up at this guesthouse, the room we had booked online and paid for was rented. We talked to the lady owner and she sent us to a friends guesthouse...which was full too. We were told "sorry" and got left on the street....

If it wasnt from the beer in front of me, I would be very very mad!!!!

My advice, dont encourage behaviour like that, stay somewhere else!!!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mathieu a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santiago, Chile
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2013

We had a fantastic 9 day tour around central Mongolia with Nansa and Otggo, our guru. Nansa cooked delicious meals dorung the entire tour, and Otggo proved to be the kind of the Mongolian roads.
We later stayed for a couple of nights in the hostel, which gives you very good value for the rooms and location... and free breakfast!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JacintaVela
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ulaanbaatar hotels
0.1 mi away
Golden Gobi Hostel
Golden Gobi Hostel
#3 of 96 in Ulaanbaatar
309 reviews
0.5 mi away
Sunpath Hostel
Sunpath Hostel
#2 of 96 in Ulaanbaatar
156 reviews
0.2 mi away
UB guesthouse
UB guesthouse
#8 of 96 in Ulaanbaatar
100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Modern Mongol Hostel
Modern Mongol Hostel
#5 of 96 in Ulaanbaatar
36 reviews
0.6 mi away
Town Yard Hostel and Tours
Town Yard Hostel and Tours
#21 of 96 in Ulaanbaatar
5 reviews
0.1 mi away
Legend Hills Guest House
Legend Hills Guest House
#33 of 84 in Ulaanbaatar
4 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mongolian Steppe Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mongolian Steppe Guest House

Property: Mongolian Steppe Guest House
Address: 41, Bld#2, Behind the State Department Store | Chingeltei district, Ulaanbaatar 976, Mongolia
Region: Mongolia > Ulaanbaatar
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 96 Speciality Lodging in Ulaanbaatar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Entire apartments and guesthouse at the center of the town with wifi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo, HostelWorld and Priceline so you can book your Mongolian Steppe Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing