We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Sun-drenched retreat ideal for over-landers” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Oasis Cafe & Guesthouse

Oasis Cafe & Guesthouse
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ulaanbaatar
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Oasis Cafe & Guesthouse
Ranked #15 of 75 Ulaanbaatar B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Sun-drenched retreat ideal for over-landers”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2013 via mobile

Friendly place to stay for over-landers needing a rest/repairs. Ownership has just changed from Austrian/German couple to Mongolian; service remains trilingual and excellent. Lovely sun-drenched cafe and outdoor tables in garden for chilling and catching up on news from home. Internet currently free as new owners feel they shouldn't charge for occasionally slow connection (eg uploading photos can be painful).
Location is a 30-min drive to centre if traffic gods smile upon you; bus a bit longer. No real need to go to centre except for sight-seeing as car-wash/repair workshops are local and gigantic, all-encompassing Black (Central) Market is just up the road (I recommend you walk as traffic and parking are a nightmare). I thoroughly recommend this guest-house. Staff friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pistonpegs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    15
    10
    3
    1
    1
See reviews for
3
12
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2013

Oasis guesthouse was just what I needed after a gruelling 2 month motorbike ride to Mongolia. Sibylle is a fantastic host and there is a great atmosphere. The guests tend to be motorbikers or in 4x4's and there is always a good conversation to be had or advice on great places to visit or pitfalls to avoid. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank TomBowden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 October 2012

After a really slow traffic clogged journey to the guesthouse we arrived late at this very cool place. We helped ourselves to food and drink from the cafe [you tally up what you have taken and pay later] and retired to our cold but perfectly functional Ger.

Sibylle- the owner - was very friendly. She speaks good english and helped us organise a trip to national park. Thanks Sibylle, it was a great experience.

What impressed us most about the cafe was that it was clearly embedded into the local community - which to be frank can feel slightly hostile at first to a foreigner. There is a scheme set up to allow local people to make use of the guesthouse shower facilities and laundry. There also seems to be an intention to involve wider community with tourist opportunities.

The whole set up felt like more than just a soulless business opportunity, but somewhere that is pleasant spend time. It is organised, well ran and clean. There was a very friendly and relaxed atmosphere.

I strongly recommend this accommodation.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank northernsole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2012

Oasis Guesthouse was the best place we stayed at. Recommended by another hotel, as a cheaper alternative, it was more than this. Sybille could not have done more to help us out, far beyond the requirements of her role, and this appeared to be a common occurrence when speaking to other guests. I can believe that 'if" you had any problems she would do all she could to resolve them, if she were told about them.

Oasis has great facilities of, hot showers, washing service, cafe (providing all the food you have been craving for), hairdressers, the ability to do vehicle maintenance but also a local garage next door (with English speaker). It offers far more than a hotel could, including a great social environment, and to top it off was well priced to.

Many people hear about the place through word of mouth, which is probably why there aren't many comments on tripadvisor. Oasis Guesthouse has actually got 2 visitors books full of wonderful comments about the place and staff. Like many others our intended stay of a few days turned into a week. You would be crazy not to stay here if you could.

Room Tip: The Gers are great for group or you are happy to share with others. I didn't see the rooms but t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Adey S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 October 2012

After crossing Mongolia from west to east we dropped in for one night and ended up staying three. Clean, great hot showers, great food (go for the cheesecake), but most of all a friendly social atmosphere that made it easy to instantly make friends. Favoured by overlanders for a reason, even if you're not you will meet all kinds of interesting travellers (not tourists). Having driven from London, I can honestly say this was one of our favourite locations on the trip.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank xordium
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
groningen
Level Contributor
72 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 September 2012

After three weeks driving in Mongolia and hardly meeting someone who speaks English, Oasis was quite a relief. Owners and staff are friendly and speak German and English. You can park your car (truck, 4x4) if you are lucky because there is not much space. They rent about 6 gers which can be shared by 4 people. We wanted a ger for ourselves and paid 68.000 Tugrik per night. A bit expansive because the gers are not well-maintained. The pipe of the stove in our ger was so rusted that we could not use the stove because of the smoke, although the weather (cold and rainy) asked for it. Because the cover of the ger wasn’t in a good condition it was leaking, the floor was partly wet, we had to shove the beds to a dry place. But still it’s a great place to meet people from all over the world, share experiences and frustration about the infrastructure in Mongolia (very bad roads), exchange useful information, do some repairs etc.

The facilities are good. There are about four showers (free for guests) that can be used by people from the local community too (not free), so sometimes you have to wait. Laundry service (pay by the load) and a hairdresser are available. Wi-fi is not for free: 10.000 Tugrik (very expansive when you are only a few days here). You can take cakes, drinks etc. from the refrigerator in the café/restaurant, order food and drinks from the restaurant, note it down on a list and pay everything when you leave. The prices however are more European than Mongolian. A basic breakfast is included in the price. You have to make it yourself but the advantage is that they put everything down at night so when leaving early you still can have your breakfast. I liked it that the restaurant and the toilet area are lighted during the night.

Oasis is about 3 km. outside the centre. Nearby is a busstop, line 14 and 27 go to the central square. Also nearby is a good supermarket with an ATM. Next door is a small garage, the owners speak English and are very helpful and so are owners and staff of Oasis. They can help you with a lot of useful information, and because they speak Mongolian they can make telephone calls for you if necessary.

Room Tip: In the guesthouse are also rooms for rent but I did'nt see them so I cannot give information. As...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank friezin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2012

The Oasis Cafe & Guesthouse was a great find in Ulaanbaatar. It provides an interesting mix of rooms and gers, as well as ample space for parking. The owner Sybille is extremely helpful and went beyond the call of duty for us on our first night; she re opened the kitchen for us as we arrived late and hungry! The food is great, and the cafe atmosphere is warm and friendly. We met many overland travellers from all parts of the world which made a sociable atmosphere. The showers and bathrooms were clean, and the clothes washing facilities and hairdresser were a good service to have after many days on the road. The staff and very helpful concerning all matters that arose. Definitely a place I would go back to!

Room Tip: Gers for an authentic experience!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ulaanbaatar hotels
1.8 mi away
Kempinski Hotel Khan Palace
Kempinski Hotel Khan Palace
#1 of 57 in Ulaanbaatar
4.5 of 5 bubbles 462 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sunjin Grand Hotel
Sunjin Grand Hotel
#32 of 57 in Ulaanbaatar
4.0 of 5 bubbles 13 reviews
3.0 mi away
New World Hotel
New World Hotel
#38 of 79 in Ulaanbaatar
3.5 of 5 bubbles 7 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel, Ulaanbaatar
Shangri-La Hotel, Ulaanbaatar
#2 of 57 in Ulaanbaatar
4.5 of 5 bubbles 204 reviews
4.2 mi away
Ramada Ulaanbaatar Citycenter
Ramada Ulaanbaatar Citycenter
#5 of 57 in Ulaanbaatar
4.0 of 5 bubbles 485 reviews
2.9 mi away
Blue Sky Hotel & Tower
Blue Sky Hotel & Tower
#4 of 57 in Ulaanbaatar
4.0 of 5 bubbles 278 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oasis Cafe & Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oasis Cafe & Guesthouse

Property: Oasis Cafe & Guesthouse
Address: | P.O.Box 528, Ulaanbaatar 210349 , Mongolia
Region: Mongolia > Ulaanbaatar
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 75 B&Bs / Inns in Ulaanbaatar
Number of rooms: 8

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing