We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Riding with the Mongol Hordes”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Steppe Nomads Eco Camp
Christmas Island, Australia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Riding with the Mongol Hordes”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2014

The gently sloped grassy plains of the Mongolian Steppes are just outside the warmth of the well heated gurr. Recommend this stop in Mongolia if travelling on the train. A chance to see the countryside, look for rare argali sheep by horseback or drift gently down the river on a raft. Friendly, helpful service and plenty of food (would have liked more Mongolian style but can't have everything). Stayed for 2 nights and left reluctantly. Good news - now hot water showers on demand. Thanks Tunga and crew for a delightful stay.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KazCI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    46
    17
    4
    4
    2
See reviews for
13
19
18
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Woolpit, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2014

We had one night here and hit a bit of a storm so experienced winter with snow. It looked fantastic, and the ger was certainly warm enough with the stove going. Staff were very nice as they all are in these places, happy to bring you tea and stoke your fire in the night if you want. The food was about average. My only criticisms were that the dining room had absolutely no heating and the showers were cold so we did without! Still a nice place. Part of a tour so hard to comment on the value.

Room Tip: None are ensuite so take your empty bottles and she wee girls!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank madamjackie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Petersburg, Florida
Level Contributor
112 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 September 2013

This ger camp was the highlight of our 35 day Trans Siberian trip! We booked independently through Selena Travel, with transfers included from UB. Most of the guests seem to arrive with a driver/guide and stayed a night or two, where as we stayed 4 nights . There was a book in each ger explaining all the activities and the associated costs, which was easy to set up through any staff member.

The camp was not very full which added to the peacefulness. On the whole, we found the food to be very good. We loved the presentations and the lovely salad dishes and we always had more than enough to eat. Breakfast wasn't very exciting, though we all loved the donut sticks they served, especially when we got a fresh, hot batch:)

My husband and I went on horseback rides for 2 of the days, which was so incredible! Between the scenery, the herds of goats/sheep & horses plus wildlife, it was memories to last a lifetime. Our friend who was traveling with us didn't ride, but spent time hiking around and enjoyed herself in general. We would have rented the raft to go down the river, but the raft was too large for only 3 people and there didn't appear to be anyone else to go with. Maybe the camp could organize a daily raft trip to bring 5-6 people together for this? It looked like it would have been fun and we were a bit disappointed with this.

The staff was very helpful and friendly although most could not speak English. It is true that you need to give a couple hours notice for a hot water shower, but this didn't seem to be a big deal. We just told them in the morning what time we wanted to shower and it was ready. The showers and toilet facilities were very clean. The staff asked us if we wanted a fire lit in the morning and evening each day. On the day of our Mongolian BBQ, we were asked whether we wanted to have it by the river or in the main dining room. We opted for the main dining room and they cooked it outdoors on a grill.

If you like wine, they have a decent selection. We particularly liked the Rosemont Australian wine and enjoyed sitting outside on the veranda while toasting the setting sun.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank born2go
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tutu2lo, Manager at Steppe Nomads Eco Camp, responded to this review, 2 October 2013
Thank you so much for your stay at Steppe Nomads and taking the time to share your feedback regarding your experience at our camp. We are sure that other guests will find your review helpful. We are looking forward to welcome you again.

Best regards,
Tunga
Camp manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phnom Penh
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 September 2013

My visit to Steppe Nomads on the grassy Mongolian steppes on the banks of the Kherlen River was a magical experience. And my timing impeccable as the Nomads Day Festival introduced us to an intimate opportunity to meet the local nomadic families, learn their traditions, be exposed to the dance and song of the steppes and share a toast with several of the elders. The other guests were such fun, the staff charming and attentive, the gers comfortable and cozy, the Mongolian delicacies and Western food was delicious and varied ... but it is the setting that is sublime. Close to Ulaanbaatar, this is one of those delightful places not to be missed.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank A F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tutu2lo, Manager at Steppe Nomads Eco Camp, responded to this review, 2 October 2013
Thank you so much for your stay and participation in the annual "Nomads` Day" Festival. I should admit that your helpful review is always great pleasure for us. We are looking forward to welcome you again in our Ger camp!

Best regards,
Tunga
Camp manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2013

My wife and I stayed at Steppe Nomads early August this year. We greatly enjoyed the friendly and helpful people looking after us. During daytime, we were busy with activities such as riding and walking along the Kherlian watching the birds. The family at the Park gate was particularly helpful. The lady did find us the Mountain Sheep's and provided us with our riding horses. On our first day they also invited us to a wedding of one of their friends.

We also did a YouTube on our Mongolian vacation that includes our Steppe Nomads experience. The video can be found under; http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=xdAL8IC3ie4

All in all, a memorable vacation.

Marco & Alice

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Marcolino888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tutu2lo, Manager at Steppe Nomads Eco Camp, responded to this review, 5 September 2013
Thank you so much for your stay and taking the time to share your review regarding your experience at our camp. Thanks again for your great video including Steppe Nomads! We are looking forward to welcome you again.

Best regards,
Tunga
Camp manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ulaanbaatar, Mongolia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2013

Stayed at Steppe Nomads on two occasions: the first one was a trip with a couple of friends for a combined mountain biking and rafting trip, and after being totally satisfied with our stay at the Steppe Nomads, we brought our colleagues for a weekend team building activity.

Steppe Nomads Camp is located in a perfect spot to experience the Mongolian steppe in Gun-Galuut Nature Reserve: isolated from the rest of the so called "tourist-camps" and in the middle of the wilderness. What makes this particular place special is: It is the perfect "get-away" spot if you want to be in an eco-friendly peaceful enviroment away from the noisy ger camps: it is the only ger camp 10s of kilometers away from any "tourist ger camps", great location between the Kherlen River and rolling hills of the steppe, very friendly and service oriented staff, tasty food prepared by the camp chef using local products.

Since we were doing mountain biking and rafting most of the day, the staff was very accommodating to prepare the dinner and lunch based on our activity schedule. We were well fed, and enjoyed the camp chef's fusion food menu. The chef and staff were very helpful when we wanted to do our own BBQ dinner. The staff is attentive and helpful. The toilet and washroom facilities were clean and kept spotless; hot-water is provided during certain hours. Gers provide basic but clean and comfortable accommodation. As for the activities: the place around the camp offers the perfect trails for mountain biking rides combined single tracks and dirt roads, you can rent bikes from the camp for short rides but if you are a serious mountain biker, you should bring your own bike as the bikes at the camp are basic entry level bikes. On our first trip we used their raft and kayaks- had great fun. On our second team building trip, we needed two more rafts and Steppe Nomads made the arrangements and provided us two more rafts and instructors which were brought from Ulanbaataar. They can also arrange horse riding trip with the local guide.

The bottom line is It is the right place and ger camp for people who want t have “get-way” place in an peaceful and beautiful steppe environment;

We will come back!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank RiderRocky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tutu2lo, Manager at Steppe Nomads Eco Camp, responded to this review, 1 September 2013
Thank you very much for your repeated visit and detailed review about our activities, location and services. We are sure that other guests will find your review helpful. We are looking forward to welcome you again in our Ger camp!

Best regards,
Tunga
Camp manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield
Level Contributor
154 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2013

We were pretty disappointed by our visit.
The positives. The staff were very helpful. They were friendly, and offered help whenever they could. They were happy to light a fire for our last night, a really special experience. The ger was large and clean. The bed was comfortable, although I'm not sure Disney bedsheets constitutes traditional Mongolian decor.
The camp itself felt like a out of season holiday camp. There were very few guests so it felt pretty lonely. The staff were often difficult to locate and there didn't seem to be very many of them - we had to hang around the bar / restaurant area until someone appeared.
The food was disappointing. The portions were small. We were offered no choice, apart from a very limited breakfast buffet. Food was served only from 8-9, 1-2 and 7-8, meaning your day had to be planned around limited food service. The food seemed largely Western. Men were served big portions than women - 7 dumplings for men, 5 for women, for example. Eggs featured a lot - egg salad, omelette, eggs and noodles. The only decent meal was the Mongolian BBQ, for which we paid extra, but even this wasn't served in the gazebo, by the river's edge, with the much anticipated bonfire party afterwards - it was a small grill outside the main restaurant. We were constantly hungry.
We were promised lots of freebies - free rental item for an online booking, free binoculars with bike hire - but wound up paying for everything. Bike hire was $16 a day but the bikes appeared to have had no maintenance. The gears didn't work correctly on either bike, and on one bike, the brakes also did not work. We spent most of our day pushing the bikes rather than riding.
We managed one shower - you had to ask for hot water hours before, and often the staff forgot, or the water was quickly used up.
The location is beautiful but the staff couldn't give us much guidance on where to walk or cycle so there's a limit to what you can do here. Perhaps in high season, with lots of guests, this is a better experience, but we wouldn't return.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fancyrats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tutu2lo, Manager at Steppe Nomads Eco Camp, responded to this review, 1 September 2013
Thanks a lot for your very detailed review on which you took your time to help us constantly improve our services. We are very sorry that your experience with Steppe Nomads camp was not that pleasant, we do apologize. We will serve you at our best next time and will serve you special complimentary BBQ at the Gazebo.

Best regards,
Tunga
Camp manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ulaanbaatar hotels
0.0 mi away
Kempinski Hotel Khan Palace
Kempinski Hotel Khan Palace
#1 of 57 in Ulaanbaatar
4.5 of 5 bubbles 467 reviews
0.0 mi away
Ramada Ulaanbaatar Citycenter
Ramada Ulaanbaatar Citycenter
#5 of 57 in Ulaanbaatar
4.0 of 5 bubbles 486 reviews
0.0 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel, Ulaanbaatar
Shangri-La Hotel, Ulaanbaatar
#2 of 57 in Ulaanbaatar
4.5 of 5 bubbles 213 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN Gobi's Kelso
BEST WESTERN Gobi's Kelso
#6 of 57 in Ulaanbaatar
4.5 of 5 bubbles 73 reviews
0.0 mi away
Springs Hotel
Springs Hotel
#8 of 57 in Ulaanbaatar
4.0 of 5 bubbles 86 reviews
0.0 mi away
HS Khaan Resort Hotel
HS Khaan Resort Hotel
#12 of 57 in Ulaanbaatar
4.5 of 5 bubbles 34 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Steppe Nomads Eco Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Steppe Nomads Eco Camp

Property: Steppe Nomads Eco Camp
Address: Gun-Galuut Nature Reserve, Ulaanbaatar 15160, Mongolia
Region: Mongolia > Ulaanbaatar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 82 Speciality Lodging in Ulaanbaatar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Steppe Nomads tourist camp is an exclusive eco tourist camp situated in the amazing Gun-Galuut Nature Reserve - just 2.5 hr drive from Ulaanbaatar. The scenery is simply spectacular with opportunities to enjoy many activities such as horseback riding, nomad family visiting, swimming, fishing, mountain biking and wildlife viewing. TOP GER CAMP 2011 MONGOLIA! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Steppe Nomads Eco Camp reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing