We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“service disappointing”

Altai Barbecue Restaurant
Ranked #119 of 296 Restaurants in Ulaanbaatar
Cuisines: Asian, Barbecue, Mongolian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“service disappointing”
Reviewed 8 October 2013

after a week in the wilderness we were looking forward to a good feed but were disappointed at having to wait 40mins whilst the chefs `cleaned ` the bbq grill and performed a terrible knife show where he dropped the juggling knives several times and then proceeded to use on our dinner!
Food was nice but way too long to wait to enjoy fully

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank decimababy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    11
    6
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Ulaanbaatar, Mongolia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Altai Mongolian Grill, Seoul Street, Ulaanbaatar, Mongolia”
Reviewed 29 July 2013

At MNT24,800.00 for the buffet, you get to have your Mongolian barbecue -- pick your fresh meat/vegetables/spices/sauces and have it stir-fried -- plus a selection of salads, hot soups -- I love the khorkhog -- rice, chicken dishes, buuz (dumpling), mutton and beef dishes, noodles, boortsog (fried bread), a selection of cakes/torte, ice cream and juice, well...you're set for the day.
You pay extra for any orders of beer, alcohol and soft drinks.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank 663Greca663
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Disliked”
Reviewed 25 June 2013

When we came there, it was a big fight: locals fight with each others, no one from their staff even tried to stop them, we sat there about 10 minutes then left, found another barbecue place little bit to the west on the same road (around 600m) with tasty food and cheap. Paid 16.000 Mongolian tukriks for buffet. The name is Mongolian BRBQ or something like that

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank GothicTim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darwin, Australia
Level Contributor
153 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“A must do in UB”
Reviewed 10 April 2013

Had a fantastic night here - the food is fresh - you select what you want and it gets cooked for you by the highly skilled staff.. watching them is a real treat! One thing we needed to monitor was how often the food containers were refilled - some people who went up missed out on many favourites but they were replenished next time. .
the night wasn't extremely busy when we were there - and it seems it is a popular place for birthdays -because there were 2 parties - complete with birthday cake and an English rendition of Happy Birthday - but that comes with lots of kids running around.
One thing to be mindful of - there was a chap (who appeared to be alcohol affected) trying to sell u paintings - he was whisked off by the staff and quite some time later as we were leaving there were a few ppl mulling around in the doorway and one person offered chewing gum to one of our group.. Lucky he is living there so more in tune than I would have been - and noticed as they dived in his coat pocket trying to steal phones/wallets. The only downside of UB I saw.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SDDarwin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
51 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“If here put it on your bucket list”
Reviewed 26 March 2013 via mobile

Really helpful staff. Great food. The in house Ger makes a great backdrop for photos. A family group of Mongolians were having a birthday party. Roman candle, lit, was carried in and they all sang Happy Birthday in English. Quaint.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Ozdreamer O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Altai Barbecue Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Altai Barbecue Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing