We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Service” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Monet Fine Dining

Monet Fine Dining
Ranked #12 of 288 Restaurants in Ulaanbaatar
Price range: US$20 - US$100
Cuisines: European, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Romantic, Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: We offer our guests with a definitive choice of dining options to savour whilst enjoying superlative views over the whole city and candid views into the busy kitchen and our impressive list of the finest wines of the world to complement your exquisite gourmet meal. We use premium Mongolian beef and lamb, Norwegian salmon and sea scallops direct from Korea, Australian prime beef steaks, Australian Wagyu beef, New Zealand lamb and green mussels from Australia. We are proudly promoting healthy eating in our menu choices of healthy options, vegetarian dishes and our healthy breads, pastries such as rye roll, whole-wheat roll, carrot and nuts roll, corn flour roll and all cakes are baked fresh every morning in our kitchen. Please inform your waiter or waitress if you have any food allergies. Bon Appetite!
Beijing, China
Level Contributor
28 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Excellent Service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 January 2013

In general the quality of food in UB is average and after so many visits you lower your expectations. The one thing I get annoyed off is bad service in the city. Monet in that sense is the place were I experienced service which was top notch and actually the food is good. I don't mind paying the prices as it comes with a decent service and I feel appreciated as a dining customer. The hotel staff at the Blue Sky should come to Monet and learn about what is called service!!! - I couldn't write another review about Blue Sky within 3 months -

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank sl00001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    29
    21
    7
    6
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
147 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Great views with a little luxury”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 January 2013

The Monet has an excellent "Business Lunch" menu which I, along with my friends, have taken advantage of many time and always thoroughly enjoyed the meals. The value for money has been excellent. Fantastic views of Ulaanbaatar. Evening meals are on the expensive side but the food has been good. Service is attentive.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank AustraliaMonty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waimea, Hawaii
Level Contributor
109 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Not Even The View”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2012

Went to Monet for a special event. The set menu read like one would expect for a high priced restaurant. Unfortunately there was a galactic gap between the actual food and written menu. I am not sure if it was expectations but the food was bad. Caprese salad was preset on the table, the fresh mozzarella died and went to cheese heaven. The grilled chicken while tender lacked any seasoning, sauce or skill in presentation, the beef entree sucked. A white wine sauce over the piece of shoe leather tough beef an assortment of half assed vegetables, what was the chef thinking!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
All together forget even coming here. The view through the finger print laden glass marvelous touch to an awful meal.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank foodie808
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ulaanbaatar, Mongolia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Come for the view”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 September 2012

I thought that this restaurant would be great because of the high prices, but I was very disappointed. The Australian beef was not of very good quality. I would have preferred Japanese or American beef. The view is great, as it is on the 17th floor of Central Tower building. I got a laugh when I read one reviewer call it the Louis Vuitton building. My recommendation would be to have drinks in the Sky Lounge on the 17th floor and then go to another restaurant. The same company that owns the Grand Khaan Irish Pub also owns Monet, which explains why they have the same complacent staff at both locations. Good French food is hard to find anywhere, and up to now impossible to find in Ulaanbaatar. My advice is to stick to Indian food or Italian food in this city.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank traveler_8888888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level Contributor
208 reviews
143 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
“Great for Mongolia”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 September 2012

The views are great. Service is very efficient. Menu is well thought out, and should have something for everyone. And the wine list is quite good. Portions are good (not too large which noody needs) and he food quality is first rate. Would this be 5 stars in Paris? No, but for Mongolia, it's a treat.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Greg799
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Monet Fine Dining also viewed

Ulaanbaatar, Mongolia
Ulaanbaatar, Mongolia
 
Ulaanbaatar, Mongolia
 
Ulaanbaatar, Mongolia
 

Been to Monet Fine Dining? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing