We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Chinggis Guesthouse
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
Kempinski Hotel Khan Palace(Ulaanbaatar)
US$188
US$169
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$347
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Narantuul Hotel(Ulaanbaatar)
US$104
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Springs Hotel(Ulaanbaatar)
US$95
US$90
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Nine(Ulaanbaatar)
US$88
US$85
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$127
US$98
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$168
US$161
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$79
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Guide Hotel(Ulaanbaatar)
US$72
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Voyage Hotel(Ulaanbaatar)(Great Value!)
US$55
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Reviews (14)
Filter reviews
14 results
Traveller rating
9
3
0
0
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
9
3
0
0
2
See what travellers are saying:
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 14 reviews
Reviewed 12 March 2013

The Chinggis Guesthouse is a great option for budget travellers based on it's very central location just behind the National Academic Drama Theatre. As per a previous comment, you really feel like you are a guest in a home rather than a customer in a sterile hotel. The family that run this guesthouse are very welcoming but not overbearing and all speak impeccable English. It is very clean and the WIFI works very well in all rooms. I would certainly stay here again!

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Moorowie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2011

We stumbled across Chinggis Guesthouse based on the positive comments of another traveller we met on the road, and although actually finding the place was very difficult - typical for these "apartment guesthouses" it seems - we were very glad we managed.

The guesthouse was our home during our nine wintery nights in Ulaanbaatar while we sorted out train tickets and a visa for Russia. It's run by the friendly "mum" Saikhnaa and her family (who live in an adjacent building, but often eat in the guesthouse in the evening) and in-house staff who keep the place spotless, warm and welcoming at all hours.

It feels rather like a home stay - in the most positive way - and we were lucky enough to join the family making dinner one evening, and went with them to a concert another night. These were not events put on for us, just things that the family were doing anyway and asked if we wanted to join them. I'm sure if we had have preferred not to participate it would have been OK too but we loved the chance to dip our toes into a bit of Mongolian city life.

The location is very central, once you find it, but it's rather tricky the first time! Better to book and arrange a pickup, not like us... There is a "bread and jam" breakfast included in the room rates and free tea and coffee at any time - small things but welcome. Our room was simple but comfortable and clean.

The only minor drawback to the place was that the wifi only works in the kitchen (where there is also a computer to use) so you can't sit in your room to use your laptop, if you have one. If the kitchen is busy, that's not ideal.

The guesthouse is simply spotless, and a credit to the staff who keep it that way.

We also did a day trip with Saikhnaa to Terelj National Park. The trip was good value compared to some we saw on the internet and we really enjoyed it despite it being FREEZING cold. We would definitely suggest investigating their tour options if you're looking for one.

We would not hesitate recommending Chinggis Guesthouse to anybody looking for a warm, friendly place to stay in UB!

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank AndrewAms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2014
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2014
Google Translation

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2013
Google Translation

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews