We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Chinggis Guesthouse
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Nine(Ulaanbaatar)
US$86
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
White House Hotel(Ulaanbaatar)
US$55
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Puma Imperial(Ulaanbaatar)
US$93
US$86
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Kempinski Hotel Khan Palace(Ulaanbaatar)
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Springs Hotel(Ulaanbaatar)
US$95
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Sunjin Grand Hotel(Ulaanbaatar)
US$75
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$170
US$156
Trip.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$72
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$127
US$123
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (14)
Filter reviews
14 results
Traveller rating
9
3
0
0
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
9
3
0
0
2
See what travellers are saying:
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 14 reviews
Reviewed 15 August 2013

The Chinggis Guesthouse was our base for our numerous stays in Ulaanbaatar during a 6 week trip to Mongolia, in between tours and while applying for our Chinese visas. Saikhna and her daughter Temka keep the guesthouse absolutely spotless and were so welcoming that it felt like going home every time we arrived back in UB. Saikhna collected us from the train station when we first arrived and dropped us off there when we left. A simple breakfast is included in the price of the room or dorm bed. The location is excellent, very central just behind the National Drama Theatre. Note that the guesthouse is now located at door 3 of building 33 (you'll see a sign in the ground floor window). They also offer a very useful laundry service - just hand over your bag of dirty clothes and they'll be returned to you within a couple of days.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Julie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2013

The Chinggis Guesthouse is a great option for budget travellers based on it's very central location just behind the National Academic Drama Theatre. As per a previous comment, you really feel like you are a guest in a home rather than a customer in a sterile hotel. The family that run this guesthouse are very welcoming but not overbearing and all speak impeccable English. It is very clean and the WIFI works very well in all rooms. I would certainly stay here again!

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Moorowie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2011

We stumbled across Chinggis Guesthouse based on the positive comments of another traveller we met on the road, and although actually finding the place was very difficult - typical for these "apartment guesthouses" it seems - we were very glad we managed.

The guesthouse was our home during our nine wintery nights in Ulaanbaatar while we sorted out train tickets and a visa for Russia. It's run by the friendly "mum" Saikhnaa and her family (who live in an adjacent building, but often eat in the guesthouse in the evening) and in-house staff who keep the place spotless, warm and welcoming at all hours.

It feels rather like a home stay - in the most positive way - and we were lucky enough to join the family making dinner one evening, and went with them to a concert another night. These were not events put on for us, just things that the family were doing anyway and asked if we wanted to join them. I'm sure if we had have preferred not to participate it would have been OK too but we loved the chance to dip our toes into a bit of Mongolian city life.

The location is very central, once you find it, but it's rather tricky the first time! Better to book and arrange a pickup, not like us... There is a "bread and jam" breakfast included in the room rates and free tea and coffee at any time - small things but welcome. Our room was simple but comfortable and clean.

The only minor drawback to the place was that the wifi only works in the kitchen (where there is also a computer to use) so you can't sit in your room to use your laptop, if you have one. If the kitchen is busy, that's not ideal.

The guesthouse is simply spotless, and a credit to the staff who keep it that way.

We also did a day trip with Saikhnaa to Terelj National Park. The trip was good value compared to some we saw on the internet and we really enjoyed it despite it being FREEZING cold. We would definitely suggest investigating their tour options if you're looking for one.

We would not hesitate recommending Chinggis Guesthouse to anybody looking for a warm, friendly place to stay in UB!

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank AndrewAms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2014
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2014
Google Translation

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews