We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great staff, great location, ugly outside, comfortable inside”
Review of Bayangol Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Bayangol Hotel
Ranked #11 of 59 Hotels in Ulaanbaatar
Jakarta
Level Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great staff, great location, ugly outside, comfortable inside”
Reviewed 30 April 2012

We were initially put off by the ugly, industrial apartment outside of the Bayangol hotel but over our three night stay we really grew to like the place. Our rooms were spotless, the internet worked fine, and its downtown location to nearly everything we wanted to see was particularly helpful when the temperature turned we two tropical bunnies into frightened hares scurrying for cover, which happens four or five times a day in UB. The hotel has a bit of a post-Soviet feel to it, so if you're looking for antiseptic international then you're better off somewhere else. But if you like the quirkiness of the pre-boom age coupled with a remarkably helpful and friendly staff (that couldn't possibly have existed in those good olde days), then take the aging interior as part of the hotel's and UB's overall charm.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank zaraguato
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enkhjin T, General Manager at Bayangol Hotel, responded to this review, 28 May 2012
We just wanted to take the time to say a big thank you for the post you placed on TripAdvisor. Feedback and comments from our guests is exceptionally important to us as we strive to improve and grow our hotel product. Firstly however may we say a small sorry for the cold that is such a part of UB in April, and the creation of “frightened hares”, we really hope you found somewhere warm and snug to keep warm.
You may be interested to know that the hotel was indeed “mid-Soviet” having been built in 1964 and yes that does give us a very unique and individual look from the outside, and this is something we are rightly proud of. However as you say in your post, inside we do provide comfort to our guests. However above all we really want to thank you for your comment about our great staff, true Mongolian hospitality. We are also pleased you found your room to be “spotless”, this is very important to us.
We hope one day you return to UB and stay with us once more, the building design will be the same, as will the staff and the welcome, but we hope you will also notice the many improvements we are making while keeping our quirkiness.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

271 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    31
    102
    109
    22
    7
See reviews for
25
51
41
79
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
164 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2012

With the Shangrila and others opening within 18 months this hotel will just fade away but we all have to stay some where now. If you can not get in to The Corporate then this is about sixth prize.
The hot water is more plentiful in the evening which is worth remembering @ -35 and there are a number OS food and drink options. If you are in the mining or gas and oil industry and enjoy getting really pilasted every night then bingo the Cassablanca Bar is your place. You are encouraged to buy spirits by the bottle but the label and the contents may not be the same. But it works and here you swear , chunder, .... your pants and even get close to the old chicks who are ever present. Not a bar for the faint hearted or those of strong religious convictions.
The wine house is a far more pleasant spot with fair wine list and honest western simple food.
The Mongolian one presents local I suspect as it should be and is worth a visit to confirm you don't like fatty mutton!
No safety boxes! They do exchange $.
Not the spot for a honeymoon but there are worse!

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Oziemuncher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enkhjin T, General Manager at Bayangol Hotel, responded to this review, 28 May 2012
We wanted to take the time to post up and say thank you for your comment and feedback regarding our hotel, we really liked your sense of humour in the description of our hotel. We would like to inform you that the situation with the water is now, we believe, resolved, and that you can enjoy all the hot water you would like anytime of the day.
We are also glad that you enjoyed the Wine House Restaurant and the wide range of good value wines on offer. However we really must assure you that when hotels such as the one mentioned do open the Bayangol will most certainly not fade away. As one of the original hotels in UB we are rightly proud of our history but we are also very aware of our future and are already upgrading, refurbishing and planning our extension and growth. So of course if you want to pay $400 for a room at the Shangri La we would recommend it, we hear it will be great when it finally opens.
One final point we would like to make, while Casablanca is not actually a part of the hotel, it is operated by an outside company, we can absolutely assure you that the products/drinks are not interfered with as you have suggested. Under the very strict Mongolian laws that cover things like this it would simply not be possible.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ulaanbaatar, Mongolia
Level Contributor
52 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2012

Having a couple okay stays here this one was very poor and a worry too. The room was terrible, very dirty carpets, wood trim dirty, chipped, bad looking, dirty bathroom. Was awoken at 3am with a big drunken fight in the hallway outside room and bouncing off walls and doors....went on for over 30 minutes but worse was there was no answer at reception and no security came. Night staff must be sleeping and no way to get help from calling desk. Cable internet only in room and not always working. Have to go to lobby and sit in the old dirty furniture to use wireless. Used business center once but had to sit on a broken desk chair that rolled with the back broke off. Not a nice business center with dangerous furniture. Breakfasts were good, about only thing this stay.

Room Tip: Tip - find another hotel close by, Corporate or Sprngs
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank aguy_98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enkhjin T, General Manager at Bayangol Hotel, responded to this review, 28 May 2012
Thank you very much for your feedback and comments, we have listened to them very closely and are already working very hard to resolve the issues you have kindly raised. In May of this year we refurbished over 80 of our rooms, we do not know if the room you stayed in was one of those, however this is just the start of our renovation programme.
The cable internet provision is being upgraded the a complete Wifi solution with addition bandwidth for each tower, and we are pleased (relieved) that you did enjoy your breakfast. However our greatest concern, and a situation for which we unreservedly apologize was the fight you experienced. We have conducted a full investigation and while we hope this type of thing never happens again, we at least now know we are far better prepared. But for your experience we are truly sorry.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Ulaanbaatar hotels

Warsaw, Poland
Level Contributor
24 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2012

This Hotel is well located (you can walk arround the city center from there easily). The hotel (I was staying in tower B) is not clean and quite old. I had to change room twice as I got a stinky smokers room. The bathroom is not too clean either and very old. The hotel defenetly needs to be renovated.
Breakfasts are quite good, nice fruits and vegetables, although the choice is not to wide.
Internet was not available in the rooms, I ask couple of times the reception to fix it, but nothing was done.

Room Tip: Ask for a room from the back of the hotel if you prefer to be more quite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DJstories
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enkhjin T, General Manager at Bayangol Hotel, responded to this review, 28 May 2012
Thank you so very much for taking the time to post your feedback onto TripAdvisor, we firmly believe that all guest comment, both good and bad is very important and valuable. We are very sorry for your disappointing stay, and while it does not help you now, we would like to inform you that we are indeed renovating the hotel as you have suggested. We have also now designated non-smoking floors, in both Towers and as part of our refurbishment program we are upgrading our internet provision to a full Wifi system for all the rooms in the hotel.
Although it was a positive from you stay, we would also like to let you know that we are also improving our breakfast offering and widening the choice on offer. It is from feedback such as yours that is really helping us to improve our hotel, so we hope that should you ever return to Ulaanbaatar you will notice the vast improvements we are making.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level Contributor
63 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2012

The Bayangol is in a good location, being only a few minutes' walk to everything in UB. However, it seems quite tired and in bad need of renovation.
The amenities available in the hotel are quite basic, but if you're like me and don't need a lot of the extra frills, this place is quite adequate. I experienced no issues checking in & our room was clean & everything worked well (I had to phone reception to have the internet in our room turned on, but after that, smooth sailing). The downsides would be the bedding - the mattresses are quite firm & do not offer a good night's rest. The rooms are well heated, but sometimes too well... Although the weather outside can be freezing, the rooms can be like saunas. Most rooms have windows & balconies, though. Also, the buffet breakfast is not what I expected. It has a limited range, and getting eggs cooked can take some time, if they arrive at all.
The store downstairs has most of the basic items required - not groceries, but touristy things as well as some things to nibble on & a good range of drinks. I was actually amazed at some of the wines on sale (and not very expensive either)! The coffee shop downstairs does a good espresso, too, and wifi is available in the lobby & dining area (although not in the rooms - broadband is available in the rooms).
I'm fully aware that UB might have some development to do before there is a huge selection of business hotels, and I don't doubt that they will arrive. For now, though, hotels such as the Bayangol will suffice. If returning, I would try one of the others before coming back to the Bayangol. It's not the greatest place I've stayed in, by a long way, but it certainly isn't the worst!

Room Tip: Opt for a room facing away from the main road - the noise from the traffic can be horrible, especial...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Charlie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enkhjin T, General Manager at Bayangol Hotel, responded to this review, 28 May 2012
Firstly can we say a big thank you for taking the time to write such a detailed review of our hotel and the services we provided you. It is from such feedback, and our own internal Guest Comment Cards, that we are planning a series of improvements, additions and refurbishments to answer the needs of our guests. For example you mentioned the firmness of some of our beds, well we are rectifying this with the purchase of “Bed Toppers”, which add a real touch of luxury and softness to help you sleep.
You also mentioned that our breakfast should be improved and we can promise you that from the start of June, every week we are adding new dishes to our breakfast, taking ideas from all over the world. We really believe that breakfast is very important and so real effort is being put into improving this aspect of our product offering.
Like you we are also fully aware that UB has sometime ahead while it develops its hotel selection, but we at Bayangol are not waiting, we are already developing our product, our service and our services. Thousands of hours of staff and management training in the last two moths alone, serious financial investment in our product and the development of our long term plans will result in the “badly needed renovation” that you suggested.
Thank you for your feedback and we really hope that should you ever be back in UB that you will stay with us again and notice how you have helped us grow and improve.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
223 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 219 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 February 2012

Worst hotel I have EVER stayed in. Arrived on Mongolian New Year's Day, all shops & restaurants in city were closed. Hotel restaurants & even room service also closed (though we were not informed of this on checking in) and room mini bar missing 2/3 of items - so we spent the entire stay with no food or water. Staff incredibly rude & surly & made it quite clear that our predicament was not their problem, and that getting us any drinking water was impossible (even or a 10 year old child and a diabetic)
As part of the stay, they supplied us with a packed breakfast for an early start the next day - the inclusion of ham sandwiches which were inedible because they had gone off was a final insult.
I would not revisit this hotel if it was the only alternative to a night walking around the city, even in -30C temperatures

Room Tip: Just don't stay here!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Pennydoctor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enkhjin T, General Manager at Bayangol Hotel, responded to this review, 28 May 2012
Thank you for your feedback. While we like to reply to all of the comments in a positive way we think with your all we can really do is offer a complete and genuine apology. We are truly sorry for the experience you suffered.
We have investigated the circumstance of your stay and we have really learned some very valuable lessons from you. We know it does not help you, but by taking the time to post this review it will help so many other guests who will stay with us in the future.
So thank you, and once again we are so very sorry.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milan
Level Contributor
277 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2012

This hotel is in very bad condition: it is presented as a business hotel but actually it needs a very deep refurbishment.
Rooms are clean but look very, very old.
Batrhoom ok but small and again in bad condition.
Breakfast ok - not a lor of variety.
Hotel offer a full range of services but extremely overpriced for mongolia.
Rooms are quite noisy due to traffic.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Pereppo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enkhjin T, General Manager at Bayangol Hotel, responded to this review, 7 June 2012
Thank you for your constructive feedback on our hotel, we read your comments with interest. May we start by saying we agree with your comments regarding a refurbishment program and so far this year we have completed 84 rooms in our refurbishment program. Also we have now added greater choice to our breakfast menu and now every 3 days we add something new so that we keep it interesting and fresh for our guests.
While we found your comments to be very helpful and honest, we have to say that we are not in agreement regarding our pricing policy, we do check our prices against the other leading hotels in UB and we are by quite some way lower than they are, in a lot of cases by over 50%, however that said, we are still sorry that you felt you did not get value for your money and for that we apologize.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ulaanbaatar hotels
1.5 mi away
Kempinski Hotel Khan Palace
Kempinski Hotel Khan Palace
#1 of 59 in Ulaanbaatar
474 reviews
0.6 mi away
Best Western Premier Tuushin Hotel
1.0 mi away
Ramada Ulaanbaatar Citycenter
Ramada Ulaanbaatar Citycenter
#6 of 59 in Ulaanbaatar
489 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Blue Sky Hotel & Tower
Blue Sky Hotel & Tower
#5 of 59 in Ulaanbaatar
292 reviews
0.4 mi away
Springs Hotel
Springs Hotel
#9 of 59 in Ulaanbaatar
89 reviews
0.3 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel, Ulaanbaatar
Shangri-La Hotel, Ulaanbaatar
#2 of 59 in Ulaanbaatar
224 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bayangol Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bayangol Hotel

Property: Bayangol Hotel
Address: Chinggis Khan Avenue 05, Ulaanbaatar 14251, Mongolia
Phone Number:
Region: Mongolia > Ulaanbaatar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Ulaanbaatar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Bayangol Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome esteemed guests,Dear guests and customers, we thank you for choosing Bayangol Hotel. Since 1964 our 4 star hotel has been continuously serving business travellers and tourists and has a capacity of hosting 400 guests in our 215 suites. Also we are operating a modern restaurant capable of receiving up to 500 guests for a stand-up reception. In order to ensure every possibility for your comfortable rest, travel and business our experienced staff shall strive to make your stay as memorable as possible through various service centers.Bayangol hotel’s location in A level zone of city center, within close proximity of business, cultural and commercial centers at 17 kilometers from airport and 2 kilometers from train station provides excellent conditions for our guest service convenience.We wish you to enjoy your stay and hope you will stay with us again. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Bayangol Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bayangol Hotel Ulaanbaatar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing