We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very convenient and comfortable”
Review of Bayangol Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Bayangol Hotel
Ranked #9 of 60 Hotels in Ulaanbaatar
Reviewed 22 October 2012

Stayed here many times and always received a warm welcome. Rooms are a good size with comfortable beds, TV, fridge, free high speed internet, ensuite etc. Nice and warm when it's minus 45C outside and rooms have split unit (i.e. quiet) aircon for summer. Wifi in all the public places and cash machine on site with no local charges added. Has a good restaurant and “Casablanca Bar” serving a good selection of bar foods. Great place to meet. Very convenient location within a short walk of Sukhbaatar Square and the Mongolian owned Grand Khan Irish Bar, which also serves excellent food. To me the mixed reviews are a bit of a mystery. I've always had a comfortable stay with good service. The staff were always there to help when needed.

Room Tip: Some good views across the city and beyond from the rooms at higher levels.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank EasyJourney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (301)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

148 - 154 of 301 reviews

Reviewed 22 October 2012

This hotel must have been the most luxurious hotel in Ulaanbaator in the mid-1960s when it was built. It has, as another reviewer has said, had some modernisation (lifts etc.) but I found it had retained the charm I remember when I travelled with my parents as a little girl.
The bathroom works and you don't need a degree in rocket science to work out how to turn on the shower, the lights or use the toilet! You just turn the taps and wait a while for the water to get hot, and then it does and it's very nice to stand there and let the dust of the city wash away. I stayed there twice over a period of 10 days and the first time I was on the fourth floor, which was great because the electricity failed one evening so it was no big deal to walk up to the fourth floor (the rooms all have torches on the bedside table so I'm assuming this problem with electricity is not exceptional!). The second time I was up on the 9th or 10th floor and I found the room was way too hot. You can control the air-conditioning but not the huge and effective radiator and because the hotel is on a big avenue you don't want to open the window to let in the frigid night air at that time of the year.
The rooms were big and clean and the beds comfortable and a kettle is provided with tea and coffee (if you like your coffee black and unsweetened: bad luck! The coffee bags come with powdered milk and sugar all-in-one). My colleagues and I were slightly puzzled that when we put the notice on our pillowcases to say that we did not need to have the sheets changed, the bed wasn't made and the used tea/coffee cups not changed. So the next morning we did not put the notice on and the beds were made and clean cups supplied. Perhaps we'd misunderstood something.
We tried two of the hotel restaurants and both times were the only customers. We'd arrived at 8 p.m. and couldn't figure out if we were much earlier than others or much later. The food was OK in both places. The only time we tried the bar we were told they could not serve alcohol because it was the first Saturday of the month and no bars anywhere in Mongolia are allowed to serve alcohol that day.
The wi-fi worked in some rooms but not others but worked fine down in the little coffee bar in the lobby. I tried watching the BBC and the picture would freeze every few minutes but this didn't bother me as I was just keeping updated with the news and not trying to watch a film.
The hotel is much closer to the centre of town than other reviewers seem to think. It is literally five minutes walk from Peace Avenue (the main shopping avenue: beware pickpockets armed with cutters to slice the underneath of your bag with) and Sukbaatar Square which is the heart of the city.
We found the staff very friendly and helpful. If I return to Ulaanbaatar I would not hesitate to stay in this hotel again.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Apiersa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2012

We stayed at Bayangol Hotel for 9 nights in September 2012. Imagine the grandest hotel in the country 50 years ago, with little change other than new lifts/paint/wallpaper. Its fine, comfortable, services work, but nothing luxurious. Staff were friendly, the buffet breakfast was very good, and the range of inhouse cafes/restaurants was a nice option on miserable rainy days. Free wifi in both lobbies and cafes, and the business centre was very helpful. The rooms were basic, and the bed hard, but they did supply us with a baby cot as requested.There was a small balcony but it didn't look particularly safe. The bathrooms were small but sufficient, with a certain soviet-era kitch about them. A 10 minute walk from Suukbaatar Sq along busy Chinggis Khan ave. There was a family of stray dogs living in the pot-holed carpark, amongst the flowering weeds, but they seemed quite friendly and never bothered anyone.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Andrea S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2012

Nice hotel with a free breakfast. The bed quality was great and the staff helpful. A little far from centre about a 15 min walk. Another than that, had a pleasant night here! Bus 11 from the airport will drop you off right across the street from the hotel!

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank PresPJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2012

I take the attitude that all rooms look pretty much alike when you turn the lights off because I've been forced to stay in some pretty sleazy hotels/motels when nothing better was available. This isn't one of those, but it's far from luxurious. It reminds me of hotels you'd see in movies set in the 1950's in the Soviet Union. That said, I did find the Bayangol to be reasonably comfortable as a place to stay for an extended period of time. (I spent a month there on two separate occasions.)

You need to go in with the understanding that the TV or the Internet may or may not work at any given time. Most of the time they do work, but not always. Just relax and focus on something else for a while. (If you really HAVE to get on the Internet and it’s not working in your room, you can go to the lobby where they have Wi-Fi that seems fairly reliable.) Also, in the mornings you have to let the hot water tap run for quite a while before it actually gets hot, but it eventually does.

Each room has an air conditioning unit that can be adjusted. The heat, however, is a hot-water radiator that (as best I could tell) cannot be adjusted by the guest. With the heat on, I had to use the air conditioner to keep the room temperature at a comfortable level.

The breakfast buffet is quite good if you don't expect everything to be out right at the time they say it will be available (6:30 AM in Summer and 7:00 AM in Winter). They usually start putting food out before the stated times, but it can be as much as half an hour after start time before everything's available.

The Casablanca Restaurant & Bar has a very good selection of food, both eastern and western; but it can get a bit rowdy in the evenings. (I’ve found the Aussies I met there to be a great, although raucous, bunch of guys.) The Bayangol Restaurant and the Mongolian Restaurant have more relaxed atmospheres.

Room Tip: Try to avoid the second floor. The Mongolian Restaurant is located there and it makes for additiona...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DDDurrett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2012

This was a fine hotel for a one-night stay in Ulaanbaatar -- after spending two nights in a yurt and looking forward to the next night on a train to Beijing. Rooms on the upper floors offer a nice view of the city and surroundings, and the wine bar is a pleasant enough place for a drink or dinner.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RVS798
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2012

Very good location
Excelent breakfast
Many choises of restaurants and shops
close to hotel
Free wireless with good speed in lobby
Nice and helpfull people working in hotel
Average room quality and dimension .

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FERNANDORODRIGUES
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ulaanbaatar hotels
1.5 mi away
Kempinski Hotel Khan Palace
Kempinski Hotel Khan Palace
#2 of 60 in Ulaanbaatar
518 reviews
0.3 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel, Ulaanbaatar
Shangri-La Hotel, Ulaanbaatar
#1 of 60 in Ulaanbaatar
252 reviews
1.0 mi away
Ramada Ulaanbaatar Citycenter
Ramada Ulaanbaatar Citycenter
#4 of 60 in Ulaanbaatar
505 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Best Western Premier Tuushin Hotel
0.4 mi away
Blue Sky Hotel & Tower
Blue Sky Hotel & Tower
#7 of 60 in Ulaanbaatar
319 reviews
0.6 mi away
Khuvsgul Lake Hotel
Khuvsgul Lake Hotel
#20 of 60 in Ulaanbaatar
16 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bayangol Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bayangol Hotel

Address: Chinggis Khan Avenue 05, Ulaanbaatar 14251, Mongolia
Phone Number:
Region: Mongolia > Ulaanbaatar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Ulaanbaatar
Price Range: £75 - £103 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Bayangol Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome esteemed guests,Dear guests and customers, we thank you for choosing Bayangol Hotel. Since 1964 our 4 star hotel has been continuously serving business travellers and tourists and has a capacity of hosting 400 guests in our 215 suites. Also we are operating a modern restaurant capable of receiving up to 500 guests for a stand-up reception. In order to ensure every possibility for your comfortable rest, travel and business our experienced staff shall strive to make your stay as memorable as possible through various service centers.Bayangol hotel’s location in A level zone of city center, within close proximity of business, cultural and commercial centers at 17 kilometers from airport and 2 kilometers from train station provides excellent conditions for our guest service convenience.We wish you to enjoy your stay and hope you will stay with us again. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Odigeo and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Bayangol Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bayangol Hotel Ulaanbaatar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing