We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not Bad, but a Work in Progress” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Chinggis Khaan Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Chinggis Khaan Hotel
Ranked #15 of 57 Hotels in Ulaanbaatar
Tucson, AZ
Level Contributor
48 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Not Bad, but a Work in Progress”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2011

This past July we spent 16 days in Mongolia, staying in 4 different ger camps and at the CK hotel on 4 different occasions. This was a group tour, so we had the chance to stay in 4 different CK rooms and get feedback from 20 other people. Firstly, most of the facts presented in the negative reviews may have some accuracy BUT, all of our rooms had safes and mini-bars and all of the staff spoke English adequately and tried to be helpful. The Chinese restaurant (Mr. Wang's) was fine. That said, like Mongolia, the hotel is far from perfect. We never had a room where everything was finished. There were always loose wires poking out from some wall or other and there was always cheap vinyl breaking off of some piece of furniture. The AC did not seem to work, but the weather was not too hot in July. The breakfast buffet was OK at best (it had to meet both Eastern and Western tastes) and, true, there was no brewed coffee in sight. I'd note that we never got brewed coffee on our trip. Tea is what people drink in Asia.

Nonetheless, we were very happy to be back to the CK after touring the ger camps. The rooms were 2-room suites and large. The lobby wi-fi worked. The beds were comfortable. The showers were fine. The toilets flushed. For us, the laundry service was very quick. People were nice. Access to the Sky Department Store was a plus. In terms of location, it's a bit of a walk (~1 mile) to Parliament and ~1.5 miles to the State Department Store. However we found the location to be quiet. No noisy disco. True, it's not Paris. It really is Mongolia and I think the CK needs to be judged by that standard. Certainly it's good compared to the other places we stayed, including Three Camel. How it compares to other "upscale" UB hotels is not something on which I could comment.

Room Tip: If it's hot, ask for a fan.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JHarris48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

167 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    20
    59
    53
    27
    8
See reviews for
7
17
23
89
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
164 reviews
148 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 182 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2011

I still can't get over quite how grey and depressing the Chinggis Khan hotel felt. Most of the decor is in various shades of grey with the exception of some items in the lobby and the very yellow breakfast room.

My room was large but with a tiny single bed slapped in the middle of the room, looking bizarre and out of place. It seemed like the hotel had begun a refurbishment - the shower head was new but everything else was shabby and falling apart. A particular low was the toilet roll holder hanging out of the wall as well as the wiring in parts of the room and the chairs in the seating area that couldn't be sat on because they had broken legs.

My room was also missing a safe and a mini-bar fridge. The housekeeping staff managed to find a safe that I could use but no fridge every arrived. I could order warm bottles of water from reception but that was the extent of refreshments in the room.

There is no swimming pool in the hotel (despite misleading pictures on the hotel website, in brochures and in the lobby). There is a 'spa' which amounts to some shabby massage beds in a dingy area of the basement from which you can get a cheap sports massage. Don't expect any nice music or spa treats like slippers and incence - you'll get some plastic flip flops and the stench of sweat.

I also had to have an argument on check out about charges other guests (signed in Chinese characters, of which I'm incapable of writing) had assigned to my room number. In general reception staff were surly and there were not enough staff available to serve customers so the wait for assistance was long.

Upsides of this hotel were access to the Sky Mall and it's grocery store (at US$2 a bottle of water at the Chinggis it's worth stocking up at the store) and the ATMs and post office in the lobby.

The location of the hotel is not as good as those closer to Suhkbaatar Sq so if you're short of time in UB find somewhere in a more convenient place to get to the sights.

Room Tip: Ask for one that has been refurbished.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank talltaff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Ulaanbaatar hotels

Level Contributor
28 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2011

It's a very big hotel , but can see that hotel is rather old as here and there can see some cracks in the tiles, or furniture cracks. Rooms very spacious, clean, tidy. Tv with all international channels. Adequate hotel for business trips but not convenient for tourists as rather distanced from the shopping and city center.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LeoliaN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich / Switzerland
Level Contributor
67 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2011

Well, I really did not particularly like this hotel or would even bother mentioning it. With the only exception that hotels in Mongolia are generally so awful that this one stood out. After traveling through Mongolia by car, I was thrilled to have hot water. And a clean bed! And hotel that actually attempted to be a hotel. In terms of amenities and service, this hotel is in many ways comparable to cheap motels - with the big exception that it costs substantially more. There is a reception, where staff is listening to ipods (but they do speak some English), hotel is in urgent need of refurbishment. The gym is particularly poor. Not comparable in any way to a 4 star hotel in any other part of the world.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank maddog2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2011

Expensive regarding the services : AC was KO in my suite, bathing tools missing, breakfast quite poor...
For 240$ a night you can find much better hôtels in UB

  • Stayed May 2011
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Martintin-75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
95 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2011

I have stayed at three hotels in UB and this is the worst of the three so far. I can't wait until some new hotels open up to give the current properties a bit of a run for their money.

The hotel is old and it shows. The service is not what you'd expect for the 4 stars given to it. Rooms are really old, badly scuffed and the hot water is patchy because they don't have their own boilers apparently. Other hotels do have their own boilers, so ask around.

Check out is substandard. They issue a bill but don't do a breakdown of the mini bar, nor do they give you a mini bar chit to fill out - it's done by the housekeepers. Not a reliable system as far as I'm concerned.

Chinese restaurant in the lobby is very overpriced - $49 for two dishes and a shot of vodka. The meal wasn't that great compared to other restaurants in this price category closer to the central area. Food supply in UB isn't developed but other properties manage to do food very well. Forget the breakfast - nescafe coffee at a 4 star??? Not a pot of coffee to be seen and the selection is pretty dismal.

The location is inconvenient and the fact there is a nightclub at the back of the hotel means that every night around 1.30am, the local hoons (of drifters depending on where you're from) spin their wheels and start making a lot of noise until they get chased away or they crash into something as happened 3 of my 4 nights here. UB gets to +40 degrees C in summer and as there is no aircon at this property you need to open your window to get some cool air. In the dead of winter at -25 degrees C, this hotel would be very well heated!

Location is inconvenient during peak hours. Have stayed at other UB hotels. One was more pricey, the other was less pricey but both were better than the four sleepless nights I had in at this property.

There isn't much to choose from in UB, but if you can get a room on the driveway side of the hotel (not the mall), don't mind the peak hour traffic and are prepared to eat somewhere else, you might enjoy this place.

On the plus side, the internet is faster than the Kempinski and runs at a decent rate.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank citisurfer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2011

Quite a decent hotel with spacious rooms. Decor is pretty run down but clean and maintained. Staff are quite helpful and professional. Breakfast is nothing to talk about but manageable. Very basic gym whose equipment often breaks down. Free high speed internet access in rooms is an added bonus.

It is 15 minutes walk from the central square which is a blessing in traffic snarled Ulaanbaatar. The Chinese restaurant in the hotel is quite good. Avoid the room services - it is slow and terrible with a very limited menu. Having a departmental store connected to the hotel is very convenient.

All in all, a convenient hotel for the Mongolian capital. Just know what to expect.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Magic_Carpet_Ride
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ulaanbaatar hotels
0.5 mi away
Kempinski Hotel Khan Palace
Kempinski Hotel Khan Palace
#1 of 57 in Ulaanbaatar
4.5 of 5 bubbles 462 reviews
0.9 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel, Ulaanbaatar
Shangri-La Hotel, Ulaanbaatar
#2 of 57 in Ulaanbaatar
4.5 of 5 bubbles 204 reviews
0.8 mi away
Blue Sky Hotel & Tower
Blue Sky Hotel & Tower
#4 of 57 in Ulaanbaatar
4.0 of 5 bubbles 278 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Ramada Ulaanbaatar Citycenter
Ramada Ulaanbaatar Citycenter
#5 of 57 in Ulaanbaatar
4.0 of 5 bubbles 485 reviews
0.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN PREMIER Tuushin Hotel
2.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN Gobi's Kelso
BEST WESTERN Gobi's Kelso
#6 of 57 in Ulaanbaatar
4.5 of 5 bubbles 72 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chinggis Khaan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chinggis Khaan Hotel

Property: Chinggis Khaan Hotel
Address: Tokyo Street - 10 | 1 - Khoroo, Ulaanbaatar 49, Mongolia
Phone Number:
Region: Mongolia > Ulaanbaatar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 57 Hotels in Ulaanbaatar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Chinggis Khaan Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 176
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Chinggis Khaan Hotel is recognized for its excellent service and hospitality, and it has been the preferred lodging for royalty, heads of state, government delegation, dignitaries, leaders and decision makers as well as tourists and business people. It offers something for everyone. Providing all comforts and modern conveniences world travelers have come to expect in premier hotels worldwide along with authentic taste and feel of Mongolia's rich history and culture. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Chinggis Khaan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing