We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Priceline
Booking.com
Agoda.com
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (60)
Filter reviews
60 results
Traveller rating
22
30
5
0
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
22
30
5
0
3
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
13 - 18 of 60 reviews
Reviewed 14 June 2018

We had rooms on the 10th Floor, big windows, spacious room and big bathroom. Shower good with plenty of hot water and the air-conditioner worked. The restaurant is small and basic but does good coffee and snacks. The breakfast was basic with an okay choice of foods (they even had Peanut Butter). The staff are very helpful and most speak good English. Location is good, 15 minutes will have you to the Main Square and good restaurants etc.

Date of stay: September 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank WW_Traveller023
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 5 June 2018 via mobile

Very comfortable hotel with well-equipped rooms and a decent restaurant downstairs. There is a convenience store 100m away across the bridge and Peace Avenue is 5 minutes walk. The helpful reception staff made for a very enjoyable stay on both a Sunday and a Wednesday night. Highly recommended ....

Date of stay: May 2018
Trip type: Travelled with friends
1  Thank FrancisN626
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 27 May 2018

I recently stayed at J Hotel on two separate occasions. We used this hotel as a transit point in and out of Mongolia, so did not explore Ulaan Bataar in any detail, so cannot comment fully on the location nor proximity to sights.

The room itself was well-sized and clean. The best part was that there was a washing machine, which was very welcome after 1.5 weeks on the train. The beds were comfortable and some basic coffee/tea supplies were provided. It was also possible to order food from the restaurant downstairs and have it delivered to the room as room service. The water pressure for the shower was good.

Customer service could be improved, however. I emailed the hotel in advance to ask them to accept delivery of our train tickets, and there was a long delay before receiving a response which was not understandable (poor English) so we had to make other arrangements. In addition, the front desk was already aware that we had an early departure (around 6am), as we had already informed them off this upon check-in, but at 11:30pm, when I was sleeping, the front desk called to check what time were were leaving (no idea why they needed to call). This was very disruptive and inconsiderate. In addition, I was told on checking in that I could charge the room service to my room and pay the next morning, but the person who delivered the meal insisted on cash payment immediately. Whilst I was able to convince him that I would pay the next morning, he was rather rude about the whole thing. in terms of breakfast, our breakfast was included in our room price and it was mediocre.

Overall, however, the room was decently priced, clean and functional and the use of the washer machine was very helpful. I would give this establishment a rating of 3.5 , but have rounded up to 4.

Date of stay: May 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank wanderingnomad111
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 21 May 2018 via mobile

The hotel was both the starting point and end point of a two week Mongolia adventure tour. Location is good, about 10 minutes from the Peace Boulevard and a supermarket nearby. Checkin wa very smooth and front desk staff was very friendly. We had a corner room on the 10th floor with a city view. AC and fan in the room. Good size bathroom with lots of hot water and very good pressure. Enough light both in room and bathroom. Very good breakfast with lots of choices (try the chicken!). Breakfast starts at 07:30 and with the morning rush, seats were at a premium. You just have to sit with people you do not know, which is a great opportunity to exchange info. Overall a very clean hotel with lots of cleaning staff cleaning the whole day. Would highly recommend this as a vey good budget hotel.

Date of stay: May 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank 585paulv
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 14 April 2018 via mobile

Very good location with a good price. Running by Korean owner so the breakfast is Well made Korean typical breakfast and some wired bead and some. Good size of room with tiny kitchen with wash-machine.

Date of stay: April 2018
Trip type: Travelled on business
Thank hongshinae
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
View more reviews