We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very good hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Islamabad Serena Hotel
Ranked #1 of 20 Hotels in Islamabad
Certificate of Excellence
Dubai
Level Contributor
93 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Very good hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 January 2014

Serena hotel is one of the best in class places to stay with the Mariott, but the traditional pakistanese style makes the Serena hotel much more beautiful. If you remember the video game Prince of Persia, well, Serena hotel looks like this, plus it has very beautiful gardens and when the weather is hot it must be very nice to go there.
Staff is super friendly, very helpful. You get complimentary airport transport anytime.
The rooms are big, very clean, beds are very comfortable.
Many restaurants but it seems everybody goes to the main one with the big buffet. I have to say that the food is rather average, not bad but not super good as well. For breakfast it is OK, but for dinner you might want to try something else. I did not try the room service though.
Overall experience is very nice.

Room Tip: my room had a view on the garden, but my colleague had a view on the other side and he had some cold...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank laurent t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

529 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    305
    161
    40
    11
    12
See reviews for
61
44
27
349
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (111)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Galway, Ireland
Level Contributor
72 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 December 2013

Serena Hotel is one of the best in Islamabad Pakistan. Security is very strict but once you are clear, you can feel the luxury right from the main entrance where well-dressed DARBAN welcome you to proceed to magnificent lobby.
Hotel Staffs are courteous and friendly. Rooms are well decorated specious and clean. Breakfast was sumptuous and with multiple options of food. Overall the stay was comfortable and my children would love to stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank suhailahmad7676
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 December 2013

This was simply the nicest hotel I have ever stayed at. I was in Islamabad for work and this safe, secure hotel exceeded expectations. The numerous restaurants were superb and the breakfast buffet rivals any that I have ever been to. Islamabad is a complicated city in a complicated country, but my stay at the hotel was superb and I would highly recommend this site to anyone.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Scott B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bethesda, MD
Level Contributor
90 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 December 2013

This extraordinary hotel is a destination, not simply a place to stay while in Islamabad. From the moment I arrived until the moment I departed one week later, I truly felt like a guest, rather than a customer. The care with which the hotel is maintained equals its grandeur. The extraordinary knowledge, skills, and attitudes of each and every staff member is a benchmark for any organization in the world.

I recommend staying on the Executive floor. The halls are a bit cleaner. There are fewer wedding party guests roaming the halls n the evenings. The included services of the Business Center and the availability of a free high-speed and consistent LAN connection for your internet more than compensate for the moderate extra cost.

During my week-long stay, the staff was consistently friendly, inquiring if there was more they could do, and was responsive in a timely manner to my requests. A request for more bottles of water was met within 10 minutes. A request for assistance with Internet connection was met by a competent IT technician in 15 minutes. Room service requests were consistently filled within 35-40 minutes, and the waiters consistently returned within one hour to clear and clean my table. Room turndown included bathroom cleaning.

The hotel was overbooked during my stay. I learned this from the bellman taking up luggage. I later asked a waiter about the occupancy rate. Both were able to quote the occupancy rate. This indicates excellent communication within the staff.

Disney, which strives to give every guest a magical experience, could learn from this organization.

That having been said, there was only one disappointment with my stay, and it was a major one. I requested a pick-up at the airport on my arrival. I received none. Try to imagine, if you will, the panic of an American who arrives in Islamabad at 2:30 AM and finds that the hotel has not met him. Fortunately, my client sent a driver at the last moment; he picked me up and delivered me safely to the serene Serena.

Other than that, the experience was extraordinary.

Room Tip: Rooms in the executive floor are only slightly more expensive, but the amenities for business travel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank winxalot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
61 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 December 2013 via mobile

This hotel has a beautiful interior n very nice settings. All these qood quality is entirely wasted by severe lack of customer service. The night duty manager on 3 dec 2013 was extremely rude and so is on guard at the lower ground entrance.
The management should seriously teach its staff customer service.

Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
6 Thank Globaltravelr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Hague, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
211 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 November 2013

I arrived at the hotel on the 23rd of November 2013 and have been staying there for a few days now. Up to today I am very positive, the place is clean, nice spacious rooms, helpful staff, a number of restaurants within the premises. The entrance hall is enormous, many places to sit and relax, inside and outside. Compared to all the military, police, guards and roadblocks outside the hotel, this is paradise. Up till now I have tried only one restaurant, Wild Rice, and this is good, really good. Probably I will eat there again tonight and I will try out yet another dish.

Room Tip: No tips available
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Havaki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 November 2013

I lost my valet there in the room while my stay, on 10th october. On a very strong followup, I could get the news of valet recovery on 5 November but surprisingly without cash. I'm in contact with the staff continuously but they are still trying to hand over my valet without cash. I'm surprised that this is a leading hotel in Pakistan.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MubasherHijazi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Islamabad
1.4 mi away
Islamabad Marriott Hotel
Islamabad Marriott Hotel
#2 of 20 in Islamabad
4.0 of 5 bubbles 341 reviews
1.0 mi away
Islamabad Hotel
Islamabad Hotel
#8 of 20 in Islamabad
3.0 of 5 bubbles 45 reviews
2.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Regency Hotel
BEST WESTERN Regency Hotel
#10 of 20 in Islamabad
3.0 of 5 bubbles 34 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.2 mi away
Pearl Continental Hotel Rawalpindi
2.5 mi away
Envoy Continental Hotel
Envoy Continental Hotel
#3 of 20 in Islamabad
4.0 of 5 bubbles 27 reviews
2.6 mi away
Hotel Crown Plaza
Hotel Crown Plaza
#11 of 20 in Islamabad
3.0 of 5 bubbles 34 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Islamabad Serena Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Islamabad Serena Hotel

Property: Islamabad Serena Hotel
Address: Khayaban-e-Suhrawardy, Islamabad 44000, Pakistan
Phone Number:
Region: Pakistan > Islamabad Capital Territory > Islamabad
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 20 Hotels in Islamabad
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Islamabad Serena Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 387
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Islamabad Serena Hotel stands at the foot of the Margalla Hills, on fourteen acres of land, with beautiful gardens and serene water shore of the Rawal Lake in close proximity, next to the Diplomatic Enclave. The architecture and interiors of this fabulous Hotel building is a mere reflection of typical Pakistani cultural heritage depicting the skills and craftsmanship of native artisans. In this state-of-the-art building, local traditions are elegantly combined with latest technologies in order to provide a comfortable stay to our prestigious guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Agoda, Odigeo and DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ so you can book your Islamabad Serena Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing