We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“For good selection of Sri Lankan food”

Green Cabin Terrace
Ranked #64 of 568 Restaurants in Colombo
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Level 5 Contributor
89 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“For good selection of Sri Lankan food”
Reviewed 7 March 2014

if you want to have authentic sri lnkan food you must visit Green Cabin restaurant on Galle road , Colpetty. its about 3or 4 kilometers from the the Hilton.Hotel.
best time is to go around 7 pm for dinner. you may order Hoppers , Roti or even string hoppers with ambul Thiya the special fish curry.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Tilakfer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

421 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    118
    177
    87
    18
    21
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Lovely food and nice staff”
Reviewed 2 March 2014

You need to go there and dine in to experience the perfect delicacy coming from generations to generations. The environment is so peaceful and loving still has not changed. From the day we went there to celebrate my 20 year old cousin's birth(20 years back) to the day i walk there with my husband to celebrate the last dinner of our honeymoon. Its still warm and lovely with some very nice staff. It felt like coming home!

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank madushi101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Level 6 Contributor
275 reviews
149 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Best Cream Buns”
Reviewed 22 February 2014 via mobile

This has very good Sri Lankan food. Pastries are in very good quality. Different pie's are available. They are creamy and crispy. Pillaw rice are available on Saturdays. This is Excellent. Lump rice is good but too dry. Cream Buns and Eclairs are lovely and great.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Sanjeewa A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vianen, The Netherlands
Level 4 Contributor
17 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Slooooow service..”
Reviewed 18 February 2014

We came in on a busy night and sat at the table for 45 minutes before one of the waiters took our order. In the meantime we tried to ask them for an ashtray, a menu, etc. and we where simply ignored or told 'yes yes' (and nothing happend). An hour and a half after coming in our drinks and food for one was served and twenty minutes later the second plate. Can not tell you if the food was good because i wasn't in the mood for food anymore. After paying, the waiter rushed at the table to see if we left a tip, we didn't. He refussed to respond to our goodby and just gave an angry look. Most horrible service i have ever experienced.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Shae A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Good Sri Lankan food and excellent hoppers”
Reviewed 10 February 2014

If I am missing my mum's cooking, it is Green Cabin that I would go to. My usual take out favourites are string hoppers, coconut hodi, pol sambol and tomato gravy. It is simply a lovely dinner after a long day at work. I equally like their pittu with tempered prawns or crab curry. Whenever we feel like it, we walk down to their garden restaurant for hot, hot hoppers which are the best I have tasted in Sri Lanka... Milk, Egg and plain hoppers with kata sambol and Seeni sambol are just awesome. Their lumprice is worth pre-ordering and it is simply delicious. All the meals can be washed down with a refreshing lime soda and one of their desserts - I have tried caramel pudding and wattalapan which were lovely. One drawback is that portion sizes of the curries are relatively smaller than what you find elsewhere. They also wouldn't take orders over the phone for take away which is a bit annoying as you have to go there, place the order and wait for the food to be prepared especially when ordering pittu, kothu roti, etc.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GJayH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Green Cabin Terrace also viewed

Colombo, Western Province
Colombo, Western Province
 
Colombo, Western Province
Colombo, Western Province
 

Been to Green Cabin Terrace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing