We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good for what you pay.”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Janaki Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Janaki Hotel
Ranked #43 of 50 Hotels in Colombo
Thiruvananthapuram (Trivandrum), India
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Good for what you pay.”
Reviewed 9 August 2013

After booking in this hotel, I have read all these adverse comments in this site. But my experience was the hotel is not bad for what you pay. The food in the restaurant was good though they took long time to serve. Rooms were neat and reasonably maintained. Staff were well behaved. Wifi is free. Swimming pool though small, was well maintained. Staff were co-operative. Had no bad experience as many others described. One exception was that A/c was noisy. It was making a sound similar to that of the a rain. I did not complain as I enjoyed it. Probably they have improved themselves, because of these bad reviews in sites like this.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank drjpkp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3
    10
    20
    11
    17
See reviews for
9
8
4
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Yekaterinburg, Russia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2013

A very old hotel.
bad A/C or non functioning A/C
Missing blanket
Instead of promised king size bed, three single bed of 90 cm was provided
Lizard/Gecko roaming inside refrigerator, where I had kept my food
Hotel management promised a car so that I can go and have my food without Lizard or Gecko, but the car never got started and had to to sleep hungry.
Bed Bugs are there to welcome you!

Have a nice day
Average breakfast

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank m k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Colombo hotels

Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
59 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2013

I arrived in Colombo at 00:15 as many travellers do, after a very long day of travel, so I was pretty tired and looking for a shower and a sleep. The night manager was very welcoming, and took me right up to the first room-- it hadn't been cleaned or made up. No worries, on to the second room. Unpacked, craving a shower-- and shower was broken: no handle, no water. This is South Asia, and my expectations weren't high, so back down to the manager, who took me to a third room, and watched me move my things. Third room was OK (a smoker's room, but at this point it was 0300), but the bathroom shower was black with mould and the bedspread had crusty things on it I just didn't want to know about. When the sheets were changed the next day they had small black spots on them. I also encourage the management staff to check behind the headboards of the beds-- I regularly check for bedbugs these days, and well, you can only imagine. There is a jug, coffee and tea provided in the room, and the tiny ants with it are supplied free of charge. There is the usual room aircon and overhead fan, so if you like to sleep in a whirlwind you can. Windows to the street were quite greasy, but the view wasn't all that anyhow. The hotel is situated on a small street, with an overlook to their own carpark. There is a small coffee shop and bar.
The hotel supplies breakfast, which I must say was generous and very good. Their lunch buffet was also excellent. There is a pool, but I never saw it in use. It appeared clean, but it was too hot to move outside, even with a pool, so I didn't try it. The bill was provided in US dollars, and I had to ask for it in rupees.
All of this said, the staff were kind, polite and accommodating. It's just that they don't seem to have a clear idea on how to keep a hotel clean and in good repair. Even for South Asia you may want to pass on this one until they lift their game a little.

Room Tip: Get a room away from the lift if you can: it has a very loud bell!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mark H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Torhout
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2013

Hotel Janaki can be the best option for accommodation in Sri Lanka, when you are going for business trips. Staff has good knowledge of English and can help you a lot if you are unknown to the place. Our room was small and compact, but very neat and clean. Breakfast was delicious and had immense varieties. Environment of the place was very homely and our stay for 4 days was pretty comfortable and reasonable. Thoroughly recommendable!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KathleenRTorhout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuching
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2013

Don't go even near the hotel. Where to start...Sleazy, unfriendly staff, dirty room, AC couldn't be regulated (was freezing with no blankets in the room), dark and damp, horrible food & breakfast. can't say much about the management because apparently there is none...oh well, I could go on like this for a while.
There are vastly better hotels in the area and in Colombo in the same price category. so just do not bother with this one.

Room Tip: Helpful room tips? Take a room in another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fab S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
67 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2012

poor house keeping, they have 35% of staff then what require to run the hotel,the location whre hotel is situated is better, room cleaning is possible only in front of guest, in case you drop the key at reception your room will not be cleaned untill you say you are in your room, room service need to remind 4/5 times to come and clear the plates. not a good experience

Room Tip: better to see room and make your choice
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank jksugars
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
102 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2012

i have stayed there once for 3 days.. the rooms are expansive and is a very old hotel..the location is good. there is no room service after 12 midnight...mobile recharge vouchers are available at reception. all rooms are non smoking and if you need to smoke then you need to step out of the room.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank STalapatra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Colombo hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel Sansu
Hotel Sansu
#46 of 50 in Colombo
47 reviews
1.7 mi away
Great Southern Hotel (GSH) Colombo
1.8 mi away
Sai Sea City Hotel (P) Ltd
Sai Sea City Hotel (P) Ltd
#44 of 50 in Colombo
84 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Global Towers Hotel
Global Towers Hotel
#31 of 50 in Colombo
330 reviews
1.6 mi away
Omega Regency
Omega Regency
#39 of 50 in Colombo
45 reviews
1.0 mi away
Ceylon City Hotel
Ceylon City Hotel
#26 of 50 in Colombo
253 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Janaki Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Janaki Hotel

Property: Janaki Hotel
Address: 43 Fife Road | Havelock Town, Colombo, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Western Province > Colombo
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #43 of 50 Hotels in Colombo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Janaki Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Janaki Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing