We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Superb start to a wonderful holiday” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Paradise Road Tintagel Colombo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Paradise Road Tintagel Colombo
Ranked #2 of 52 Hotels in Colombo
Certificate of Excellence
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
134 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“Superb start to a wonderful holiday”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2014

We only stayed one night here on our arrival in Colombo but it was a super stay. The room was so comfortable, we were in the West room, which had a lovely large balcony. The neighbourhood is very pleasant. The only slight problem was no mirror in the bedroom, but when I asked for one, a stand mirror was brought immediately. The staff were excellent, nothing was too much trouble. And the dinner we ate there was one of the best on our trip. To know that it was the Bandaranaike family home gave a sense of history, added to by the fact that Prince Charles alsorecentlystayed here. Would suggest anyone coming to Colombo should stay here.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TAMember1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

532 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    371
    112
    37
    5
    7
See reviews for
97
255
34
39
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
51 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 February 2014 via mobile

This was the first stop on our Sri Lankan holiday and it was a wonderful choice. The fact that it had been the home of the Bandaranaike's until Mrs B died in 2005 gave it a great feeling of history. It was leased to Shanth Fernando by the family and is now a unique small hotel. In fact Prince Charles stayed here for a week last year.

Our bedroom had a large balcony and the room had a high ceiling with a fan or air-con which we used as it would have been very hot and sticky without. The bathroom was quite small with a rain shower but had all you needed in the way of toiletries . The colours were muted browns and beiges with red lacquer cupboards - all very stylish!

We had lunch and dinner outside in the garden which was very pretty with ivy covering the walls and candlelit at night - very romantic. The food was delicious and lots of choice either European or Sri Lankan. The service was very attentive and friendly.

There was a long thin pool in a courtyard at the back which just allowed 2 people to swim up and down but at least you could do proper lengths.

I would rather stay here than in a big modern hotel. We both loved the Colonial feel of Tintagel and it was rather like staying in a private house
but with all the mod cons of a hotel. Outside the hotel the road was obviously a smart residential part of Colombo with lovely old houses and surrounded by luscious grounds. We would definitely come back again on another visit.

Stayed July 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank gertrudeLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 February 2014

We stopped for a day in this fabulous small hotel en route for a short tour of Sri Lanka. What a haven of tranquillity in a sea of motorised vehicles! Wonderful staff, wonderful service, wonderful food. Perfection.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Olddragonslady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 January 2014

Nothing is too much trouble for the lovely staff at the Tintagel. We stayed in the same room as Prince Charles (not at the same time!!) and were also treated like royalty from the moment we stepped in the door - despite looking worse for wear after an 11 hour flight. Everything about the hotel oozed relaxation, with all the staff friendly and helpful with any request - from changing small notes for tuk-tuks to organising an extra bed in the suite for mother-in-law. Beds extremely comfortable, bathroom huge, food gorgeous at both dinner and breakfast (although I would like to have a greater choice of Sri Lankan options at both meals). Currently no alcohol available, although the staff did offer to pop out and get anything we wanted - to be honest not an issue for one night, as the fruit smoothies and ginger beer were awesome! Nowhere is central Colombo is more than a 10 minute tuk-tuk ride away, and there are plenty hanging around outside the hotel (or the concierge can call one). Finally, hats off to Prince Charles - all the staff were still buzzing from his recent visit (some two months earlier) and how thoughtful and appreciative he was of everyone working at the Tintagel. Well, if you are reading this, you have a great taste in hotels, sir!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank richard_lawrance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 January 2014 via mobile

Stayed at this hotel January 2014 ,and it was beautiful.
From arrival to departure the staff were friendly professional and prompt,and made us feel very welcome..
The hotel is beautiful and the attention to detail is wonderful,it really is almost too perfect..our room was on the second floor with a very large balcony,it was so comfortable and the beds were very good with beautiful quality bed linen..beautiful spacious bathroom with loads of towels and toiletries..my only complaint no power sockets for a hair dryer ,we had to plug it under the desk and no mirror...the room attendant agreed it was a bit silly..

The breakfast was fresh plentiful and delicious and the food from the bistro was very good with lots of traditional items..
But no license for alcohol ,they did mention it should be issued soon..
Great location very easy to walk to local attractions
Would return again ..can't recommend this oasis enough..

Stayed January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank amf227
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 January 2014

My husband and I spent the first night of our honeymoon at Tintagel, and it couldn't have been a more perfect introduction to this beautiful country.

We were greeted by a handsome and incredibly warm and friendly gentleman, who was standing on the steps of the stunning mansion. We were brought to a chic and perfectly decorated room and were thrilled with how elegant and beautiful the interiors of the mansion were. I'm an interior designer, and I immediately began to photograph every nook and cranny of the hotel, because everything was so inspiring.

Although the hotel was beautiful, what we were most overwhelmed by was the level of service at Tintagel. Upon our arrival, we were told that breakfast would be served the following morning beginning at 7:30am. Since we were STARVING (just got off a flight from NYC) and knew that we had to catch a 7am train the next morning, we asked if we could eat our complimentary brunch NOW, not tomorrow. They granted our request without a moment's hesitation.
That is how every request was dealt with by their staff - easily and happily. It is clear that their #1 priority is to make sure that their guests feel at home, happy and comfortable.

Most notably, when we were heading to the airport to leave Sri Lanka, we were stuck in Colombo for a few hours. Our train dropped us off in Colombo at 6pm and our flight wasn't until 3am. We arrived on the doorstep of Tintagel with no room booked and asked if we could rest in the lobby for SIX HOURS until we left for the airport. We were completely aware that this was a difficult request, and we totally expected to be turned away.

Rather than kick us out, the incredible Manager on Duty (Dan) was a dream come true. First off, his English was fluent. Secondly, he couldn't have been more sympathetic to our situation. Thirdly, he actually APOLOGIZED that they were fully booked that evening, and told us that if they had a room available, we would have been given access to it free of charge. Lastly, he had housekeeping clean the massage room in the spa, and gave us the keys to that room, free of charge, so that we would have a place to nap and shower and relax. It was a dream come true.

I have never gotten such flawless service in my life. Considering that these were the last few hours of my honeymoon, and that we were about to leave for a 27 hour trip back to New York... I will be eternally grateful to Dan and his incredible team at Tintagel.

Anyone who finds themselves in Colombo MUST stay at Tintagel.
I could not recommend it more strongly.

Room Tip: Rooms on the second (upper) floor are better - they are away from the public space and feel a bit mo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TLorelei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
83 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 January 2014

Staff friendly and helpful. Continental breakfast was only on offer, but was tasty and plentiful. We were probably given the worst room/suite (number 2) which is on the ground floor next to the kitchen, generator and goods delivery entrance. The bathroom smelt and the room lounge was dark and oppressive. There was only one small TV opposite the bed. It was a shame as the history of the hotel and the positive image it has was the reason we chose the hotel, however our room did not live up to the hype.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Colombo hotels
1.7 mi away
Cinnamon Lakeside Colombo
1.7 mi away
Galle Face Hotel Colombo
0.8 mi away
Uga Residence
Uga Residence
#1 of 52 in Colombo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 208 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Cinnamon Red Colombo
Cinnamon Red Colombo
#6 of 52 in Colombo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,598 reviews
1.5 mi away
Cinnamon Grand Colombo
1.5 mi away
Colombo Courtyard
Colombo Courtyard
#8 of 52 in Colombo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 701 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Paradise Road Tintagel Colombo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Paradise Road Tintagel Colombo

Property: Paradise Road Tintagel Colombo
Address: 65 Rosmead Place, Colombo 07, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Western Province > Colombo
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Colombo
#1 Romantic Hotel in Colombo
#2 Luxury Hotel in Colombo
#5 Business Hotel in Colombo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Paradise Road Tintagel Colombo 4.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tintagel is a unique and private hotel, situated in the heart of Colombo's most elite neighborhood. Offering 10 individually designed suites with all modern amenities and services, Tintagel is housed in a stunning heritage structure of national importance that was previously home to three of Sri Lanka's political leaders. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Ebookers, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Paradise Road Tintagel Colombo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Paradise Road Tintagel Colombo Hotel Colombo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing