We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A home from home in Colombo”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Paradise Road Tintagel Colombo
Ranked #5 of 56 Hotels in Colombo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 April 2014

The staff are so willing, friendly and almost anticipate your needs. It is so easy to get a tuk tuk to most places of interest. The hotel is so quiet and calm in such a busy city. The breakfasts were cooked to requirements and I can recommend the scrambled eggs. The hotel does not have a liquor licence, but you can order in any drinks and they will serve, if notice is given. We were in room 6, and this was slightly noisy due to a private function outside in the small garden area, but the function stopped at 9.30 pm. It has a small pool, very private, a well equipped gym and steam and massage room. These were not being used when we were there but all were available. Nice big beds, very good cooling system.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rbcorpe-travellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (613)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

346 - 352 of 613 reviews

Reviewed 8 April 2014

My husband and I recently stayed for 2 nights at this Hotel and it was excellent. The actual building itself is beautiful and grand. The decor of the room was faultless, very clean and in the style of the rest of the Hotel. The location in Cinammon Gardens is great as everything you need is nearby. (2 nights is enough in Colombo!!). The staff were exceptional - they bent over backwards to make our stay as enjoyable as possible. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GSTravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2014

My husband and I stayed here with our twin 2 yr old daughters after an overnight flight into Colombo. The staff was so welcoming, brought us refreshing cold towels and ginger beverages, and apologized profusely for not having our room ready... at 8:00am. Obviously, we never expected to check in so early, so the fact that our room was ready within 45 minutes of our arrival was wonderful. Also wonderful was the upgrade from a standard room to a huge two-room suite with access to a beautiful balcony (South West Room). We were able to put the baby cots for our girls in one room while we had our own huge, private bedroom.

The hotel is within walking distance to some nice sites, and tuk-tuks and taxis are easily available for short drives. We walked to Odel's to do some shopping. (As a side note, if you want to shop in Colombo, we didn't think Odel's was a good use of our time. Wish we had taken a cab and shopped at Barefoot instead.) The breakfast at this hotel was really wonderful, and the service was great from start to finish.

Two things: we did have trouble with hot water in the shower in the morning, but not in the tub. We didn't see this as a huge issue. Also, the hotel has no liquor license, but they do have a wine list and will run out to buy your selection of wine, etc. from the liquor store down the street. As for us, we bought a bottle at duty-free upon arrival and brought it along.

Overall, we had a great stay, and we would happily return to the Tintagel for a longer stay the next time we are in Colombo.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Anonymous12211
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2014

Lunch was good but for the price, one expects more. While I realize it is primarily a hotel, the decor in the dining area did not work - the rooms were dark and felt closed in - perhaps because it was a home, originally, and not designed to be a restaurant. The outdoor area was lovely although the hot weather made it hard to stay outside for long.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank JADSNYC2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2014

This hotel promises a lot and delivers little. From far it looks so good and so it should be for $274 (with discount) for one night. I was given a room with a broken bed with springs that creaked, a shower that stopped working wile my wife was in it, a toilet that wouldn't flush, taps that didn't work (video taken), a dirty floor with dust under the bed, a dirty old carpet full of stains ... I asked for an iron and was given a dangerously wired and done-in old thing with an equally manky ironing board. When I went down for breakfast there was another guest from Germany complaining that his shower wasn't working either because the pressure kept going off and then on. Basically this hotel is in dire need of good management and renovation. It needs a throughly good clean and the whole place needs rewiring and re-plumbing because it hasn't been done in years.

As for the service, I asked for a bottle of beer and was told it would take 15 minutes to arrive (no alcohol licence), which was fair enough. After 45 minutes nothing had turned up and I asked the waiter where my drink was. It had been there for half an hour but they had forgotten to bring it to me. Perhaps they could be forgiven if the place was packed but there were about ten people downstairs so what on earth were they playing at?

So with all this going on I complained on the morning we were leaving. Before that I had asked for a taxi and was informed the hotel taxi would cost 9,000 rupees to the airport - the taxi from the Gateway Hotel to central Colombo had cost us 4,800 rupees for an equal distance in a Toyota Prius. Basically, this place is a total rip-off. If you want a good hotel, with great service at half the price go to the Galle Face Hotel. Prince Charles stayed at the Tintagel - I doubt his valet ironed his shirts with the same iron.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank John A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2014

What a great way to end a fantastic holiday in Sri Lanka. The hotel is beautiful, rooms fantastic and food in the restaurant amazing. Make sure you order your wine in advance as they will purchase for you as they do not alcohol. We had to rush breakfast as we had an early flight but the staff were great at accommodating us at 0630am and what we did manage to sample was good.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank H0lib0bs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2014

We stayed here as an overnight before catching our plane home. Wished we'd stayed another night! Wonderful room, in a gem of a building. Fabulous food! Thought our lunch waiter a bit off-hand--unusual for Sri Lanka. Everyone else was super friendly, super helpful. Handled our 6.00am wake up call with aplomb and breakfast on the run. One-day visit not enough!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Roger D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Colombo hotels
1.7 mi away
Galle Face Hotel Colombo
1.7 mi away
Cinnamon Lakeside Colombo
0.8 mi away
Uga Residence
Uga Residence
#1 of 56 in Colombo
346 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Cinnamon Grand Colombo
0.9 mi away
Movenpick Hotel Colombo
Movenpick Hotel Colombo
#8 of 56 in Colombo
524 reviews
1.5 mi away
Colombo Court Hotel & Spa
Colombo Court Hotel & Spa
#11 of 56 in Colombo
839 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Paradise Road Tintagel Colombo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Paradise Road Tintagel Colombo

Address: 65 Rosmead Place, Colombo 07, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Western Province > Colombo
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Colombo
#5 Business Hotel in Colombo
#5 Luxury Hotel in Colombo
Price Range: £167 - £289 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Paradise Road Tintagel Colombo 4.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tintagel is a unique and private hotel, situated in the heart of Colombo's most elite neighborhood. Offering 10 individually designed suites with all modern amenities and services, Tintagel is housed in a stunning heritage structure of national importance that was previously home to three of Sri Lanka's political leaders. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, MrandMrsSmith, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Ctrip TA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Paradise Road Tintagel Colombo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Paradise Road Tintagel Colombo Hotel Colombo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing