We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best Hotel In Colombo” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Paradise Road Tintagel Colombo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Paradise Road Tintagel Colombo
Ranked #2 of 52 Hotels in Colombo
Certificate of Excellence
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Best Hotel In Colombo”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2014

During our honeymoon in Sri Lanka we wanted to spend a few nights in Colombo prior to embarking on a tour across the country. We decided to stay at Tintagel due to the classic look and feel of the property and it being centrally located. The highlight of the trip was the level of service along with the quality of the food served at hotel. Each and every course from the appetisers to the desert was mouthwatering. I will definitely recommend the hotel to any traveller looking for a wonderful boutique hotel in the heart of colombo.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jussi T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

532 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    371
    112
    37
    5
    7
See reviews for
97
255
34
39
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2014 via mobile

This definitely the number one hotel in Colombo. Take it from me...I'm beyond hard to please and live in five star hotels.

The property is like a private home akin to an Aman resort but in the city. The staff treats you like family and the breakfast on my terrace every morning was lovely.

I was in Sri Lanka for ayurvedic treatments sand the hotel is a stone's throw from Sidahalepa spa.

Many thanks to the owner and his lovely team for a time well spent. I look forward to returning soon.

Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank FFZRH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2014 via mobile

From the moment you arrive, this hotel nurtures you with luxury.
The foyer, filled with sweet blooms and impeccably styled, will make you stop to take it all in.
We had the fortune of meeting Mr Paradise Rd, a charismatic man who had spent 10 years in my hometown of Melbourne with design stores.
The staff all excelled at their jobs, the two wonderful gentlemen on reception an asset to the business.
We stayed in two separate rooms over two visits, and both times were impressed with the opulence.
Would have no hesitation in recommending this hotel to anyone.
Note- the hotel is not licensed to sell alcohol but do permit you to purchase your own and drink in their red bar..
Which naturally is amazing
A win!

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank amandagcullen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2014

We stayed at Tintagel for couple of days. (june 2 onwards). Very peaceful and quiet hotel which is why we chose this as we were married on that day. we fallen love with the structure of this boutique hotel. Our suite was very spacious and had a plunge pool. Food was absolutely great with great service. Overall we had very pleasant stay. highly recommended.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ratnasingam S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
La Jolla, California
Level Contributor
27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2014

We arrived at Tintagel after a very long journey and were delighted with our room - we stayed in the Royal Suite where they had put two extra beds in the sitting room for our daughters. We spent two nights at Tintagel before setting off on our two week tour of the island. The staff were professional and the service was impeccable. The furnishings and decor of this incredible boutique hotel were so beautiful and in keeping with the unique style of the Paradise Road brand. The common areas are gorgeous and we enjoyed a swim in the pool.
The breakfast we enjoyed in the garden was outstanding - the food beautifully prepared and presented.
We would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: the Royal Suite was lovely. Though I imagine all of the rooms are equally lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank webb1994
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chennai
Level Contributor
56 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2014

Tintagel in Colombo is a lovely old house..which has been renovated.
Rooms are all done up beautifully in different styles and colors.
Enjoyed our stay here.but food was dissapointing.
The hotel group owns a restaurant called Gallery cafe which is much better to eat at..
The breakfast was pathetic for such a lovely property,no Srilankan food whatsoever.
Food service also extremely slow..

Room Tip: Front suite rooms are very spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mayaChennai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AFS79, Director, Paradise Road at Paradise Road Tintagel Colombo, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
Dear Madam,

Thank you for your recent review of Tintagel Colombo!

We take our reviews seriously and have subsequently had meetings with our F&B department about your comments. Food is a very important aspect of all our properties and falling short, as you have mentioned, in both quality and service is just not acceptable.

We do have Sri Lankan dishes on our menu, but Sri Lankan breakfast does need to be advised in advance (the night before). Sri Lankan breakfast requires some preparation and as we are a small property with only 10 suites, this is the reason for the advance notice required as at the time of order, service time would be delayed.
We apologise that our staff have not checked with you the evening prior to allow you this opportunity.
We do pride ourselves on the Sri Lankan dishes being family recipes and authentic although presented in a contemporary manner.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Tintagel Colombo!

Thank you,

Yours in Service,

The Management
Paradise Road Tintagel Colombo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minsk, Belarus
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2014 via mobile

We spent two nights in this beautiful boutique hotel. It is situated in a nicer part of Colombo with many other mansions in the vicinity. The rooms are authentically decorated in the colonial period style. Breakfast and other meals are served on a private terrace or in the indoor living space. There is a comfortable reading room and a 15-meter pool. Major city attractions are either within walking distance or a short drive in a three-wheeler.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Natalia C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Colombo hotels
1.7 mi away
Cinnamon Lakeside Colombo
1.7 mi away
Galle Face Hotel Colombo
0.8 mi away
Uga Residence
Uga Residence
#1 of 52 in Colombo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 209 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Cinnamon Red Colombo
Cinnamon Red Colombo
#6 of 52 in Colombo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,598 reviews
1.5 mi away
Cinnamon Grand Colombo
1.5 mi away
Colombo Courtyard
Colombo Courtyard
#8 of 52 in Colombo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 701 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Paradise Road Tintagel Colombo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Paradise Road Tintagel Colombo

Property: Paradise Road Tintagel Colombo
Address: 65 Rosmead Place, Colombo 07, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Western Province > Colombo
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Colombo
#1 Romantic Hotel in Colombo
#2 Luxury Hotel in Colombo
#5 Business Hotel in Colombo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Paradise Road Tintagel Colombo 4.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tintagel is a unique and private hotel, situated in the heart of Colombo's most elite neighborhood. Offering 10 individually designed suites with all modern amenities and services, Tintagel is housed in a stunning heritage structure of national importance that was previously home to three of Sri Lanka's political leaders. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Ebookers, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Paradise Road Tintagel Colombo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Paradise Road Tintagel Colombo Hotel Colombo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing