We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Paradise Road Tintagel Colombo
Nearby Hotels
US$209
US$163
Booking.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$167
US$156
Hotels.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$128
US$124
Booking.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$169
Booking.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$233
US$163
Booking.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$209
US$195
Booking.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$134
US$104
Booking.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$187
US$167
Trip.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
OZO Colombo(Colombo)
US$159
US$93
Booking.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$186
US$166
Expedia.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (636)
Filter reviews
636 results
Traveller rating
444
129
45
8
10
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
444
129
45
8
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsprince charlesboutique hotelprime ministershanth fernandovilla bentotaformer residencesri lankaroyal suitemassage roomplunge poolginger beerred bargallery cafefour poster bedtreaclecinnamon gardensthe ground floor
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
546 - 551 of 636 reviews
Reviewed 22 April 2010

We stayed here only one night and have not stayed in other hotels in Colombo. We supposed to have stayed in an executive suite, but to us it looked more like a standard room. Pluses: staff is nice and professional. If you like the modern minimalistic black style (like A Hempel's hotels); interior nicely done. Negative: bathroom too small (cramped room -bath too small to lie- just put in to have a 5 star rate). Wardrobe too small to hang your cloths in. Walls not insulated so you can hear your neighbours and everything on the corridor/ in the hall. And be aware the swimming pool is too small to swim in.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank anonymous01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AFSingh, Director at Paradise Road Tintagel Colombo, responded to this reviewResponded 26 April 2010

Dear Madam,

I'm terribly sorry for the 'ordinary' impression Tintagel Colombo has left on you!

As a small boutique property with only 10 suites, each one is different from the other. We have 07 executive suites, all varying in size. Our floor plans and square areas of each room including the ensuite, wardrobe/dressing rooms and courtyards/balconies on our website clearly show the different options available for guests.
Most Executive Suites are very large rooms some with more generous bathrooms than others which you will see on the website.

Being a property in the city, rather than a 'resort', where guests stay an average maximum of 3 nights and are visiting more on business or transitting whilst on holiday in other areas of the island, the lap pool usually suffices most.
Our resort property, on the other hand, has a much larger pool as guests usually stay there for longer periods of time.

Our walls are original old double brick thickness and not one bedroom is neighbouring another bedroom so it is definitely concerning that you were able to hear your neighbours.
Should you wish to visit us again, I recommend you make an advance request for a specific suite or the very much larger Superior Suites as they are allocated in order of reservation received and as requested.

We do hope to welcome you again to our hotel!

Yours in Service,

The Management
Tintagel Colombo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2010

Having travelled to Colombo before on business and being totally unimpressed by Colombo hotels, we had tried to avoid an overnight stay and had hoped to drive to Galle on arrival. Thankfully, our best laid plans did not pan out and we had the absolute pleasure of discovering the Tintagel.
The Tintagel is a restored colonial home which has been meticulously upgraded to create a heavenly, elegant boutique hotel. The property cleverly maintains it's colonial facade and incorporates painting, sculptures and pottery from local artisans. The foyer is magnificent with baby grand, a decadent black and white colour scheme and the most comfy of sofas. The Red Bar is FABULOUS and beckons guests for a quiet drink or chat. The rooms are a welcome respite from the Colombo heat and mayhem and offer five star luxury .........beautiful bathrooms, lavish lotions, regal four poster beds and the softest of linens. The staff are world class and happily whisked us to our rooms when they saw how tired the children were on arrival. The restaurant is DIVINE ....... it was an absolute joy to wake up at the Tintagel, shower in their fabulous bathrooms and then make your way to the parterre garden for a delicious breakfast with fresh juices, yoghurts, coffees and the best scrambled eggs ever.
There is simply NOWHERE ELSE to stay in Colombo. If you cant enjoy the hotel for a night, stop for dinner on the way to the airport......the menu is superb, the food is divine and the staff are attentive........

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank famililuxe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2010

We had a very short stay on our way home at Tintagel, but would love to come back to sample more! Lovely rooms (we were in the East suite, which being on the ground floor was easy but a little noisy until guests left after dinner) with beatufil interiors and bathrooms. The food once again at a Paradise Road establishment was top - compliments to the chef and his team.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JulesLC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2010

The place is for those who is not on business, who feels class, who has taste and who can appreciate the fusion of the style of Sri-Lankan rich mansion and the latest designer's stuff en vogue.

We stayed at the hotel once, which we liked a lot, but each time we are in Colombo we come for dinner.

That is a place you should not miss when you are in Colombo.

  • Stayed: October 2008, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank garfieldMoscow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2010

Entering the gate and then the portico of this small mansion hotel, is breathtaking. It is a lovely property that is very tastefully decorated with exquisite modern interiors... The theme of black, gray, green, white with beige carefully flows from room to room.. Absolutely stunning. (I do wish that the Management would tend to details like getting the dirt off the carpet white stripes and the soil off of the signature big cream chairs, however. That is sad.)

The staff are wonderful and always ready to help... even offer to bring tea when you hadn't thought of it! It will be so good when they get a liquor license so you can have a glass of wine in one of the most beautiful bars I have ever seen.. The Red Bar. There is a spa room but they have to call someone to give treatments and even suggested that I go to a local premise for a pedicure. Then on the bright side, they have their very own tuk-tuk that can take you to other Paradise Road outlets.

The room was spacious and a visual feast (except for the soiled white lounge chair). All this place needs is a little attention to detail and.... it is not too late!

Once Sri Lanka gets even more tourist traffic, this hotel will be very busy and all these little concerns will be taken care of I am sure. It is truly one of the most beautiful city places we have ever stayed..

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SElizabethRP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AFSingh, Director at Paradise Road Tintagel Colombo, responded to this reviewResponded 27 February 2010

Dear Madam,

I thank you for your review and we are so happy you enjoyed your stay in Colombo!

Unfortunately, the law in Sri Lanka at the moment does not permit us to have a liquor license due to our proximity to a local girls school, however we are hopeful that the Tourist Board nonetheless will award us a license considering our discerning patronage.
We do however, permit guests to bring in their own alcohol and will even mix cocktails. With duty free shopping at the airport being very reasonable, this most definitely does have an impact on guests' final bills.

I do hope that by the time you visit us again, we will have the license and you will be eased of the inconvenience of pre-planning!

Yours in Service,

The Management
Tintagel Colombo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews