We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Hostel Style” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Indra Regent Hotel - Colombo, Sri Lanka

Indra Regent Hotel - Colombo, Sri Lanka
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Indra Regent Hotel - Colombo, Sri Lanka
Ranked #45 of 51 Hotels in Colombo
Male
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Hostel Style”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 November 2012

Simple hotel, which has more like hostel flair. Staff is okay, improvement for attention is there. Rooms are simple but clean. Food is okay, average. Bed is uncomfortable. Plus: Bellboys. Minus: No WiFI in the rooms. You have to go to the restaurant / lobby.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank StefanFriedmann76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1
    9
    13
    20
    9
See reviews for
5
14
11
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
India
Level Contributor
255 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 September 2012

This hotel is meant for people really on a tight budget and still want to stay within the city. Rooms are small, average clean. Food is horrible. Breakfast menu stays same for all days with bread, butter and coffee and small plate of fruits. Internet is very slow.

The bed sheets and towels looked really old and needed a drastic changeover. No windows in most of the rooms. No hot water during the stay as the solar heater was not working. Aircon too had problems which was rectified the next day. TV has only few channels and mostly Tamil.

Good restaurants are about 15 minutes walk away from the hotel.

Though staff want to help, they are unable to as they do not have the resources. Not recommended unless you are on a money saving trip.

Room Tip: Request for a big sized bed and large room right at time of booking or you end up with very small co...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MAB-India
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Colombo hotels

Bern, Switzerland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 September 2012

We stayed at this hotel for 2 nights at the end of our holiday in Sri Lanka. We always stayed at simple hotels and guesthouses, so details like having a fan without blades on it we hardly even noticed. However, we will remember this hotel as we had a room without windows. From walking past other rooms and talking to other guests, we know that our room was not the only one without windows. Additionally, our room was located almost right on top of the night club next door - the music started around 11pm and continued until the early morning hours at a volume where we could almost sing along with the songs. Needless to say we did not sleep much that night.

The next morning we asked for a different room away from the night club (we considered having a window a second priority). Our new room had a window and a functioning fan, however the window could not be opened and we couldn't actually see through the glass - but it was nice to have some daylight.

Apart from the noise-and-window hick-ups, this hotel had a similar standard to the rest of the places where we had been staying. Free wifi was available in the lobby, and the showers had warm water.

The location of the hotel is quite good. When you would like to have breakfast at the hotel, it is better to pay for this on the spot than to pre-order it at the time of your online hotel booking, because the price on the spot is lower than what is charged online. There are also several bakeries near the hotel, so it is easy to have breakfast outside.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the night club when you hope to get some sleep.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank msc_ch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canada
Level Contributor
49 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2012

Location is decent, and wifi is free, that's where positives end.
Staff is disinterested, rooms are very basic, our bathroom smelled like sewer.
For the money they charge, it's very poor value.
Didn't try the attached restaurant but it also looked overpriced with so many options nearby.

Room Tip: WiFi only available close to reception.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank vrab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2012

Colombo has many mid-range hotels, the Indra Regent is one of those but while in the lower half for quality it prices itself above that.

Price aside the hotel is clean and the rooms basic but presentable, on the positive side the Indra Regent is easy to find for tuk-tuk and taxi drivers (more of a challenge than you'd think) and well located for the sea front train stations and only a short trip to Fort train station.

The attached restaurant is excellent, specialising in India food it is both well priced and offers some wonderfully cooked dishes (tandori and byriani were very good).

In my opinion this makes an ideal overnight stop before moving on from Colombo but not somewhere to speand any more time.

Room Tip: Rooms away from the road are quieter, make sure you ask when booking. And very limited for twin r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Old-man-walking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DUBAI
Level Contributor
112 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2012

Good location, good karoke, good massage centre and easy access 2
beach and good restaurant.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DubaiAnand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 December 2011

We had trouble to find a hotel not full in colombo at this period, trying also not to be too far from the center. The location of the hotel is convenient
As for the rest, the hotel stays incredibly pricy (60 USD for a night, breakfast excl) compare to the standart they are trying to sell. The room was really simple, the clealiness of the bathroom was really limit and really close by you have a discotheque that believe it or not but on a monday is full on and playing loudy and crapy music. The staff was however nice but with an important number of rooms maybe keep this hotel as a back up plan.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PakArthurBali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Colombo hotels
0.4 mi away
Ocean Edge Suites & Hotel, Colombo
2.6 mi away
Sai Sea City Hotel (P) Ltd
Sai Sea City Hotel (P) Ltd
#42 of 51 in Colombo
3.0 of 5 bubbles 82 reviews
0.4 mi away
Renuka City Hotel
Renuka City Hotel
#17 of 51 in Colombo
3.5 of 5 bubbles 616 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Colombo Courtyard
Colombo Courtyard
#8 of 51 in Colombo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 691 reviews
2.6 mi away
Lafala Hotel
Lafala Hotel
#36 of 51 in Colombo
3.5 of 5 bubbles 77 reviews
0.4 mi away
De-Colombo Boutique
De-Colombo Boutique
#34 of 51 in Colombo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Indra Regent Hotel - Colombo, Sri Lanka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Indra Regent Hotel - Colombo, Sri Lanka

Property: Indra Regent Hotel - Colombo, Sri Lanka
Address: 383 Duplication Rd | Colpetty, Colombo 00300, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Western Province > Colombo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #45 of 51 Hotels in Colombo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury full-service 3 star hotel in the heart of Colombo city, close to shopping, sightseeing, business districts. All rooms air condtioned with tv, telephone, mini-fridge, attached bathrooms. In-house restaurants, bars, Karaoke club. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Indra Regent Hotel - Colombo, Sri Lanka reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing