We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place”

Royal Colombo Golf Club
Attraction details
Kandy, Sri Lanka
Level Contributor
74 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Nice place”
Reviewed 22 December 2013

Its a nice old golf club with tradition and good service and specially members only. I liked it thee food is really good staff has been there and knows exactly how to service to a very high standard.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Kanishka M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

143 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    40
    63
    21
    9
    10
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Bali
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Olde World”
Reviewed 18 December 2013

I like how I can still find my grandfather's name up on the awards board (from the 1930s!). Seriously, this place gives you a good idea of how things used to be. Nice building and ofcourse lovely course.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank BaliSarah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
405 reviews
37 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
“super for lunch”
Reviewed 11 December 2013

we arrived early and sat out on the veranda of the 8th Green, enjoyed 2 huge bloody Mary's. We ordered lunch and was invited inside to eat. Coffee back on the veranda. Service was friendly but slow, but nice to sit and observe local golfers enjoy their golf and club

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank spark41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cyprus
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Be Aware”
Reviewed 27 November 2013

Royal Colombo Golf Club was a reasonable course to play, over the past ten years it has lost its way with visiting golfers, they do not have the welcoming aura that I once experienced and are most certainly not cheap, 65 U S may sound reasonable, but they do not tell you of the enforced caddie charge, plus the tip the caddies expect once the round is finished.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank maldtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
seattle
Level Contributor
313 reviews
38 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 215 helpful votes
“poor condition with funky layout”
Reviewed 1 November 2013

Played one round here and was disappointed. No information about temp greens until I found out on the first green. Full price for temps for this average course isn't worth it and I'm not sure it would be even with regular greens. Least favorite of the 3 courses I played (Colombo, Kandy, Nuwara Eliya).

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank drtravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Royal Colombo Golf Club also viewed

 

Been to Royal Colombo Golf Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing