We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not the best Hotel but OK”
Review of Pearl City Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Pearl City Hotel
Ranked #48 of 163 Colombo B&B and Inns
Reviewed 28 November 2013

If you are on Budget this Hotel is Ok to stay, its quite old but you can rooms for value if you know how to deal with Srilankan's you wont get ripped off. Most of the time this Hotel is full of Maldivians. But Also have other nationality Guests as well. Well Located near Goal Road and just 2 minutes walk to Majectic City

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cookmv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (90)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

44 - 50 of 90 reviews

Reviewed 13 November 2013

I stayed there for night and this hotel is very good as per its location. Rooms need to be refurnished otherwise staff is very co operative . I got room on sea face on 7th floor and its location is fantastic. I suggest this hotel again to stay here as I am also staying again here on 1st December 2013.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip
2  Thank Rushabh1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2013

We spent 3 nights in this hotel and the service was excellent and the boys did their best to make us smile! Good view and the location is excellent! They allowed us to check-out later as I had to go to hospital and stay 2 nights. I recommend!

Room Tip: 615 nice room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tina T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2013

Hotel was not that bad .help-full staff .rooms were above average , view from room facing the sea especially where we stayed( 5th floor) was amazing at dawn and and dusk ! above all great staff with excellent customer service ..rooms were priced pretty well .only hiccup was the air condition which gave us a little problem but it was taken care of..overall a good experience.

Room Tip: Higher floors the better!!! rooms facing the sea :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sergio_dsilva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2013

I mixed up my date and booked the room one day later than my actual arrival. But they allow me to check-in and change the booking free of charge. The reception's attitude was very nice. The room was clean. The bathroom was well-equipped.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank theresa2046
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2013

We didn't book any room in advance and go around by tuk tuk to look for hotel, since the one at opposite is not cheap, more than 100usd so we decided to try this one, reception is awful, look so old and keep everything from the 80s, we asked for a clean and high floor room, oh my god the room painted in pink color, very old, very small, toilet also becoming yellow color, in my opinion it is like a hourly motel for those prostitute to work there. We feel so bad there and didn't check-in at all. This is kind of a place where look like 20 years without maintenance and you feel pressure sitting inside. If you have some money try to avoid this place !

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank QuakM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2013 via mobile

We booked this hotel but at check in they told us we'll be upgraded to rhe Pearl Grand Hotel. This was directly next door. I can just say something to the Pearl Grand.

Reception was absolutely nice and helpfull. The room was not very big (the only minus). It had a big flat TV , a DVD player, a nice bathroom with a big shower and the bed was unbelieable confortable! There was also a small balcony for smoking.

The best is on top of the roof is a swimming pool with a beautiful view over Colombo.

Brekfast was good. Whith a lot of warm Sri Lankan food and also muesli, froods, toast etc.

The hotel is 2 km from the main station (Colombo Fort). The way takes about 20 Minutes because of the traffic. Distance to the airport took more then 1 hour by taxi and price was 2800 Rupien (about 20 $).

By the way: Colombo is ok for a overnight stay when you arrive but the city itself is just loud, crowded, stinky and not interisting for tourists!

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 454Laura
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Colombo hotels
0 mi away
Pearl Grand Hotel
Pearl Grand Hotel
#30 of 56 in Colombo
302 reviews
0.9 mi away
Renuka City Hotel
Renuka City Hotel
#23 of 56 in Colombo
687 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ceylon City Hotel, Colombo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Sapphire Hotel
Sapphire Hotel
#39 of 56 in Colombo
207 reviews
1.3 mi away
Global Towers Hotel
Global Towers Hotel
#28 of 56 in Colombo
406 reviews
2 mi away
Great Southern Hotel (GSH) Colombo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pearl City Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pearl City Hotel

Address: 17 Baudhaloka Mawatha | Colombo-04, Colombo, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Western Province > Colombo
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #48 of 163 B&Bs / Inns in Colombo
Price Range: £45 - £52 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Pearl City Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 33
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Pearl City Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing