We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a disappointment”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Galle Face Hotel Colombo
Ranked #4 of 54 Hotels in Colombo
Certificate of Excellence
sussex u.k
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“What a disappointment”
Reviewed 21 August 2012

We first visited The Galle Face over 30 years ago and had a fabulous stay in this amazing historic hotel. So when we revisited Sri Lanka we thought we would go back. We arrived at lunchtime to a very disinterested concierge who said The Veranda was serving a buffet and that was our only option for lunch. The buffet was at best average and some of the dishes inedible. The service was poor and the entire building appeared unloved and run down. The hotel has an amazing position overlooking the sea and is potentially a beautiful hotel but would not be my choice of accommodation whilst in Colombo.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ynot3152
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,899 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,279
    993
    363
    155
    109
See reviews for
575
1,214
215
309
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (755)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bengaluru, India
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 21 August 2012

We stayed in this hotel as we have to catch next day early morning flight.
The Hotel has a great location advantage, however services can be improved.
Staffs are very nice and cautious
Food is good
Room size is very small.
Bathroom need to be more hygienic
Cleanliness can be improved

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank samar_july
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2012

hotel's good as far at you're looking at from the street or the Beach!
Rooms quality ( despite we were in the Regency wing supposed to be the best) ) is poor with small rooms , no multimedias facilities and TV out of age .
restaurant is low average with minimum service .
Swimming pool quite nice with decent space to swim .
This hotel needs a real rejuvenation to pretend to be an enjoyable place to stay in

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Panhard35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Asia
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2012

This hotel is in a wonderful location with a huge garden and restaurant areas facing the sea. You could just sit there all day and enjoy the view and listen to the waves. The rooms on the old side are a bit run down but have character and are kept fairly clean, sheets and bathrooms are clean. Some upgrade is needed though, for example the mini TV is so old that you cannot actually properly tune onto any channels. Note that WIFI is not free, you are not informed of this before hand. The price per night is all in all too high but just because of the special character of the place it is worth staying here at least one night when passing through Colombo. The buffet at breakfast/lunch/dinner has so many options that everyone should be able to find what they like.The downside of this is the service at the buffet restaurant which does not match the feel of the place.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JQ2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pasadena, California
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2012

We stayed in the Regency wing after taking advice from reviews on tripadvisor - this turned out to be a good move, if only for the quality of the bathrooms, and the quietness of the room. My mother was staying in the classic wing and her bathroom was very old, and the noise from a wedding in the hotel caused her to move rooms.

But back to the Regency wing - our room was a "Regency Superior Room". We booked online via the hotel website (which was difficult, but we got there eventually). We asked for an airport pickup, which amazingly was actually there when we arrived - the driver was standing with a sign. There is a desk for the hotel at the airport but it doesn't say Galle Face - it says "Ceylon Hotel Group" or something like that - our driver told us later.

The trip to the hotel took an hour on a saturday night. Driver was very informative and drove very well.

The room was nice - not European 5* standard but still good enough. The floor was in serious need of mopping but we didn't mind (they provided slippers). We had complementary bottles of water, and a complementary bowl of fruit provided. There was also coffee and tea. The bathroom looked recently renovated and was lovely.

The room had an electricity adaptor plug but it didn't really work with our Australian devices (unless sparks were what you were going for).... the original plug hole in the wall was UK-shaped.

As a reward for booking via the hotel website we got "happy hour" access to the VIP lounge (6-730pm or similar) where we could drink to our hearts content.

Breakfast buffet was spectacular, hotel staff were unfailingly helpful, but internet access was a painful $15 per 24hrs.

The Afternoon Tea was a bit of a joke - in terms of actually getting someone to bring you some tea - but the food was excellent and it was reasonably priced. The buffet dinner was ok, but not memorable.

The swimming pool was nice (but a bit cold by Sri Lankan standards!) as was the pool bar.

Would definitely make this my first stop if I was ever in Colombo again.

Room Tip: Definitely go for the Regency Wing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amanda K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chennai (Madras), India
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2012

On entering Galle Road, Colombo, you just have to stop and admire the Galle Face Hotel. It is a landmark in every way. One of the oldest running hotels in the world. We enjoyed our stay there. Its beautiful to just spend time inside the rooms (especially the Deluxe rooms and the suites) or around the hotel. It seems like there is a piece of history on every floor of the hotel. So many historical figures have stayed there. The old sturdy wooden floors, staircases and cielings are still shiny and solid. The lifts are old fashioned and function smoothly. My daughter loved riding them even if it was only to the first floor. Food was great, especially the breakfast. The tea could be better, stronger since it is afterall a Tea paradise. The only drawback is that wooden floors tend to carry noise and hence the second floor rooms are much quieter than those on the first floor.

Room Tip: Chose sea view on the 2nd floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anuradha K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2012

We stayed here for one night after arriving in an early flight from Mumbai Friday 27 July. Urge you to stay here instead of Negombo which is what many tourists do. Old Colonial charm sums it up, loads of character, sevice was friendly, air conditioning efficient, food delicious, and the sea water pool a real delight (is this the only sea water pool in SR?). Our bedrooms were lovely: softest cotton sheets, huge bed, creaky wooden floors, gorgeous views. Ancient elevator, Victorian artefacts, lovely place to recover from the long haul from UK.
We paid to have the breakfast on day of arrival, boy was it worth it, and then slept under shade by the pool listening to the crashing waves of the Indian Ocean whilst waiting for our rooms. We retrieved swimwear and change of clothes from luggage. The changing rooms have shower.
Half way through the next day, far from Colombo, we discovered that one of our group had left her i-phone in her room. The hotel had found it and kept it for collection before flights home: now that is exceptional service!Thank you Galle Face for giving us a great start to our visit.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IrishMollie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Colombo hotels
0.7 mi away
Cinnamon Lakeside Colombo
0.2 mi away
Cinnamon Grand Colombo
0.2 mi away
Taj Samudra Colombo
Taj Samudra Colombo
#8 of 54 in Colombo
2,168 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Cinnamon Red Colombo
Cinnamon Red Colombo
#7 of 54 in Colombo
1,810 reviews
1.7 mi away
Colombo Courtyard
Colombo Courtyard
#9 of 54 in Colombo
764 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Kingsbury
The Kingsbury
#14 of 54 in Colombo
1,685 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Galle Face Hotel Colombo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Galle Face Hotel Colombo

Property: Galle Face Hotel Colombo
Address: No. 2, Galle Road, Colombo, Sri Lanka
Phone Number:
Region: Sri Lanka > Western Province > Colombo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 54 Hotels in Colombo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Galle Face Hotel Colombo 5*
Number of rooms: 156
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Presented proudly as Sri Lanka's iconic and historic hotel, Galle Face Hotel is located in heart of Colombo City, along the seafront and facing the famous Galle Face Green.The hotel has 158 well-appointed rooms and suites, with some offering excellent views across the Indian ocean and the fascinating view of evening sunset.There are three restaurants, a gym, spa and unique saltwater swimming pool, overlooking the seafront. Guests here will be convenient as the hotel offers close access to many of the business district,historic cultural sites and landmarks in Colombo, as well nearby shopping. The hotel is a 45-60min journey from the airport.Guests seeking a glimpse of Colombo's history will enjoy the charm of The Galle Face Hotel with its unique, unaltered setting since 1864. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Southall Travel, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Galle Face Hotel Colombo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing