We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Colonial charm” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Galle Face Hotel Colombo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Galle Face Hotel Colombo
Ranked #4 of 52 Hotels in Colombo
Certificate of Excellence
Yangshuo County, China
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Colonial charm”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2012

The Galle Face Hotel is a great hotel to relax for a few days. The ocean frontage location is excellent. Enjoyed the cool sea breeze when strolling along the Galle Face Green in the evenings. It has quite a large swimming pool for doing laps or just relaxing around on the deck chairs. The staff were generally courteous & helpful & the food was very good. Also a great place to sip a cocktail & indulge in some people watching.....lots of interesting looking guests. Perhaps the only gripe would be having to pay for a second rate wifi connection. The charges are exorbitant for what you get.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gary N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,628 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,118
    908
    347
    148
    107
See reviews for
496
1,115
194
281
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (693)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Doha, Qatar
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2012

We stayed here on our first night in Sri Lanka and were very impressed. It was the perfect choice, the setting is great, especially if you are in time for sunset. I contacted the hotel in advance and they arranged for us to be collected from the airport which I would recommend. Our room was in the Regency Wing - we had an upgrade through agoda to a Delux room which was worth it and meant there was a view over the garden to the sea. It was clean and the bathroom was good (walk in shower, marble top vanity and bath). We had the buffet dinner sitting beaside the sea which was great, the breakfast on the veranda was also pretty good! The staff were very friendly and attentive throughout our stay. Our only regret was that we weren't able to stay longer, I would book this hotel again if we return to Colombo in the future.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Regency Wing and would recommend the delux rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pac0611
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
64 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2012 via mobile

Fancy fancy fancy! We stayed in the old part of the hotel and it was completely charming! Great big rooms with wooden floors and really modern bathroom. The beat tea and coffee making facilities (although the kettle was temperamental), genuinely restored well. Air con and comfy beds with a pillow menu, bath robes and slippers. I would stay here again in a blink, we loved it. Great veranda bar! Hindu weddings every day made you know you were in Sri Lanka. Perfect sparkling pool. The lobby on floor one and two smells a little fousty however that is to be expected with the humidity and age of the building. This was not evident in the rooms. Top hotel in a great location and every taxi and tuk tuk driver knows exactly where it is.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Giggle_71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2012

I can honestly say that we had a wonderful week at this elegant hotel. The location is spectacular and our suite in the Regency wing was very comfortable. I have no complaints about the service. The staff was courteous, friendly and helpful at all times. The buffet breakfast is excellent. I am looking forward to staying at the Galle Face again.

Room Tip: Ask for a suite or room facing the sea
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sharmini d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sharjah, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2012

Stayed here from 20th to 21st August. Was really looking forward to staying in this magnificent colonial hotel which is full of history. Well, if Sir Alec Guiness stayed here........

Arrived after a long detour due to police not letting us into the hotel because there was a wedding and so the roundabout (the only access to the hotel) was closed, we reached the hotel where the bell boy took the bags out of the boot and just left them on the road and walked off to chat to the other greeting staff. This left me to carry all the luggage up the stairs to the reception area where I was informed to go to the 'other' reception area because my check in was in the new wing of the hotel....end of conversation - thank you very much.

Room was nice (4th floor) though not particularly big and no view. It was well decorated - the huge walk in shower was wonderful and the AC really did what it suppose to do. There are small pieces of its history scattered around to discover for those interested which and the character of the building really adds to making this a special hotel. Dinner at "Sea Spray" was nice and breakfast the next day was western-Sri Lankan; don't leave your table for long or the crows will have your food!

All in all, if the staff were trained (quite radically) this place would be lovely. Like other reviews have said, it's too expensive (add the taxes of around 25% on the price that you get plus the ridiculous WIFI fee) and it would be better just to go for a drink and a look around. No need to stay here until the services change and a bit of love and pride are restored.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LesHutch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sussex u.k
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2012

We first visited The Galle Face over 30 years ago and had a fabulous stay in this amazing historic hotel. So when we revisited Sri Lanka we thought we would go back. We arrived at lunchtime to a very disinterested concierge who said The Veranda was serving a buffet and that was our only option for lunch. The buffet was at best average and some of the dishes inedible. The service was poor and the entire building appeared unloved and run down. The hotel has an amazing position overlooking the sea and is potentially a beautiful hotel but would not be my choice of accommodation whilst in Colombo.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ynot3152
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2012

We stayed in this hotel as we have to catch next day early morning flight.
The Hotel has a great location advantage, however services can be improved.
Staffs are very nice and cautious
Food is good
Room size is very small.
Bathroom need to be more hygienic
Cleanliness can be improved

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank samar_july
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Colombo hotels
0.7 mi away
Cinnamon Lakeside Colombo
0.9 mi away
Cinnamon Red Colombo
Cinnamon Red Colombo
#7 of 52 in Colombo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,605 reviews
0.2 mi away
Cinnamon Grand Colombo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Taj Samudra Colombo
Taj Samudra Colombo
#8 of 52 in Colombo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,021 reviews
1.7 mi away
Colombo Courtyard
Colombo Courtyard
#9 of 52 in Colombo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 702 reviews
2.7 mi away
OZO Colombo
OZO Colombo
#10 of 52 in Colombo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,174 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Galle Face Hotel Colombo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Galle Face Hotel Colombo

Property: Galle Face Hotel Colombo
Address: No. 2, Galle Road, Colombo, Sri Lanka
Phone Number:
Region: Sri Lanka > Western Province > Colombo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 52 Hotels in Colombo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Galle Face Hotel Colombo 5*
Number of rooms: 158
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Presented proudly as Sri Lanka's iconic and historic hotel, Galle Face Hotel is located in heart of Colombo City, along the seafront and facing the famous Galle Face Green.The hotel has 158 well-appointed rooms and suites, with some offering excellent views across the Indian ocean and the fascinating view of evening sunset.There are three restaurants, a gym, spa and unique saltwater swimming pool, overlooking the seafront. Guests here will be convenient as the hotel offers close access to many of the business district,historic cultural sites and landmarks in Colombo, as well nearby shopping. The hotel is a 45-60min journey from the airport.Guests seeking a glimpse of Colombo's history will enjoy the charm of The Galle Face Hotel with its unique, unaltered setting since 1864. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Hotels.com, Southall Travel and Agoda so you can book your Galle Face Hotel Colombo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing