We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Galle Face Hotel Colombo
Ranked #4 of 51 Hotels in Colombo
Certificate of Excellence
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
98 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Lovely”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2013

I loved this hotel! Staed here a while ago but forgot to review. We stayed in the older wing and the rooms were great - full of history. We had the afternoon tea (excellent) and then the outstanding seafood buffet, which was quite something. The building is very beautiful and the staff helpful. I even said I wanted to get married on the front lawn it was so spectacular!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank goodthickskirt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,708 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,172
    925
    355
    149
    107
See reviews for
517
1,147
198
288
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (713)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chiang Mai, Thailand
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2013

The Galle Face is really the only place to stay when in Colombo. I have stayed here so many times in the past, 36 + years. Then it was quaint, colonial, cosy and service second to none. Therefore it was so very disappointing to find the entire front (north wing) facing Galle Face Green, under renovation especially as we were not advised in advance. This is one of the features of the hotel that makes you want to return. The newly renovated rooms in the Regency Wing are nothing special and lack character and none of the previous charm of this iconic hotel. With the notable exception of the verandah restaurant the staff were sullen and unsmiling. The food, especially the breakfast very good…but it is the location on the shore and facing The Green that make this hotel. Until they finish the renovations and get their act together I would probably stay at The Park Street Hotel.

Room Tip: If you stay there before the renovations are complete then ask for a Regency Superior Room with sea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CPBMN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CarlosS88, Manager at Galle Face Hotel Colombo, responded to this review, 28 August 2013
We sincerely appreciate you taking the time to give us your feedback through Tripadvisor.
It is with sincere regret that we note your dissatisfaction with our service and facilities.
We ask for your kind understanding and assure you that your comments have been of value to us to provide the best possible standards to our guests at all times, even during our restoration phase.
Indeed, several areas of our Hotel are currently closed for renovation; and this has been communicated to our travel agents and corporate accounts. A notice has been posted in the Hotel’s website for the general public.
Your experience certainly does not in any way represent the quality of standards we strive for, and indeed customarily maintain at our Hotel.
We thank you very much for your patronage and look forward to having you back with us.

Yours sincerely,

Carlos Sanchez Vizan
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2013

What a delightful hotel with beautiful rooms. The food was excellent with a wide selection. The refurbishment did not cause any distractions and we didn't notice the work going on. The hotel has stuck to its colonial feel and would recommend to everyone.

Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Faron J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
45 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2013 via mobile

The photos don't lie. This is a beautiful hotel and the facilities were great. Prob the best breakfast in town. The sunset here is well known and lived up to expectations.

Was currently under renovation but it didn't change the view and the hotel feel.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sam F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rangiora, New Zealand
Level Contributor
40 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2013

This place has a great location right on the waterfront with a seaside path and park (lined with food vendors) to stroll a further few kms into the Fort or Pettah districts. Plenty of tuk tuks available but bargain hard.

Rooms are nice enough, but the small balcony and sea views were fabulous. Internet was not consistently available in the room.

Restaurant areas are lovely and spacious and the food mostly good. Pool attendant did a great job and the pool area was a highlight with loungers facing the open sea. Hot shower available in changing rooms was a plus.

Plenty of nice places to sit back and relax.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PeeBee01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2013

As a British Sri Lankan, it has been on my bucket list to stay here and I do not regret it as such. I was very dissappointed to arrive only to find the entire front and lobby was closed off. This was not made known to us and actually one of the key things I wanted my partner to experience. The regency wing we were confined to was fine and comfortable but could have been anywhere to be honest. The pool area had Builders on the adjacent building causing a racket making it difficult to relax.

I thought better not to complain because I love this hotel. I only hope that the price I paid goes into its full restoration. It is my opinion that the entire hotel should be completely shut down and renovated to its original glory as it is not fair to charge travellers for an experience that is not all the Galle Face has to offer.

The staff were excellent and you really did feel that the essence of colonial hospitality still flowed through it. The food was ok and 1864 was good. The swedish massage was 60$ for an hour and was satisfactory.

Fact is do not come here for pure luxury. I know all the hotels in Colombo. Cinnamon Grand is simply the best, with cinnamon lakeside, the kingsbury and hilton close behind...BUT you do not feel special in these hotels and you could be anywhere. The Galle Face is Sri Lanka and everything it stands for. Pure Nostalgia. Just try and plan your trip after the renovation to the lobby has finished.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sf2222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CarlosS88, Manager at Galle Face Hotel Colombo, responded to this review, 4 September 2013
We sincerely appreciate you taking the time to give us your feedback through Tripadvisor.
It is with sincere regret that we note your dissatisfaction with finding our Hotel under renovation.
Indeed, several areas of our Hotel are currently closed for restoration; and this has been communicated to our travel agents and corporate accounts. A notice has been posted in the Hotel’s website for the general public.

We thank you very much for your patronage and look forward to having you back with us.

Yours sincerely,

Carlos Sanchez Vizan
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2013

Galle Face was our first hotel in Sri Lanka and was a very pleasant stay. Pool was massive although salt water and the pool bar had very tasty food (breakfast was also very good). The location was great right on the sea, although a Tuk Tuk is required to get to most places in Colombo as its not within walking distance of many places.

The rooms themselves were clean and inviting despite being a bit smokey!

Overall would recommend to anyone, a sea view adds to the experience.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Planet-Vs-Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Colombo hotels
0.7 mi away
Cinnamon Lakeside Colombo
0.8 mi away
Cinnamon Red Colombo
Cinnamon Red Colombo
#6 of 51 in Colombo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,655 reviews
0.2 mi away
Cinnamon Grand Colombo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Colombo Courtyard
Colombo Courtyard
#8 of 51 in Colombo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 716 reviews
0.2 mi away
Taj Samudra Colombo
Taj Samudra Colombo
#7 of 51 in Colombo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,059 reviews
0.9 mi away
Uga Residence
Uga Residence
#1 of 51 in Colombo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 234 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Galle Face Hotel Colombo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Galle Face Hotel Colombo

Property: Galle Face Hotel Colombo
Address: No. 2, Galle Road, Colombo, Sri Lanka
Phone Number:
Region: Sri Lanka > Western Province > Colombo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 51 Hotels in Colombo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Galle Face Hotel Colombo 5*
Number of rooms: 158
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Presented proudly as Sri Lanka's iconic and historic hotel, Galle Face Hotel is located in heart of Colombo City, along the seafront and facing the famous Galle Face Green.The hotel has 158 well-appointed rooms and suites, with some offering excellent views across the Indian ocean and the fascinating view of evening sunset.There are three restaurants, a gym, spa and unique saltwater swimming pool, overlooking the seafront. Guests here will be convenient as the hotel offers close access to many of the business district,historic cultural sites and landmarks in Colombo, as well nearby shopping. The hotel is a 45-60min journey from the airport.Guests seeking a glimpse of Colombo's history will enjoy the charm of The Galle Face Hotel with its unique, unaltered setting since 1864. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Southall Travel, Agoda, Hotelopia, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Galle Face Hotel Colombo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing