We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Really nice rooms, excellent breakfast and facilites” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Galle Face Hotel Colombo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Galle Face Hotel Colombo
Ranked #4 of 52 Hotels in Colombo
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin
Level Contributor
36 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Really nice rooms, excellent breakfast and facilites”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 December 2013

We both loved this hotel. Our room was lovely, quiet and really clean. Just what we needed after a long flight and arrival in the middle of the night. Breakfast was superb, everything you could possibly wish for and excellent standard. Pool and relaxation areas in the grounds fab....nothing better than the sunbeds right in front of the sea. Location is great, the Galle Face green next door a great place to grab a cheap and and local dinner. Renovations going on had no impact on our enjoyment.
There are cheaper places, but location and facilities were worth the extra.
Watch out for scam artists outside the hotel preying on innocent recent arrivals though (he who claims to be a chef in the hotel is not!)

Room Tip: We had a ground floor room, sea view a little poetic licence..
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DublinPooka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,628 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,118
    908
    347
    148
    107
See reviews for
496
1,115
194
281
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (693)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dhahran, Saudi Arabia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 December 2013

The sea view is magnificent. The service is very good. The breakfast buffet has lots of choices. Friendly staff. The weddings held there gave a nice experience of the Srilaankan traditions. The historic information added value to my stay.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Baqami
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kambah
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 December 2013

Our last hotel stay in Sri Lanka. We stayed as a group but a friend and I shared a very large suite .It did not have a view but we spent a lot of our time at the pool overlooking the ocean and there was a great cafe Hotel is under going renovations but does not cause any issues to guest although it may decrease the number of rooms with a view .Breakfast was a buffet and many choices. Would stay again if lucky enough to return to Columbo.

Room Tip: As two friends we shared a huge room no view but we did not spend a lot of time in it no issues wit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Merrilyn Rose H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coffs Harbour
Level Contributor
59 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 November 2013

My husband and I had three nights at the Galle Face Hotel and loved every minute there. It is superbly located on the waterfront but also within easy walking distance to the main attractions of Colombo. The rooms were superb as is the service, attention to detail, fresh flowers, newspapers, pool, gym, reception and so on. The breakfasts are incredible .... best I have ever experienced. Dinner at the open restaurant was so good and reasonably priced and so tasty Staff are brilliant at all times and we will never forget our three days there. Sensibly priced too! Highly recommended to everyone as a once in a life time experience.

Room Tip: Maybe ask for a room with some sea views?
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lynatbello
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
105 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 November 2013

Back in Colombo for the first time in 26 years, we made a nostalgic visit to the Galle Face Hotel knowing that it is undergoing major refurbishment. We sat at the front patio next to the pool looking at the ocean and enjoying the sunset and drinking a very well made cocktail.....one of the world's great views. We returned the next afternoon. When the hotel re-opens in 2014, I hope it is returned to its former glory. Properties like the Galle Face should be cherished. This one ranks with Raffles, the Oriental, the Penninsular, the Metropole and a handfull of others. Can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 November 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights.
Very charming and classy hotel with history.
Food vas good and service very good.
You can sit with a drink close to the sea, and enjoy the view over the ocean.
Walking distance to supermarked and restaurants

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hallgeir O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 November 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights in October and while it was okay it was not what we expected. I knew the hotel was being renovated and in itself that wasn't a problem but the service was poor and not particularly friendly compared to the other hotels we had stayed in on our trip. It didn't live up to my expectations and I won't stay there again on my next visit.
We had a meal outside on the terrace and they served up a piece of fish that was not fresh and not cleaned properly. We complained but in hindsight we shouldn't have paid for it.
Breakfast was fine though.
We asked for a non smoking room but we could smell the smoke over the air freshener they had sprayed in it. All in all a never to be repeated visit.

Room Tip: We were supposed to have a see view room but you had to crane your neck around the corner of the win...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 489Izzy56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CarlosS88, Manager at Galle Face Hotel Colombo, responded to this review, 21 November 2013
We sincerely appreciate you taking the time to give us your feedback through Tripadvisor.
It is with sincere regret that we note your dissatisfaction with our service and facilities, in particular the lack of friendliness of some team member.
We ask for your kind understanding and assure you that your comments have been of value to us to provide the best possible standards to our guests at all times, even during our restoration phase.
Your experience certainly does not in any way represent the quality of standards we strive for, and indeed customarily maintain at our Hotel.
We thank you very much for your patronage and look forward to having you back with us.

Yours sincerely,

Carlos Sanchez Vizan
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Colombo hotels
0.7 mi away
Cinnamon Lakeside Colombo
0.9 mi away
Cinnamon Red Colombo
Cinnamon Red Colombo
#7 of 52 in Colombo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,606 reviews
0.2 mi away
Cinnamon Grand Colombo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Taj Samudra Colombo
Taj Samudra Colombo
#8 of 52 in Colombo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,021 reviews
1.7 mi away
Colombo Courtyard
Colombo Courtyard
#9 of 52 in Colombo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 702 reviews
2.7 mi away
OZO Colombo
OZO Colombo
#10 of 52 in Colombo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Galle Face Hotel Colombo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Galle Face Hotel Colombo

Property: Galle Face Hotel Colombo
Address: No. 2, Galle Road, Colombo, Sri Lanka
Phone Number:
Region: Sri Lanka > Western Province > Colombo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 52 Hotels in Colombo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Galle Face Hotel Colombo 5*
Number of rooms: 158
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Presented proudly as Sri Lanka's iconic and historic hotel, Galle Face Hotel is located in heart of Colombo City, along the seafront and facing the famous Galle Face Green.The hotel has 158 well-appointed rooms and suites, with some offering excellent views across the Indian ocean and the fascinating view of evening sunset.There are three restaurants, a gym, spa and unique saltwater swimming pool, overlooking the seafront. Guests here will be convenient as the hotel offers close access to many of the business district,historic cultural sites and landmarks in Colombo, as well nearby shopping. The hotel is a 45-60min journey from the airport.Guests seeking a glimpse of Colombo's history will enjoy the charm of The Galle Face Hotel with its unique, unaltered setting since 1864. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Southall Travel so you can book your Galle Face Hotel Colombo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing