We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Littel respect for the guests´needs” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Galle Face Hotel Colombo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Galle Face Hotel Colombo
Ranked #4 of 52 Hotels in Colombo
Certificate of Excellence
Kusel, Germany
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Littel respect for the guests´needs”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2014

My two adult kids, my wife and me stayed at the Galle Face Hotel in December 2013 for two nights. I had booked the accomodation directly through the web site of the hotel.

When we arrived we were surprized that half of the hotel ( the old wing) was a construction site , also half of the lawn was cut off and big backhoes were digging from moring until late in the evening a big hole into the lawn - I suppose for the new pool.

I was already several times guest to this nice hotel and I appreciated the old conolial flair and the fact that you could dine and have breakfast outside in the garden.

Now all that was gone - we were forced to have breakfast inside - a full, cold airconditioned room . We took our plates and cups out of that room to a walkway which formerly led to the nice former open restaurant - very much of the displeasure of the waiters.... We were not attended at all and had to serve ourselves from inside - seemed that they were afraid other guests might follow our example - which some did....

I complained at the reception about the construction noise and about the workers working until late with flood lights shining towards the rest of the hotel, but they said they could not help it.

Then I asked for a small recompensation or refund of a bit of the price for accomodation , but they also did not give a single Rupee back...

As I had booked in avance and paid in advance I could not do anything about it. But that for sure is not the way to treat your guests.

I will not return to that hotel but go to other nice hotels in that area of Colombo where they honor their guests...

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank H H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CarlosS88, Manager at Galle Face Hotel Colombo, responded to this review, 17 June 2014
We sincerely appreciate you taking the time to give us your feedback through Tripadvisor.
It is with sincere regret that we note your dissatisfaction with finding our Hotel under renovation.
Indeed, several areas of our Hotel are currently closed for restoration; and this has been communicated to our travel agents and corporate accounts. A notice has been posted in the Hotel’s website for the general public.

I understand your frustration but we would like you to also understand our difficulty. Our Hotel is going through a much needed face lift to ensure that guests such as yourself can enjoy our iconic property for many years to come.

My wish is that you visit us again so I can personally show you the new Verandah Restaurant.

We thank you very much for your patronage and look forward to having you back with us.

Yours sincerely,

Carlos Sanchez Vizan
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,627 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,118
    907
    347
    148
    107
See reviews for
495
1,115
194
281
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (693)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dunedin
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2014

This is one of the worst possible stays ever I ever had. upon check in, the person at reception kindly asked for my credit card and with out informing me, he has blocked Sri Lankan Rs 20,000 from my credit card. only for me to realise that my card had inadequate funds, when i used the card out on shopping. He did not explain this bizzare practice,But an intimation prior would be much appreciated. I travelled a lot and have never come across this practice of blocking money from credit card. taking details of redit card for security purposes is standard but not blocking money from card!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!11

When I enquired the hotel staff about this, blocking money, none of them gave an explanation and NO APOLOGIES!!!!!! Very rude staff.

It has been 3 weeks since i checked out of this hotel and so far the block on my credit card is not revoked and still my money is blocked by this hotel, which i still can not use in my country, despite repeated complaints, they could not care to respond to my complaints.

The staff were irresponsible in answering to my querries and had shown differential treatment towards the tourists from India, which is unprofessional and uncalled for.

All I want is the block on my credit card revoked and i would not recommend this hotel for any travellers to colombo.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Hasiven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CarlosS88, Manager at Galle Face Hotel Colombo, responded to this review, 18 June 2014
Dear Sir,

We sincerely appreciate you taking the time to give us your feedback through Tripadvisor.
It is with sincere regret that we note your dissatisfaction and frustration. However, in all fairness, I have to inform you that the procedure that you mentioned is the industry practice in Sri Lanka hotels and many other hotels around the world. This procedure was explained to you clearly upon check in, and again later in the day by our Lobby Manager.
When you check out on 21st May, the block was released by Hatton National Bank Card Centre that same day at 11:51am. If the card is still blocked that could be an issue with your local bank.
We have not received any communication from you to report the issue todate.

We thank you very much for your patronage and look forward to having you back with us.

Yours sincerely,

Carlos Sanchez Vizan
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Timaru
Level Contributor
529 reviews
123 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 324 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2014

I think the title from Mary Poppins described the feeling that's brewing inside me right now after staying here for two nights. I arrived here at almost 2am in the morning and I got a bad feeling when I witnessed renovation that was taking place. However, what I saw outside didn't transpire inside where there were still quite a number of staff working graveyard shift welcoming night owl like me. I was pleasantly surprised to be refreshed with a cold glass of OJ and icy cold towel to wakened up my stupor. Seriously, the staff ratio then was like six to one, quite impressive! The room didn't disappoint with all amenities provided for. There's an extensive pillow menu and that didn't disappoint. It's refreshing to sleep with the sound of waves crashing against the shore. The whole time, I couldn't hear a single sound from construction site next door. The breakfast buffet offered was seriously good. I took my time exploring this heritage hotel that's steeped in history & which has had hosted many celebrities in the past and present. I was pleasantly surprised with the library on the second floor and the environment was to die for. There was an infinity pool by the sea that's frequented by mostly Westerners. There was also an outdoor area that's decked out with outdoor furniture readying for guests to watch the sunset. In other words, there are nooks and crannies everywhere to satisfy everybody. It's also handily located within the hub of places of interest as well. I'm sure that there are better hotels out there but when it comes to history and pedigree, you truly can't fault this. It truly evokes the era of British Empire yesteryears. There are also shops, spa & gym, safe, hair dryer, WiFi that doesn't restrict the number of entries. Talking about mixing up the old and the new, this is as good as it gets! Highly recommended.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wiredfrog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colac, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2014

soon after arriving, i realised why we got such a great deal, The place is only 1/3 operational. The grand Ballrooms and Foyer are all gutted for a refit. This is probable due for it and is timely as new hotels will open soon competing with a grand old lady. Once its finished we would be unlikely to be able to afford to stay there, so I am glad we did stay this time. Even the Galle face green and Galle Road was a construction site and it made it hard to walk around The pool was great and the food was cheap for amazing quality. On a rainy afternoon we headed over to cinanom grand, this was where all the action was. But still happy to have stayed here.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 124truereview
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gerrards Cross, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
206 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2014

Just 1km from central Colombo, sited on the beach, boasting a great tradition. Under refurbishment and we stayed in one of the refreshed rooms. Traditional style, wooden furnishings, with modern controls and power points, and top quality bath/shower room.
We ate at the pool in the evening. Nice setting, albeit a restricted menu; decent food but the chips were cold! Against that the service was super-keen; such a pleasant contrast with business hotels in most commercial city centres around the world. Extensive breakfast buffet, with a variety of English and Sri Lankan dishes, with many made to order.
Worth 5* - despite the cold chips.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PTS99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2014

We were initially slightly disappointed when we arrived to find half the hotel under renovation works. We checked in (without a complaint) and were shown to an incredible suite. The room was at the end of one of the wings and had four huge windows overlooking the Indian ocean. The spa like bathroom, huge jacuzzi and sitting room more than made up for the fact that there was renovation work happening elsewhere in the hotel! The gorgeous pool and the garden were perfect for some late night drinks. Fantastic, memorable stay.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tamar S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hanoi, Vietnam
Level Contributor
91 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2014

We really had an amazing visit in this hotel. The hotel is divided into 2 wings, the original wing, built in the 1800's and the new wing, built to mirror the old... The view over the ocean and sitting on the balcony eating the amazing buffet breakfast, lunch and dinner, is reminiscent of times from the colonial era. Watching the crow man with his sling shot scaring of the crows was fascinating enough. I actually booked in the Queen Elizabeth suite, which still has the same furniture and amazing HUGE sitting room, but sadly its a little uncomfortable by modern standards, and at the hotel urging they happily upgraded me and my family to a modern suite with AC, spa and glimpses of the ocean. We traveled for a month and the hotel, kindly let use leave our excess baggage at the hotel for our return, and when we walked in their welcome us by name... so impressed. Colombo didn't strike me as a particularly interesting place but I wouldn't of miss the Galle Face Hotel for the world!

Room Tip: For an experience of old world go visit the Queen's suite if its available to look at
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Teaguemoore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Colombo hotels
0.7 mi away
Cinnamon Lakeside Colombo
0.9 mi away
Cinnamon Red Colombo
Cinnamon Red Colombo
#6 of 52 in Colombo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,605 reviews
0.2 mi away
Cinnamon Grand Colombo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Taj Samudra Colombo
Taj Samudra Colombo
#7 of 52 in Colombo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,021 reviews
1.7 mi away
Colombo Courtyard
Colombo Courtyard
#9 of 52 in Colombo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 702 reviews
2.7 mi away
OZO Colombo
OZO Colombo
#10 of 52 in Colombo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,174 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Galle Face Hotel Colombo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Galle Face Hotel Colombo

Property: Galle Face Hotel Colombo
Address: No. 2, Galle Road, Colombo, Sri Lanka
Phone Number:
Region: Sri Lanka > Western Province > Colombo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 52 Hotels in Colombo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Galle Face Hotel Colombo 5*
Number of rooms: 158
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Presented proudly as Sri Lanka's iconic and historic hotel, Galle Face Hotel is located in heart of Colombo City, along the seafront and facing the famous Galle Face Green.The hotel has 158 well-appointed rooms and suites, with some offering excellent views across the Indian ocean and the fascinating view of evening sunset.There are three restaurants, a gym, spa and unique saltwater swimming pool, overlooking the seafront. Guests here will be convenient as the hotel offers close access to many of the business district,historic cultural sites and landmarks in Colombo, as well nearby shopping. The hotel is a 45-60min journey from the airport.Guests seeking a glimpse of Colombo's history will enjoy the charm of The Galle Face Hotel with its unique, unaltered setting since 1864. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Southall Travel, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Galle Face Hotel Colombo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing