We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Galle Face Hotel Colombo
Ranked #5 of 54 Hotels in Colombo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 August 2014

We stayed in the hotel for two nights in November and it was lovely. The sunsets were magical! Shame that they were doing construction work at the hotel during our stay but we will be back when it is completed.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Allyson S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,006)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,600 - 1,606 of 3,006 reviews

Reviewed 3 August 2014

Nice and pleasant classic room. The garden and the swimming pool area are perfect to a rest after visiting the busy Colombo. It is a pity there were making construction works at the street and the hotel at the time we were. We have our breakfast in the room and it was very nice and enough, it was cheaper than the buffet.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank Beatriz L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2014

We stayed in this hotel only for one night, and unfortunately even though they told us we were upgraded, our room was just next to the reception, with the view from our room on the parking lot and the room was just under the stairs, which made the room very noisy. It was very unfortunate as I have read some of the rooms have very nice ocean views. So, make sure you don't get the room just on the left side of the reception. Besides this, the hotel is very nice, very close to the ocean and the breakfast buffet was very delicious.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank manu842013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CarlosS88, Manager at Galle Face Hotel Colombo, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2014

We sincerely appreciate you taking the time to give us your feedback through Tripadvisor.
It is with sincere regret that we note your dissatisfaction with the room allocated to you.
We are more than happy to welcome you back once our restoration project is completed by December this year, you will have the opportunity to experience our new rooms.

We thank you very much for your patronage and look forward to having you back with us.

Yours sincerely,

Carlos Sanchez Vizan
Director of Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2014 via mobile

The room was tired with limited outlook although they said partial view. The bed was hard and the room was tired, old fashioned box TV . Shower head only was the only new feature !! The rotted wood and broken safety window bar broken and a very small room . I would only return when renovations were complete.

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shrewton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CarlosS88, Manager at Galle Face Hotel Colombo, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2014

We sincerely appreciate you taking the time to give us your feedback through Tripadvisor.
It is with sincere regret that we note your dissatisfaction with finding our Hotel under renovation.
Indeed, several areas of our Hotel are currently closed for restoration; and this has been communicated to our travel agents and corporate accounts. A notice has been posted in the Hotel’s website for the general public.

We thank you very much for your patronage and look forward to having you back with us.

Yours sincerely,

Carlos Sanchez Vizan
Director of Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2014

I had the pleasure of staying at The Galle Face Hotel for business purposes because the rate was on special price since majority of the hotel was undergoing a facelift. It is an old building, one that dates back to the 1800s even. Perhaps it was because I've been given a connecting room which is why I could hear all sorts of noise coming from the adjoining room. I could even hear zippers zipping open and shut. Service is good, yet a little bit impersonal with the exception of one particular staff from their bag drop counter who went to great lengths to add that extra 'oomph' to my stay. On my last day after having checked out and awaiting my airport transfer, I returned to the hotel to collect my bags after a day of full-on meetings. Perhaps the look on my face gave it away but the gentleman, understanding I have already checked out that very morning, led me to the spa toilets to shower and change into a fresh set of clothes. It is a pity that I did not manage to get his name.

Oh and be careful when checking out by making sure you go through your bill because the hotel restaurant charged me for breakfast I had never eaten. The original receipt even had my forged signature and room number written on it.

Room Tip: Say no to connecting rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
4  Thank sandybottom86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2014

I only stayed at the hotel for 2 nights. I was upgraded to an Ocean spa suite, which had a great view of the beach. The room was really large. Breakfast was also very good. However, I can imagine that the breakfast room, which has a bit of a gloomy feel, can get very crowded during the busy season. The view onto the garden is beautiful. I have not used any of the restaurants and can therefore not comment on their quality. The hotel’s airport transfer service seems overpriced. On the way to the hotel, I used a service from one of the booths at the airport and paid 3,900 LKR ($30). On my return I used the hotel service and paid 6,500 LKR ($50). The staff at the reception were friendly but did not seem to be fully “switched on”. Although I had pointed out at check-in that I had a tax exemption letter, they still wanted to charge me the full amount. However, I must admit that they rectified the bill after I pointed out the mistake. There’s a lot of construction in the hotel’s driveway and along the main street, which can make it difficult to walk or even reach the hotel at night, when the road is blocked off. I would certainly stay at the Galle Face again, provided the price is right.

Room Tip: ocean view rooms are large but also pricey
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Eleonora_PH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2014

We booked an ocean view suite and were impressed by the magnificent bathroom with the best shower we had ever experienced. Thoughtful amenities including a large tea pot and fine bone china tea cups and a great range of pillows. Lack lustre furnishings and bare timber floors in keeping with the age of the hotel and its long history could be improved significantly with some large rugs. We found the noise of the ocean and the noise of the guests upstairs disruptive but were sad to leave the wonderful staff with the excellent service that we received. A special thank you for the lovely birthday cake.

Room Tip: i wouldn't bother with the ocean front rooms as the windows don't seal out the noise of the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kylie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Colombo hotels
0.2 mi away
Cinnamon Grand Colombo
0.7 mi away
Cinnamon Lakeside Colombo
0.2 mi away
Taj Samudra Colombo
Taj Samudra Colombo
#8 of 54 in Colombo
2,237 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hilton Colombo
Hilton Colombo
#10 of 54 in Colombo
2,093 reviews
0.9 mi away
Movenpick Hotel Colombo
Movenpick Hotel Colombo
#6 of 54 in Colombo
327 reviews
0.8 mi away
Cinnamon Red Colombo
Cinnamon Red Colombo
#9 of 54 in Colombo
1,929 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Galle Face Hotel Colombo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Galle Face Hotel Colombo

Address: No. 2, Galle Road, Colombo, Sri Lanka
Phone Number:
Region: Sri Lanka > Western Province > Colombo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 54 Hotels in Colombo
Price Range: £102 - £224 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Galle Face Hotel Colombo 5*
Number of rooms: 156
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Presented proudly as Sri Lanka's iconic and historic hotel, Galle Face Hotel is located in heart of Colombo City, along the seafront and facing the famous Galle Face Green.The hotel has 158 well-appointed rooms and suites, with some offering excellent views across the Indian ocean and the fascinating view of evening sunset.There are three restaurants, a gym, spa and unique saltwater swimming pool, overlooking the seafront. Guests here will be convenient as the hotel offers close access to many of the business district,historic cultural sites and landmarks in Colombo, as well nearby shopping. The hotel is a 45-60min journey from the airport.Guests seeking a glimpse of Colombo's history will enjoy the charm of The Galle Face Hotel with its unique, unaltered setting since 1864. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Southall Travel, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Galle Face Hotel Colombo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing