We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Villa Talangama
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
US$201
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$163
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$223
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$163
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$176
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$126
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$104
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$135
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$127
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$165
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$151
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$116
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$94
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$74
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$68
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$194
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$205
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$200
Cancelon
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (90)
Filter reviews
90 results
Traveller rating
89
1
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
89
1
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsleaf monkeyswetland areathe perfect place to staybuffalo curdlarge balconyexcellent accommodationpurple facedlovely homesri lankalong flightcouple of nightsswimming poolhammockshemahamishmrhosts
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
50 - 55 of 90 reviews
Reviewed 14 April 2014

We stayed here for two nights at the beginning of our holiday 4-6th April 2014 2 Adults & 1 8 year old. It was a dream from the moment we arrived with warm and friendly smiles and a delicious welcome drink. The villa becomes yours and every whim is fulfilled, from freshly prepared food, to outdoor showers and a lovely kept garden with pool. Furthermore you have in your view a bird watchers paradise, along with the local water buffalo taking a dip in the river. Peaceful out of the way location would recommend.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2014

We stayed for 3 days at the end of our Sri Lankan trip. After an active trip around the island, this was a wonderful relaxing end to our holiday. The Villa can accommodate 5 people, but not from different parties, so there was just the two of us. We were looked after very well by Kasan and the wonderful cook. It was the best food of the whole trip. The bird watching by the lagoon and from the balcony was a joy- kingfishers, jacanas, bee eaters, parrots, golden orioles....What really made this stand out was not only the food, the quietness and the attention to detail, but the cleanliness the whole place. We will definitely return if we revisit Sri Lanka.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank inkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2014

... and by simple I mean in the very best sense - no pretension, no clutter, no fuss. Just beautifully designed simplicity - from the house itself, the beautiful open bathrooms, the delicious food, wonderful table arrangements, and the amazing bowls of flowers that come with every meal.

This is a small place and their policy is to have just one room occupied at a time (or two if the same party). This means you have the run of the place to yourselves - and it feels as if it's your home. The welcome is warm, service is exceptional, food is wonderful - the portions amazingly generous and very reasonably priced. (I think the only small disappointment was the bread: we had some lovely artisanal breads in other places but here it was ordinary shop-sliced.)

Wifi is excellent, as much drinking water as you want is provided with no charge.

It is a perfect place to start or end a tour of Sri Lanka, or to spend a couple of nights near enough to the centre of Colombo to do city visits - but also to have a semi-rural setting, and a lovely swimming pool, to go back to. The Talangama wetlands, immediately opposite the villa, attract wonderful birds which delight even the most ignorant of bird lovers.

There are some noisy barking dogs in the neighbourhood (but this is pretty common on the island); fewer mosquitos than in many places.

I thoroughly recommend Villa Talangama.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank An173dy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2014

Other reviewers have said how good this villa is, and it really is as good as everyone says. Exceptional service, superb accommodation, friendly attentive staff and home cooked food made to your own personal tastes and beautifully prepared and presented. It does not get any better than this.
We spent two nights here straight off the plane and it was a heavenly start to our three-week tour of the south. The almost finished new highway from the airport has shortened the journey time across Colombo.
After a good nights sleep we started the next morning with a gentle stroll around the lake, watched a pair of white-throated kingfishers chasing off a monitor lizard and spent the afternoon dipping in the pool which we shared with a White-bellied Drongo. For birders the wetlands here offer plenty to see and the resident Pheasant-tailed Jacanas, Purple Swamphens and Purple Herons are all around. Breakfast was with the sun birds.
This is an amazing place and so well run... we will be returning for sure.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Roy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2014

Small but perfectly put together. This Colombo guest villa accommodates just 4 people in spacious, tastefully furnished and immaculate rooms. The perfect place to stay en route to or from the airport and to explore Colombo and it's environs. You feel like friends visiting a lovely home.
Villa Talangama overlooks a lake cover in lotuses plants and speckled with all manner of birds. You can relax in hammocks by an inviting pool beside which a delightful lunch is served. Hema, mine host, called us in advance of our visit to enquire what we desired for dinner. Fish or meat? Cooked in the Sri Lankan or European manner? We choose Sri Lankan and recommend you do the same so you can savour an assortment of dishes eaten with hoppers, a very light pancake in which you roll a bit of this and a bit of that. All this served impeccably to background music of your choice. Oh, to be back again!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FluffyBoy66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews