We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“" amazed "”

Hornbill Holiday Home
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hornbill Holiday Home
Ranked #58 of 133 Speciality Lodging in Colombo
Luzon, Philippines
Level Contributor
70 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“" amazed "”
Reviewed 1 November 2013

me and my partner stayed here april 2013 and it took us a while to reached the location since the airport driver did'nt really know the place, anyways as we arrived i was amazed on how clean and beautiful the room, it was really worthed. and it is accessible to all. remeber that all the stores are closing at 8pm!..

we will definitely come back and highly recommendable !!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ksaracho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1
    11
    6
    3
    0
See reviews for
3
11
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Boracay, Philippines
Level Contributor
36 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2013

during my stay in sri lanka i stayed at hornbill for three time. i always went back there because the quality for the price is just perfect. after travelling almost everywhere over sri lanka i have to say thats the best deal for a room i made in three month. its clean, the bathroom is nice. the location is ok. i think colombo doesn't really offer too much to see so it doesn't really matter where you stay. if you have to do some shopping its actually not bad. if you want to go there, print a map to give it to your driver or tell him dehiwala train station otherwise you will go crazy.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Flo F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level Contributor
65 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 September 2013

Pros: nice large room with clean bathroom.
Cons: 20mins tuktuk into Colombo.
No local places to eat or even buy water!
Staff were fairly unhelpful, didn't reply to emails, couldn't recommend anything locally.
Nothing in the kitchen except a kettle.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nixpix26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enschede, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
118 reviews
94 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2013

We arrived in the evening 10.30 pm. But gladly there was someone to welcome us. Its like a house with shared living room and kitchen. Every room has its own bathroom attached, its all very clean. Our room didn't have hot water, unfortunately it didnt work. Beds were good and the airconditioning worked well, although noisy. Wifi very good, especially the first night. Second night there were more guests which reduced the speed of the wifi. There is free tea and coffee and a tv in the living room. When we were there the living room was crowded with local tourists, so we stayed in the room. We ordered takeaway from the Malay restaurant and the portions were huge!

Bear in mind that this hotel is very far from the centre, located in a residential area. You can take the bus to Colombo for 20 rupee per person (30 minutes) or a tuktuk (charged us 500).

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Baskotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jerusalem, Israel
Level Contributor
30 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2013

I have very mixed feelings about this place, so i`m just going to put down the pros and cons and u guys can be the judges. pros: clean, great value for money, nice facilities, a/c. cons: unhelpfull staff, crappy location, very bad water pressure in the shower. When we first got to the place after a terrible flight and ride from the airport there was no one there, and uckily one of the neighbors went to call the guy from his dinner. The guy who we "assisted" us spoke almost no english and couldn`t care less about our needs. /he only talked to us when he wanted to get paid. Having said that, the infrastructure, rooms and the place in general is really nice, so do your own math.

Room Tip: Check out the water pressure before u take a room
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank royassin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
40 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2013

Resevations : Book through hostelworld for a room with airconditioned at 2300rs
Reception : wasnt much of a reception when i arrived at about 8pm. but the coordinator is helpful enough to show me my room and settle me down
Room : Wasnt happy that an airconditioned room turn out to be room with fan (attached aircon is not working). Properly i missed something during my reservation. Very clean room and ensuite bathroom. Thumbs up
Restaurant : none and i used the brochures by the counter outside my room and dial for food takeaway. Same coordinator was around to assist when delivery arrived.
Overall : Will recommend for a budget stay here and confirm the availability of airport
Around : 5-10mins walk to the main street for grocery and food. Dehiwala train station and bus sstops are also 5mins walk away.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank radical_sg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2013

Rooms are well kept,clean and spacious as well.

The location is in a residential area and is very quite and deserted, but a 2-3 minute walk and you are on the Galle Road which is ever busy with buses passing by every minute and Tuk tuks can be hailed very easily.

Downstairs is a travel agency who should be able to help you with all your travel needs, pretty well informed with tips if you need any.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aurelious
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Colombo
0.1 mi away
The Penthouse Above Sea
The Penthouse Above Sea
#1 of 41 in Dehiwala-Mount Lavinia
5.0 of 5 bubbles 112 reviews
4.8 mi away
Galle Face Hotel Colombo
4.2 mi away
Cinnamon Red Colombo
Cinnamon Red Colombo
#6 of 51 in Colombo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,693 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Cinnamon Grand Colombo
5.4 mi away
Cinnamon Lakeside Colombo
2.1 mi away
OZO Colombo
OZO Colombo
#10 of 51 in Colombo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,258 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hornbill Holiday Home? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hornbill Holiday Home

Property: Hornbill Holiday Home
Address: 21A Fernando Gardens | Dehiwala, Colombo, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Western Province > Colombo
Hotel Style:
Ranked #58 of 133 Speciality Lodging in Colombo
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Hornbill Holiday Home reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing