We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not quite a review as they didn't answer the door”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Colombo
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Colombo Haven Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #21 of 138 Colombo B&B and Inns
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Not quite a review as they didn't answer the door”
Reviewed 20 November 2011

I was very happy to receive an email from Colombo Haven Bed & Breakfast confirming my booking for the Palmyrah Den on the night I was to arrive in Colombo. Their response was quick and polite. This was in strong contrast to my experience when I arrived at their establishment at 1am (after advising them I was arriving at this time from Australia). The website directions made it easy for the cab driver to find the place. After 30 mins of ringing the door bell and calling the provided phone number, we gave up on the Colombo Haven B & B and were left to wander Galle Rd Colombo at 2am to find another hotel.

Luckily the Juliana Hotel down the room saved us.

I can't tell you what the rooms were like at the Colombo Haven B & B. The outside foyer looked nice in the dark. I would recommend booking a hotel with 24 hour reception rather than this establishment if you are arriving into Colombo late at night.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank P0lecat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jon_kr, Owner at Colombo Haven Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 21 November 2011
Dear "P0lecat",
We are extremely sorry about your experience. We are really not sure what happened since we have 24 hr reception (manager John and Shymali live on premise). We were wondering what happened to your booking and thought it was a "no show". If you did arrive at the right location (I am hoping you did), and we didn't answer, I just can't apologise enough for it.

Since you didn't get a chance to experience our hospitality, I would offer you a free night's stay the next time you are in Colombo. I know that it doesn't make up for your inconvenience, but that's the least we can do.

Once again my sincere apologies for any inconvenience caused, even though we still can't understand how it happened.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

167 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    82
    59
    17
    5
    4
See reviews for
22
82
19
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Doha, Qatar
2 reviews
Reviewed 19 November 2011

though we only stayed overnight in Colombo Haven (Margossa Den) we felt the warm welcome Shyamali gave us (i love her fresh fruit juices). The room was big, cozy and fabulously decorated. It has its own balcony (green house) to smell and feel the fresh air early in the morning.

John was so accommodating and helped us with our every day itinerary and gave us a good car for our distant travel. (Thank you for our everyday safe travel. For our first 2 day trip with John and last 2 day trip with Faisal)

Thank you everyone for making our Sri Lanka trip amazing!

Thanks to Jonathan as well...

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank raetirs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jon_kr, Owner at Colombo Haven Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 20 November 2011
Dear "Raetirs",
Thanks for your kind review. We are glad you had a great time in SL and that we could play a small part in it. We would be delighted to host you again if and when you are in the country next.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ulaanbaatar, Mongolia
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 November 2011

We flew into Sri Lanka and John and his wife met us at the airport at 0200! It felt like they were our personal trip advisors (and we needed them). Altho we made extensive plans before our 3 weeks in Sri Lanka, John got us the best deals on drivers and anything we needed. The breakfasts were huge, diverse and a blend of Sri Lankan and western food. Our room was the Margossa Den and we walked out on the balcony garden to hear the morning call to prayer and the national anthem played from the distant street speakers. We used the Colombo Haven as our Home Base as we rested there after 24 hours of flying, visited the Cultural triangle for 4 days and returned to the Colombo Haven, and then went to Galle for a week and returned to the Colombo Haven the day before we flew away. We left Sri Lanka refreshed and grateful for our new friends at Colombo Haven.

Room Tip: The Margossa Den was the whole top floor and our own bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank J S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jon_kr, Owner at Colombo Haven Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 18 November 2011
Thanks J.S for your kind words. We thoroughly enjoyed the privilege of hosting you at the Haven and look forward to having you again any time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tel Aviv-Jaffa, Tel Aviv, Israel
1 review
Reviewed 20 October 2011

I stayed for 3 nights in the middle of october,room was big and clean with terrace,WI-FI,cable TV and AC.John(owner) and his wife are very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vasily D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jon_kr, Owner at Colombo Haven Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 24 October 2011
Thanks Vasily for taking the time to provide your review. Much appreciated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Verona, Italy
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 October 2011

Colombo haven is in an ideal location to discover the City of Colombo. It is in a quite street.The rooms are quite simple but very clean and nicely furnished,
The hand cooked breakfast is delicious and mix Sri Lankan and western dishes.
Above all, the kindness and availability of John and his wife made our visit to Colombo memorable for the all family!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tania R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jon_kr, Owner at Colombo Haven Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 18 October 2011
Many thanks for your kind feedback. It is much appreciated. Thanks once again for staying with us and look forward to the next opportunity to host you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 13 October 2011

This place was a lovely surprise! We were in one of the queen bedrooms on the first floor which has a shared bathroom. The room was spacious and had AC. The whole place was very clean and tidy. And John and his wife were incredibly welcoming and the place is a short bus ride from Fort and is in the center of Colombo 3.
Did take us a few minutes to find - the address is correct, the place is at the bottom of a lane to the right of the ice cream parlor called Carnival.
We did find Colombo was more expensive than other areas in of Sri Lanka and this seemed a really great place and a reasonable price for the area ($45).

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LiToCardiff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jon_kr, Owner at Colombo Haven Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 15 October 2011
Thanks for taking the time to provide your feedback. Sorry if it was a bit difficult to find our place and any inconvenience caused by it. We are working on putting a sign and have already updated our website with clear directions to get to our place.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Istanbul, Turkey
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 October 2011

We stayed one night at Colombo Haven in Margrossa Pen. Room was big, clean.. Two king size beds, nice terrace.. Bathroom is attached to the room. Both fan and AC in the room.

First of all.. Location is great, just on the main street (Galle Road) which is close to train station, bus stop, beach...

John was very helpful. We did not have time to prepare a route for our trip. He helped us and made a list of the important places we should see and gave us tips. Even he gave us a Lonely Planet guidebook for our trip. It was a great starting point to our trip and we were lucky to mmet with them..

By the way, we had a delicious breakfast with local meals and fruit. You should try definetely.

You may find cheaper places but Haven is very good value for money.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank giderayak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jon_kr, Owner at Colombo Haven Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 15 October 2011
Thanks for taking the time to provide your review about us. It is much appreciated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Colombo hotels
0.1 mi away
Renuka City Hotel
Renuka City Hotel
#22 of 51 in Colombo
643 reviews
0.2 mi away
Comfort@15
Comfort@15
#25 of 138 in Colombo
86 reviews
0.0 mi away
Backpack Lanka
Backpack Lanka
#22 of 140 in Colombo
125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Casons B&B
Casons B&B
#30 of 138 in Colombo
30 reviews
1.1 mi away
Moss Colombo
Moss Colombo
#4 of 138 in Colombo
85 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hostel Inn Colombo 7
Hostel Inn Colombo 7
#8 of 140 in Colombo
35 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Colombo Haven Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Colombo Haven Bed & Breakfast

Property: Colombo Haven Bed & Breakfast
Address: 263/6 Galle Road | Kollupitiya, Colombo 03, Sri Lanka
Phone Number:
Region: Sri Lanka > Western Province > Colombo
Amenities:
Free Parking Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 138 B&Bs / Inns in Colombo
Hotel Class:3 star — Colombo Haven Bed & Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With Daily rate of only $50-$60/night/double, and right next to the Sheraton Colombo (opening soon), why not stay in the best area in Colombo at an affordable B&B with 7 star hospitality? You can't miss Colombo Haven B&B either on the internet search, TripAdvisor or in person. We are one of the longest established B&Bs in Colombo. With a chef on site to make you fresh, customised breakfasts, lunch and dinner, we are as well known for our rooms and hospitality as our food. People even saying "it's the best food in the entire island" that they have had!(TripAdvisor reviews). Colombo Haven is a tastefully furnished four bedroom B&B located in the heart of the Colombo suburb of Colpity (Kollupitiya). Which is literally a stone's throw away from Liberty Plaza and is walking distance to places such as British council, American consulate, the presidential palace, Cinnamon Grand hotel, Galle Face Green, Liberty theatres, restaurants, carnival ice cream, Gangarama Temple, Vihara mahadevi park, etc. Facilities:• Air conditioned • modern bathrooms with Hot water• Five star hotel quality beds and linen• Freshly prepared breakfast,lunch, dinner, drinks • Free Internet/WiFi • 7 star hospitality!!! ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing