We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place well within budget and lovely host ....”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Colombo
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Colombo Haven Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #21 of 147 Colombo B&B and Inns
New Delhi, India
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Nice place well within budget and lovely host ....”
Reviewed 10 January 2012

The place is situated in the heart of Colombo and you will not find it hard to spot it as its near one of the famous ice cream parlor. The rooms are perfect and probably one of the best that we had stayed in the trip. The AC worked and the place had power backup which works. If I remember the name correctly we stayed in Bamboo Den in the first floor. John and his wife are the perfect host. They really took care of us and did help us a lot.

Pros :

1. Easy check in and check out
2. Rooms were big enough and had a nice ambiance
3. Away from the main road so no noise inside the rooms
4. You can get good hygienic food in house
5. John helped us to plan the day and go around the city
6. Most of the places are nearby and you will find tuk tuks and bus service from the main road which is hardly a 2 mins walk

Cons:

1. Room that we stayed in did not had attached bathroom
2. The balcony looks over a parking lot


If I again go back to Colombo I will definitely stay @ Colombo Haven

Room Tip: Do not take the rooms in the basement
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank atish15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jon_kr, Owner at Colombo Haven Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 16 January 2012
Hi "Atish15",
Thanks for your detailed review of our place and your experience. We look forward to hosting you the next time you are in town

As per one of your Cons, we have just added a brand new en-suite bathroom to the Bamboo Den.

Blessings,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

168 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    82
    60
    17
    5
    4
See reviews for
22
82
19
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Beijing, China
2 reviews
Reviewed 5 January 2012

The boss is very nice. and the breakfast is good.

I book two rooms. one of my room was fixed when I arrived. The boss provided me another one.

Both very good.

The restaurant is just near the lake. good place to visit Colombo.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MollyDeng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jon_kr, Owner at Colombo Haven Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 8 January 2012
Dear MollyDeng,
Thanks for your kind review. We enjoyed hosting you and look forward to the next time.

Blessings,
Jon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daintree
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2012

We stayed two nights (couldn't get a third because it was full) just before Christmas.
We were asked to change rooms, which was fine, and both were great - the downstairs room with new ensuite, and the roof-top room with private bathroom just outside.
The location is fabulous - just off the madness of Galle Rd, but extremely quiet. An easy walk to Galle Face Green, Liberty Plaza etc and lots of tuk tuks nearby, plus icecream out the front!
John and his wife were charming and extremely helpful. We had planned to go back, but ran out of time to return to Colombo.
Highly recommended.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank redmill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jon_kr, Owner at Colombo Haven Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 8 January 2012
Dear "redmill"
Thanks for your kind review. Sorry we couldn't accommodate your request for additional day. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us. We enjoyed hosting you as well and look forward to the next time.

Blessings,
Jon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prague, Czech Republic
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2012

Hotel is located in a good location in Colombo. The owners are very helpful people, always willing to help with orientation in the city or provision of the necessary information. Room, in our opinion did not correspond to the desired price. Everything was clean, but the overall impression was not good. The first night was also very noisy from nightclubs.
If you are looking for average uytování in Colombo, this is hotel for you.
If the owners to focus more on details, it will be a nice hotel.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dubsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jon_kr, Owner at Colombo Haven Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 23 April 2012
Dear Dubsa,
Thanks for your review. We are sorry to hear that you were not completely satisfied with your stay with us even though you did appreciate the good parts of it. We thank you for that.

We do take constructive feedback from our guests seriously and have focussed more on details and have spruced up the place with a lot of improvements, including two new attached bathrooms and extended dining room facilities. We hope you give us another try the next time you are in town.

Blessings,
Jonathan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gloucester
2 reviews
Reviewed 27 December 2011

I have just deleted my long review listing all the problems we had as I feel it sounded petty - but beware of booking in advance - we didn't get the room we booked - the alternative offered was a basement with no outside windows. Initially there was no explanation but when we queried the room there were lots of excuses about building work and someone who was ill being in the room - We chose not to stay that night but agreed to come back the next night when the room we had booked was available but unfortunatley they did not honour the rest of the booking leaving us looking for two hotel rooms at the busiest time of year A very pleasant couple run the hotel and I am sure the owner will respond but we were left with a sour taste. The rooms are not what they look like and bathrooms are not ensuite.

Room Tip: Insist on the Margossa but be aware the names are not on the rooms be clear about what you have book...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travgirlGloucester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jon_kr, Owner at Colombo Haven Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 31 December 2011
Dear "TravelgirlGloucester",
First of all thanks for taking the time to write a review even if it doesn't reflect on us favourably. We are sad that it left a sour taste on your end. There were no excuses, but only reasons as to why my manager had to move you to another room. The bathroom upgrade to the room you would have stayed in wasn't completed. You would have had to put up with the noise and the dust etc of the on going work and that's why my manger offered you another room.

You were offered two separate options one room on the fist floor with windows where the bathroom is just outside the room and the other which has an en-suite. You say that the bathrooms are not en-suite, but if you had checked out the room you would have noticed that it has a brand new en-suite!. For your info, the upgrade that was happening which has been now completed was to add another en-suite to the rooms.

You also mentioned that we cancelled your booking for the following day. I believe that's not true. When you left not taking the alternate rooms offered, we kindly asked you to confirm by the end of the day if you wanted to keep your booking for the other room. Since you did not call and since we had already lost 3 days of valuable booking because you didn't want to take a room that was offered, we had to take other bookings that came in. In fact, we had reserved you the room that you didn't want to take even though we ha to say no to few other requests.

You rated our service as poor, but didn't mention the fact that we accommodated your early arrival and gave you a room so that you can rest even though it was more than 6 hours earlier than our check in time.

Constructions/renovations do happen in any property and sometime they do run a bit later than scheduled, which is what happened in this case. We did our best to keep a room for you even though it's the busiest time of the year.

Regardless of what ever the reasons were, we are saddened by the fact that one of our guests had a bad experience with us. We strive very hard to give our guests a very pleasant and positive experience with us. We are really sorry that your experience with us was not positive. Our sincere apologies for that.

Blessings,
Jon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 December 2011

we arrived here late night and was greeted very warmly by the house lady with a drink. Then, we were taken to our room downstairs(triple room) . The room was very clean with big attached bathroom. Only down side being it had no window so if you are staying for more than a day it might be an issue.But, the best part of this place is it's fabulous breakfast served in generous portions. the whole family was very helpful and welcoming. would definatly recommend this place .

Room Tip: ask for rooms with windows and also soap etc
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank san2728
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jon_kr, Owner at Colombo Haven Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 31 December 2011
Dear "San 2728"
Thanks for your review. We are very glad that you enjoyed your stayed with us, specially the breakfast. Thanks for willing to recommend our place to others as well. We look forward to hosting you the next time you are in town.

Blessings,
Jon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bengaluru, India
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 December 2011

We shifted here after having a bad experience at the Juliana Hotel (which is close by)... its a few min walk from the Galle main road and is great B&B place to stay in... Friendly owner and decent food... the only drawback is that except for one the rooms (forgot the name but is referred to as their presidential suite.. :)..) all other rooms have public bathrooms (to be shared by 2 rooms)...

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank drifters1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jon_kr, Owner at Colombo Haven Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 19 December 2011
Dear "drifters 1981",
Thanks for your kind review. I just wanted to clarify one thing about the bathrooms. All our rooms have their own bathrooms, but one was closed while you stayed with us due to renovations to upgrade the bathrooms. We hope to have all the renovation work completed before Christmas and hence all 4 rooms would once again have their own bathrooms..

We look forward to your next stay with us.

Blessings,
Jonathan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Colombo hotels
0.1 mi away
Renuka City Hotel
Renuka City Hotel
#22 of 54 in Colombo
650 reviews
1.1 mi away
Moss Colombo
Moss Colombo
#4 of 147 in Colombo
90 reviews
0.2 mi away
Comfort@15
Comfort@15
#25 of 147 in Colombo
86 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Backpack Lanka
Backpack Lanka
#21 of 151 in Colombo
127 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hostel Inn Colombo 7
Hostel Inn Colombo 7
#8 of 151 in Colombo
35 reviews
0.3 mi away
Casons B&B
Casons B&B
#31 of 147 in Colombo
32 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Colombo Haven Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Colombo Haven Bed & Breakfast

Property: Colombo Haven Bed & Breakfast
Address: 263/6 Galle Road | Kollupitiya, Colombo 03, Sri Lanka
Phone Number:
Region: Sri Lanka > Western Province > Colombo
Amenities:
Free Parking Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 147 B&Bs / Inns in Colombo
Hotel Class:3 star — Colombo Haven Bed & Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With Daily rate of only $50-$60/night/double, and right next to the Sheraton Colombo (opening soon), why not stay in the best area in Colombo at an affordable B&B with 7 star hospitality? You can't miss Colombo Haven B&B either on the internet search, TripAdvisor or in person. We are one of the longest established B&Bs in Colombo. With a chef on site to make you fresh, customised breakfasts, lunch and dinner, we are as well known for our rooms and hospitality as our food. People even saying "it's the best food in the entire island" that they have had!(TripAdvisor reviews). Colombo Haven is a tastefully furnished four bedroom B&B located in the heart of the Colombo suburb of Colpity (Kollupitiya). Which is literally a stone's throw away from Liberty Plaza and is walking distance to places such as British council, American consulate, the presidential palace, Cinnamon Grand hotel, Galle Face Green, Liberty theatres, restaurants, carnival ice cream, Gangarama Temple, Vihara mahadevi park, etc. Facilities:• Air conditioned • modern bathrooms with Hot water• Five star hotel quality beds and linen• Freshly prepared breakfast,lunch, dinner, drinks • Free Internet/WiFi • 7 star hospitality!!! ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing