We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First group in 2012”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Colombo
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Colombo Haven Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #21 of 147 Colombo B&B and Inns
Hong Kong, null, Hong Kong
1 review
“First group in 2012”
Reviewed 19 January 2012

We spent New Year's eve at Colombo Haven, a group of 6 sharing 2 rooms (one for 4, one for 2). And the host John was very friendly, the breakfast was great. We lighted up the New Year lights at the living room to pray for good luck of the year, I like the family-like feelings. The rooms are decent, but I love the atmosphere more.

BTW, the bed was amazingly comfortable.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yu-Hsin L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jon_kr, Owner at Colombo Haven Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 23 January 2012
Dear "Yu-Hsin L",
Thanks for your review. We appreciate your comments about the comfortable bed. Our beds our the same as the ones you find in 5 star hotels, and is one of our biggest investments for each of our rooms. We believe in our guests having a restful sleep and we are glad you found the beds to be comfortable.

My manager and wife enjoyed hosting you and look forward to the next time.

Blessings,
Jonathan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

168 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    82
    60
    17
    5
    4
See reviews for
22
82
19
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Shanghai, China
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 January 2012

I stayed in this B and B one night. Originally I had booked a room with en-suite.. but upon my check-in I was given a room with share washroom without any explanation. The shared washroom was dirty; entering without shoes would have been impossible. In the morning I ask the owner for an explanation on the room I was given and he explained the other room has been damaged by the rain (which I believe). I just thought it would have been nice to explain the situation straight away and at least make sure the washroom close to my room was CLEAN and decent to use. I believe 50USD for what I got was way over-priced. On top of that there was a terrible smell of burn in the room which was burning my eyes all night. Anyways, the owner and his wife seemed like nice reasonable people but they should make a big effort on such issues as it leave a bitter taste in your mouth.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ingridpali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jon_kr, Owner at Colombo Haven Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 17 January 2012
Dear IngridPali,
Thanks for your review. As the owner of the place, I am extremely disappointed that you had a bad experience with us. Even if the top room had been damaged due to rain, you should have been able to use the bathroom for that room. The people who took care of you are my manager John and his wife. They could have communicated things a bit better, but they did their best in their own way. My sincere apologies regardless.

With regards to the shared bathroom, that's why we have just added another en-suite which would make each room have it's worn bathroom. Regardless, there is no excuse if the bathroom was not clean, it's just that with the construction of the new bathroom, there was a bit of dust every where and it invariably get's on the marble of the bathroom. Once the new bathroom is complete, our next job is to revamp this old bathroom as well so that it doesn't look outdated.

With regards to the burning sense you described, it is the mosquito coil/tablet that is only supposed to be on for a couple of hours before you go to sleep so that you don't get troubled by mosquitoes during the night. Given the high cases of Malaria and Dengue fever in the country, we don't take a chance for our guests. Sorry if that was over powering. You should have just mentioned that to my manager so that they could have cleared the air a bit. Once again, extremely sorry about it if that's something that could have been communicated better.

We are a young establishment and are learning an our communications can definitely be improved with regards to setting the right expectations with our guests as well as handling unforeseen situations. Once again, we appreciate your feedback and offer you to please try us again the next time you are in town and see the improvements.

Once again sincere apologies for any and all inconvenience caused.

Blessings,
Jonathan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbles, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 January 2012

The rooms are quite tacky. In the photos they somehow looked better. The room was not clean. The cupboards were full of some other guest's trash and there were slivers of used soaps in the bathroom. I do hope they had bothered to change the sheets..! And overpriced too !
The manager Jon is very friendly ( over friendly ) but quite the greasy sleazeball. He puts you into overpriced tuktuks . Surely must be making his commisision.. The breakfast was excellent . But the moment you praise it , he will try to charge you an extra 6 $ for it , knowing fully well that your room rate is inclusive of breakfast.
Tourists beware.

Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Avy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jon_kr, Owner at Colombo Haven Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 16 January 2012
Dear Avy D,
As the owner of this place I am very disappointed to see your review. First of all, the notion that my manager needs to get commission from a tuktuk driver seem ridiculous. He earns well enough to have a very decent life and for you to insinuate this is outrageous.

Secondly, his friendly manner. Not sure what happened and how he got into your bad side, but he is genuinely friendly and takes hospitality seriously. He didn't have to walk to the top of the lane to organise a tuk tuk for you. He does so that the tuk tuk guys don't take advantage of our guests, specially tourists/foreigners. It is also not appropriate you calling him names. I don't think it's warranted.

Thirdly, you say the place was dirty. It is hard to believe when many claim the place is one of the cleanest they have stayed in. If there was any construction material or workman around, then it's because there was renovations happening and my sincere apologies for that. Other than that, we pride ourselves in providing our guests with high thread count Egyptian cotton linen and quality in everything else we do. Sorry if it didn't feel like that to you.

Fourthly, about charging you for breakfast. You mentioned that you saw our website, and if so, you would have noticed that it clearly states breakfast is extra. Sorry if you thought otherwise and you were charged. May be we should have been more clear about it.

Regardless of the reasons, we are saddened by the fact that one of our guests didn't have a good experience. We are sorry for anything that's our fault. We would do better where we could.

blessings,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi, India
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 January 2012

The place is situated in the heart of Colombo and you will not find it hard to spot it as its near one of the famous ice cream parlor. The rooms are perfect and probably one of the best that we had stayed in the trip. The AC worked and the place had power backup which works. If I remember the name correctly we stayed in Bamboo Den in the first floor. John and his wife are the perfect host. They really took care of us and did help us a lot.

Pros :

1. Easy check in and check out
2. Rooms were big enough and had a nice ambiance
3. Away from the main road so no noise inside the rooms
4. You can get good hygienic food in house
5. John helped us to plan the day and go around the city
6. Most of the places are nearby and you will find tuk tuks and bus service from the main road which is hardly a 2 mins walk

Cons:

1. Room that we stayed in did not had attached bathroom
2. The balcony looks over a parking lot


If I again go back to Colombo I will definitely stay @ Colombo Haven

Room Tip: Do not take the rooms in the basement
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank atish15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jon_kr, Owner at Colombo Haven Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 16 January 2012
Hi "Atish15",
Thanks for your detailed review of our place and your experience. We look forward to hosting you the next time you are in town

As per one of your Cons, we have just added a brand new en-suite bathroom to the Bamboo Den.

Blessings,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beijing, China
2 reviews
Reviewed 5 January 2012

The boss is very nice. and the breakfast is good.

I book two rooms. one of my room was fixed when I arrived. The boss provided me another one.

Both very good.

The restaurant is just near the lake. good place to visit Colombo.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MollyDeng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jon_kr, Owner at Colombo Haven Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 8 January 2012
Dear MollyDeng,
Thanks for your kind review. We enjoyed hosting you and look forward to the next time.

Blessings,
Jon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daintree
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2012

We stayed two nights (couldn't get a third because it was full) just before Christmas.
We were asked to change rooms, which was fine, and both were great - the downstairs room with new ensuite, and the roof-top room with private bathroom just outside.
The location is fabulous - just off the madness of Galle Rd, but extremely quiet. An easy walk to Galle Face Green, Liberty Plaza etc and lots of tuk tuks nearby, plus icecream out the front!
John and his wife were charming and extremely helpful. We had planned to go back, but ran out of time to return to Colombo.
Highly recommended.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank redmill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jon_kr, Owner at Colombo Haven Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 8 January 2012
Dear "redmill"
Thanks for your kind review. Sorry we couldn't accommodate your request for additional day. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us. We enjoyed hosting you as well and look forward to the next time.

Blessings,
Jon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prague, Czech Republic
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2012

Hotel is located in a good location in Colombo. The owners are very helpful people, always willing to help with orientation in the city or provision of the necessary information. Room, in our opinion did not correspond to the desired price. Everything was clean, but the overall impression was not good. The first night was also very noisy from nightclubs.
If you are looking for average uytování in Colombo, this is hotel for you.
If the owners to focus more on details, it will be a nice hotel.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dubsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jon_kr, Owner at Colombo Haven Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 23 April 2012
Dear Dubsa,
Thanks for your review. We are sorry to hear that you were not completely satisfied with your stay with us even though you did appreciate the good parts of it. We thank you for that.

We do take constructive feedback from our guests seriously and have focussed more on details and have spruced up the place with a lot of improvements, including two new attached bathrooms and extended dining room facilities. We hope you give us another try the next time you are in town.

Blessings,
Jonathan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Colombo hotels
0.1 mi away
Renuka City Hotel
Renuka City Hotel
#22 of 54 in Colombo
650 reviews
1.1 mi away
Moss Colombo
Moss Colombo
#4 of 147 in Colombo
90 reviews
0.2 mi away
Comfort@15
Comfort@15
#25 of 147 in Colombo
87 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Backpack Lanka
Backpack Lanka
#21 of 151 in Colombo
127 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hostel Inn Colombo 7
Hostel Inn Colombo 7
#8 of 151 in Colombo
35 reviews
0.3 mi away
Casons B&B
Casons B&B
#31 of 147 in Colombo
32 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Colombo Haven Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Colombo Haven Bed & Breakfast

Property: Colombo Haven Bed & Breakfast
Address: 263/6 Galle Road | Kollupitiya, Colombo 03, Sri Lanka
Phone Number:
Region: Sri Lanka > Western Province > Colombo
Amenities:
Free Parking Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 147 B&Bs / Inns in Colombo
Hotel Class:3 star — Colombo Haven Bed & Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With Daily rate of only $50-$60/night/double, and right next to the Sheraton Colombo (opening soon), why not stay in the best area in Colombo at an affordable B&B with 7 star hospitality? You can't miss Colombo Haven B&B either on the internet search, TripAdvisor or in person. We are one of the longest established B&Bs in Colombo. With a chef on site to make you fresh, customised breakfasts, lunch and dinner, we are as well known for our rooms and hospitality as our food. People even saying "it's the best food in the entire island" that they have had!(TripAdvisor reviews). Colombo Haven is a tastefully furnished four bedroom B&B located in the heart of the Colombo suburb of Colpity (Kollupitiya). Which is literally a stone's throw away from Liberty Plaza and is walking distance to places such as British council, American consulate, the presidential palace, Cinnamon Grand hotel, Galle Face Green, Liberty theatres, restaurants, carnival ice cream, Gangarama Temple, Vihara mahadevi park, etc. Facilities:• Air conditioned • modern bathrooms with Hot water• Five star hotel quality beds and linen• Freshly prepared breakfast,lunch, dinner, drinks • Free Internet/WiFi • 7 star hospitality!!! ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing