We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bad experience”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Colombo
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Colombo Haven Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #21 of 133 Colombo B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Australia
Level Contributor
64 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Bad experience”
Reviewed 28 January 2014

The Manager and presumably his wife were very nice and helpful and we found we needed good, honest, local advice in Sri Lanka.
The location is a very noisy, exhaust fumed walk to Galle Green. Take a tuk tuk instead.
The room was a decent size but had two double/queen beds in it. We were just a couple, therefore they left the other bed next to us without a cover. We dumped our suitcases and bits and pieces on it. Probably not the cleanest way to handle things.
We asked for the Banyan room for peace and quiet, however, you will find people will be walking past your room at all hours. As there is no curtain over the indoor glassed area that looks into the stairwell, one felt a little vulnerable. There was a light immediately outside this curtainless window that shone into the room. I turned it off a couple of times, but it is simply put on again.
Get the Manager to show you how the shower works and be aware it takes forever for the hot water to reach the shower. We thought we didn't have any hot water.
Cleanliness left a lot to be desired. On arrival, we needed to brush the toilet. I wiped some fluid off the floor and the cloth came up filthy. The floor needs a good scrub and clean.

Our main issue was one night after midnight, we heard a fracas upstairs, directly above our room. There were raised, assertive voices; some glass was broken and people were coming and going past our room. We felt quite vulnerable as the only way out of the Banyan room was back up those stairs past whatever was happening. This went on for about an hour and a half and then ceased. The next morning we saw many empty alcohol bottles in the small garden area at the entrance to the hotel.

This was not a good experience for us. It is definitely over priced for what it is and though the breakfast is nice, it is pricey as well (not included). Pay a little more or go further out, pay less and take a tuk tuk to the centre.

Room Tip: Banyan is too open with the curtainless window and light; construction goes on around this complex...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank G P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jon_kr, Owner at Colombo Haven Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 31 January 2014
Dear G.P,
Thanks for your detailed review, but very sad to hear that your experience was not the best. While we can't do much about the smoke from the vehicles on Galle Road while walking to Galle Face green, we can do something about improving things within our premise.

Having read your other reviews about places and hotels in Sri Lanka, it doesn't look like you have had a very positive view of your travel in Sri Lanka. Sorry if we couldn't change that for the better. With regards to the noise you heard from outside/above your room, I believe my manager had explained that it had come from outside and not within the premise. That said, I would like to further investigate the incident and hence kindly request for you to send me an email with the date of your stay. I can then follow up with other guests who stayed on the dame night to see what had happened.

With regards to privacy in your room, there is absolute privacy with the frosted window. That said, didn't realise that the light that might be coming through that at night is a disturbance. We hadn't had that as a complaint from any other guest in the last two years of operation, Therefore, didn't realise that it could be. Sorry about that. We hadn't put a curtain inside so that it doesn't block the light into the room, but would look at putting one ASAP. Thanks for bringing that to our attention.

As for the hot water, because we use Solar hot water with a tank on roof top it does take some time to get to the lower level. We want to be as earth friendly as we can while running the B&B. Sorry for any inconvenience caused due to that.

Once again, sincere apologies for any inconvenience caused. I can assure you that there was no danger in anyway for you even though you felt that way. I would investigate further and correspond directly with you about any update.

Blessings,
Jonathan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

166 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    81
    59
    17
    5
    4
See reviews for
22
82
19
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 December 2013 via mobile

The best thing about this place is the husband and wife team who run it. They are lovely, genuinely trying to help and prepared to go out of their way to meet guests needs (something we rarely found in other hotels and guest houses in Sri Lanka). The location is also fantastic, central and just off the main Galle Rd - from here it was easy to get to most places in colombo.

The rooms were average at best, tired, old furniture and generally dark and depressing. The bathrooms were acceptable and the high tech disco shower was special. The biggest issue is the noise. It is right next door to a very busy building site where the work seems 24/7.

All in all an acceptable place to stay, but not particularly comfortable and overpriced for what it is.

Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank cl001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jon_kr, Owner at Colombo Haven Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 1 January 2014
Dear Guest(s),
Thanks for your review. Glad to hear that my manager and team took good care of you. On the other hand very sad to hear that you thought the place was over priced. Not sure what price point you think is acceptable, but we have compared prices for places around us and have been competitive. That said, we are always willing to listen to our guests' input to make the place not only the best it can be but also great value for money. Please feel free to send me an email with your suggestions.

We are also very sorry to hear about the noise. Not sure exactly when in Dec you stayed, but most construction work around us is done and has been quiet of late. Regardless, even if it was not within our control, we apologise for it.

I am also surprised to hear that the room was dark. Once again not sure which room you stayed in, but each room has it's own advantage. The only room that doesn't have windows to the outside is the Banyan, but guests say that is the best room for sleep quality and quietness. The rest of the rooms have plenty of windows and outside light.

You also mentioned about the furniture in the room that you didn't like. We have the same mattresses as hotel Hilton has and even better 1000 thread count Egyptian cotton sheets that even some of the five star hotels don't provide. Regardless, we are open to constructive feedback on how we can improve and specially which furniture you thought should be different and why.

Once again, thanks for your review and we wish you and yours the very best for the New Year. Safe travels where ever your next destination is.

Blessings,
Jonathan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 October 2013

We stayed here for the last 2 nights of our holiday. The room was fine, and the shower was great! Despite the building work going on all around it stops at about 8-9 at night so doesn't keep you awake. John, his wife and the lady who works for them were all lovely hosts. John was really good to talk to about what to see and do in Colombo.
I would definitely recommend staying here - the food is food and the location is spot on.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CheesyClaire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jon_kr, Owner at Colombo Haven Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 2 November 2013
Dear guest,
Thanks so much for staying with us and also for your kind review. We appreciate you pointing out that the construction around us didn't affect your stay. We do believe that we are in a very good, convenient location for Colombo, a very short distance to many of the things you want to do in Colombo.

It was our greatest pleasure hosting you at the Haven. My manager John, his wife and the other lady who works for us, all of them would be thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay. We greatly look forward to your next stay with us.

Blessings,
Jonathan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
180 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 October 2013

Pros:
City of the city In Galle Road, behind Carnival Ice cream!
Walk able distance to all Restaurants
Bigger rooms and nicely decorated
Traditional Srilankan Homely breakfast..I like it. They served me Veg only when I asked.
Friendly Staff!
Cons:
Big issue is Construction is going on behind this place, that cause noises in Night too!! This make the place down!!

Otherwise all well.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Malgudiboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jon_kr, Owner at Colombo Haven Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 28 October 2013
Dear Guest,
Thanks for staying with us and also for your review. Sorry about any inconvenience caused due to the construction near us. Even though it's not within our control, our sincere apologies for the inconvenience. Since your stay in Sept, the noise has subsided a lot. We hope to host you again very soon so that you can experience the hospitality yet again but without the construction noise.

Blessings,
Jonathan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth and Kinross, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
71 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2013

We stayed at Colombo Haven on the final night of our Sri Lanka trip. It is situated behind the Carnival Ice Cream bar but despite its busy location the guest house remains calm and peaceful while being ideally located for many restaurants and shops, including the well known Barefoot. John and his team were very friendly and despite our very early start in the morning they were all waiting to bid us farewell with a packed breakfast for us to take to the airport.

We stayed in the room on the top floor of the building which was very spacious, clean and well furnished. It also has its own private roof terrace and the most incredible shower we have ever used! There are also tea and coffee making facilities in the room.

As any trip to Sri Lanka will inevitably involve at least one night in Colombo we will definitely go back to Colombo Haven on our return.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CB7982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jon_kr, Owner at Colombo Haven Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 11 October 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for staying with us and also for your kind and detailed review. As you have mentioned, even with the hustle and bustle of Colombo, we are glad you had a quiet and comfortable stay with us. It was our pleasure to have been of service to you and very glad that my manager John and team worked around your schedule to meet your needs. That's what we take pride in, going that extra mile to do things to the satisfaction of our guests. We look forward to your return stay with us. All the best with the rest of your travel.

Blessings,
Jonathan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Poo de Llanes, Spain
1 review
Reviewed 7 October 2013

Everything about the hotel itself - staff, rooms, food and location was fantastic. Unfortunately the building is currently surrounded on two sides by a giant construction site and this work went on throughout the night a few meters from our window. Hence I cannot recommend staying here currently as you may have a very poor night's sleep even with ear plugs.

I feel in two minds posting this review as I don't want to harm their business but I believe travellers have a right to know what they are booking. The building next door is a monster so it may not be finished in the near future, perhaps the manager can reply with an ETA or update?

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Randy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jon_kr, Owner at Colombo Haven Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 12 October 2013
Dear Randy,
Thanks for staying with us and your review. We are very sorry that the construction nearby was disturbing you. We did move you to a quieter room the next night and let you check out at 9PM without any extra charge. The particular incident of noise was because of them pouring concrete which is why they worked through the night. Since that is complete, there has been no more work during the night.

Colombo is full of construction but as other guests pointed out, our place is still very quite, specially inside the house. Once again, sorry for any inconvenience this caused you, which happened to be that one night out of the two nights you stayed with us. Even though it was beyond our control we do apologise for the inconvenience and tried to make it up in other ways.

Blessings,
Jonathan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2013

After a long trip down from Habarana we were grateful to arrive at Colombo Haven. Tucked away from the busy main road behind Carnvial Ice Cream this place a hideaway from the hustle & bustle of city life.

We were able to walk to Galle Face Green and the coast line up to Fort & the Pettah quite easily as well as to the bigger shops such as Paradise Road and Odel.

When we first arrived we did notice building works going on close by which we were initally worried about but once inside we did not have any problems with disturbance or noise from the builders.

We stayed in Margossa den which had the most fantastic comfortable big beds and fun shower with lights and radio which I enjoyed playing with :)

John and his family are really really friendly and helpful. I cannot manage spicy food and was grateful for the western breakfast they provided. John was also great in helping us arrange transport to our next destination.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AmyJo82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jon_kr, Owner at Colombo Haven Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 9 October 2013
Dear Guest,
Thanks for staying with us and also for your kind review and recommendation of our place. We are glad to have been of service to you and my manager John and team are delighted that it was to your satisfaction as well. As you pointed out, there are couple of building work going on around us, but it is usually quiet within the rooms. You specially can't hear anything when the A/C and the fan are working.

It was our pleasure hosting you and look forward to the next time.

Blessings,
Jonathan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Colombo hotels
0.3 mi away
Cinnamon Red Colombo
Cinnamon Red Colombo
#5 of 51 in Colombo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,690 reviews
0.8 mi away
Galle Face Hotel Colombo
0.1 mi away
Renuka City Hotel
Renuka City Hotel
#21 of 51 in Colombo
3.5 of 5 bubbles 638 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Cinnamon Grand Colombo
1.7 mi away
The Steuart by Citrus
The Steuart by Citrus
#17 of 51 in Colombo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 273 reviews
0.9 mi away
Colombo Courtyard
Colombo Courtyard
#8 of 51 in Colombo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 737 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Colombo Haven Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Colombo Haven Bed & Breakfast

Property: Colombo Haven Bed & Breakfast
Address: 263/6 Galle Road | Kollupitiya, Colombo 03, Sri Lanka
Phone Number:
Region: Sri Lanka > Western Province > Colombo
Amenities:
Free Parking Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 133 B&Bs / Inns in Colombo
Hotel Class:3 star — Colombo Haven Bed & Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With Daily rate of only $50-$60/night/double, and right next to the Sheraton Colombo (opening soon), why not stay in the best area in Colombo at an affordable B&B with 7 star hospitality? You can't miss Colombo Haven B&B either on the internet search, TripAdvisor or in person. We are one of the longest established B&Bs in Colombo. With a chef on site to make you fresh, customised breakfasts, lunch and dinner, we are as well known for our rooms and hospitality as our food. People even saying "it's the best food in the entire island" that they have had!(TripAdvisor reviews). Colombo Haven is a tastefully furnished four bedroom B&B located in the heart of the Colombo suburb of Colpity (Kollupitiya). Which is literally a stone's throw away from Liberty Plaza and is walking distance to places such as British council, American consulate, the presidential palace, Cinnamon Grand hotel, Galle Face Green, Liberty theatres, restaurants, carnival ice cream, Gangarama Temple, Vihara mahadevi park, etc. Facilities:• Air conditioned • modern bathrooms with Hot water• Five star hotel quality beds and linen• Freshly prepared breakfast,lunch, dinner, drinks • Free Internet/WiFi • 7 star hospitality!!! ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing